We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, fun place”

Andy's Shin Hinomoto
Ranked #9 of 6,789 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience, fun place”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We came early and got a table without a reservation, very lucky. Had incredibly fresh sashimi, mushrooms, asparagus and sautéed fish of the day, all delicious. Andy is helpful and friendly, advises so you don't over-order and you can be adventurous or not with your choices. Just don't forget to bring enough cash, the ATMs are back at Ginza...overall everyone really pleasant, helpful and kind, a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    65
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sea food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Such a busy restaurant full of locals. The scallops are really the best. Sashimi are very fresh. Very good snd fast service. Good value and cost much less than a good sushi place in North America.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Tokyo Experience!! Cramped, old, under railroad and great”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Eat like local Japanese businessmen do. ATMOSPHERE IS AUTHENTIC Cheap but delicious. Old cramped and under the railway girders. WILD that Andy a Brit runs it. VERY reasonable and near the Imperial Hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Megazord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great night out!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We had been recommended this restaurant by friends and went on a friday night. We arrived between 8:30-9pm and were given a table upstairs straight away. The restaurant was really busy and there was a great atmosphere, everyone was talking in an animated way and there was a lot of laughing going on!! The service and food were great, we jad the mixed sashimi plate and the mixed tempura- the tempura was particularly good, very light and crispy batter! The restaurant is undermeath the yamanote line so theres lots of train noises, but this only added to the atmosphere!

Helpful?
1 Thank Agentletford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love Andy!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Reservations are a must as this is a very popular place and even the locals love eating here. I cannot believe that someone ealier has given a terrible review to this restaurant (izakaya). It is one of my favorites and their experience was far from ordinary. I would question whether a previous meal had actually contributed to their experience. Anyway, Andy's Shinhinomoto (New Japan) has fresh fish from tsukiji market served every day. It is delicous! Portion sizes are customized to the group visiting the restaurant. The veggies are fantastic and the scallops are the best I've tasted. The sashimi is rich and the king crab is succulent. I consider myself a regular and can't quit. Also a great place for larger groups. Don't forget to call ahead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BigGunNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's Shin Hinomoto also viewed

 

Been to Andy's Shin Hinomoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing