We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel great service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel great service
Room was very nice
Very zen and modern
Direct access to the metro downstairs
7eleven in the building
Staff has been very kind and helpfull, always here to help and English speaking. They even helped me fill in cards ..

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank advisorinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    284
    49
    19
    13
See reviews for
254
462
69
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
zashaari
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel room is luxurious and spacious. walk-in wardrobe with separate bath and shower. Service is impeccable. There is a 7-11 in hotel basement where one can purchase sandwiches and light food easily. Hotel club floor also provides sufficient snacks and drinks. train station under hotel is convenient as hotel is located in government office areas. Breakfast spread is good. Hope to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zashaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and incredibly luxurious. The rooms are exceptionally decorated, very clean and comfortable, and with truly luxurious showers. The service is excellent. The only thing that would keep me from staying there again is the location. It is located in the heart of the government district, which is great if you are a business traveller who needs to meet with government officials; however, if you are on a family vacation, there are no shops or restaurants within close walking distance from the hotel. The only saving grace is that the hotel is located on top of two subway lines, and there are a 7-11, a little coffee shop, and a Starbucks on the subway levels. Being on the subway did make it vey convenient to get to other areas of the city, but I just wish that there were more places within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stop at the Capitol Hotel. The room, location and service were all top notch, well justifying the stiff price tag.

Our room was huge, with room for two or three open suitcases, discreetly tucked away in the large bathroom area. All the rooms are on upper floors and ours had a panoramic view of the city and Imperial Palace. There were lots of electric outlets and wifi and fast wired internet, both free. The heated, self-flushing toilet had its own closet and the array of controls was labeled in English and Japanese.

The property is beautifully styled, modern but friendly. Service was impeccable and English fluency common.

We booked a package on the hotel web site that included the exorbitantly priced (US$45 separately) breakfast, a choice of several set menus or a buffet plus eggs to order. The buffet is not expansive but the selection, presented in compact Japanese fashion, is broader than it looks and the quality is good.

The hotel can be entered directly from a subway station (Tameike-sanno, exit 6) that serves four lines, but the exit is remote, up to half a kilometer from some lines. There's a 7-11 store just outside the hotel exit to the subway; when we needed a quick lunch we were pleasantly surprised by the quality, variety and speed of their selections, which they will efficiently microwave for you.

The hourly Narita bus #10 goes direct to the hotel, about 2 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, HI
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As others have stated in their reviews, this is a wonderful hotel, taking great pride in their high standard of service. The refined, slightly contemporary design of our spacious room, still retaining authentic Japanese features (such as the low-to-the-floor bed, the sliding paper-paneled wall to section off different portions of the room as you desire) was a welcome oasis for us during our first 5 days in Japan. We needed a little help with a difficult train booking, and it was handled expertly and graciously for us. The location is slightly removed from all the congestion, so if you want to be in the center of the action, you might not be happy here. But we liked that it was quiet (since it's in the government district, and those offices are vacated at night). We also liked being so close to the subway (just down the elevator, down the hall and down the escalator and you will find 2 major subway lines) which linked us to wherever we were going across the city that day. I agree, the restaurants are very expensive (as we found in most all of Tokyo, right?!?). After my $13 cup of coffee the first morning, where a basic breakfast totaled $73 for the two of us (this is a story we are still telling), we discovered the Starbucks just outside the subway station, thanks to another Trip Advisor reviewer. We found that a couple of gourmet coffees and a couple of pieces of quiche got us started on the day for about $17 US, so we saved our Yen for those expensive dinners! Ask the staff about the restaurant just at the bottom of the hill -- traditional Japanese, servicing all those high-ranking government officials -- it was excellent! All in all, we would readily stay here again -- we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Tokyo designed by Kengo Kuma, world famous architect. The price is quite reasonable for the high end hotel. The location is ideal for any purpose. The swimming pool is long enough for a serious exercise. I always stay in this hotel in Tokyo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Makoto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our experience of Tokyo was greatly enhanced by our stay at the Capitol. Our room was well designed, incredibly comfortable, spacious, and offered a great view of the city. We loved the choice of showers in our ensuite and actually experienced 'bathroom envy'.

The professionalism, welcome, service and assistance offered by all staff throughout the hotel was always of the highest standard.

We found the location ideal, with easy access to 2 subway stations under the hotel and a third station a short 5 to 10 minute walk away. We found it a great base from which to explore many different locales across Tokyo. We also enjoyed eating and drinking locally in Asakaka, where there is plenty of choice.

We really, really enjoyed our stay at the Capitol and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,137 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,008 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,885 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing