We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Totally New Experience”
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was in Tokyo for business and had many visits to the old Palace Hotel prior to 'renovation'. If you liked what was there before, this is certainly a different hotel now, compatible with Tokyo's other top hotels. It lost it's Japanese touch, which I regret very much, but that aside, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Location is (and remains!) great, and would suggest to pay a little more and get the room with a balcony facing the palace. Rooms were very functional, only missed a coffee maker which one would expect in a hotel of this standing. I arrived on an early flight and was able to check-in at 10am without an extra charge although the hotel was full. Breakfast was excellent, and there is an outstanding choice of restaurants. Do book in advance as they are all relatively busy, but that is Tokyo! Service was up to the level one would expect in a Leading Hotel and throughout my stay there is actually nothing that went wrong, absolutely nothing! Location next to Tokyo station is very convenient and excellent shopping in Marunouchi with unique boutiques, and Ginza is only a short stroll away.

Room Tip: it's worth paying a little extra and opt for a balcony room with palace view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1984DST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Palace Hotel Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel services are excellent. It is near Tokyo station and can walk to many famous places. The room and hotel are very clean and modern. It is a worth hotel to go in Tokyo. And the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemini h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Palace Hotel in Tokyo about a month ago and must say this is a very nice hotel. But what made it stand out was the awesome service of the hotel staff. The ladies in the executive club were very helpful. In fact after checking out I forgot my reading glasses in the lounge and one of the staff chased me down and fought the taxi at a traffic light to return the glasses. Definitely above and beyond... Well done and very much appreciated.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The original Palace Hotel was established in 1961, it was a modern hotel for its time. The new rebuilt hotel carries on its un-mistakenly Japanese traditional hospitality of refinement and serenity within this modern architecture set on its original scenery. It retains the significant postal address being the very centre of the capital Tokyo facing the imperial palace.

The drive in entrance is recessed by granite columns and low horizontal ‘Aji’ stonewalls arriving under a large mirror stainless steel ceiling sculpture with a greeting counter + a backlit onyx wall.
Guests are led through a seating area with view to the bar, lobby lounge on the left, walk by a large display cabinet of gold leaved paper cut, face the floor to ceiling glass window looking at the waterscape + greenery view, turn right through the lift lobby before getting to the reception desk. If the guests wander off behind the concierge desk, there is this elongated lounge with the continuing waterscape + greenery view and stone sculpture pieces.

The new interior design weaves this original scenery of water, greenery and natural light with the contemporary threads of stylized flowers + leaves pattern, green apple color, ebony veneer, warm grey stone, traditional white tile work depicting the blossoms, minimal bronzed pendants and the many artwork pieces through out guest areas as well as guestrooms.

I have stayed twice in this hotel this year. I prefer the guestroom that has a more formal plan of fully enclosed bathroom and opens into a balcony with a floor lantern. The color palette of dark walnut veneer, gloss white + butter color fabric wall panels, taupe leaves pattern carpet, striking mirrored sun flower yellow gloss bar unit + accessories and cream stone in the bathroom is surprisingly comfortable to my eyes.

I have enjoyed the Japanese breakfast room service looking at morning skyline, the first Spanish ‘fideua’ I had at all day dining terrace at dusk and the convenience of getting across the road for morning walk around the imperial palace moats as well as the greeting citrus scent of the guest lobby and its attentive front office staffs helping to book train tickets and tables at outside restaurants.

Room Tip: The guest room with fully enclosed bathroom is smaller but has the balcony with one chair and one ta...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been here on business and later with my family (2 little kids). This place is pure excellence. Spacious lobby, smooth check-in, great breakfast buffet, very kind staff, large rooms, absolutely clean everywhere. The location is very convenient, just a short stroll away from Tokyo Station. Lovely to walk in the Imperial Palace gardens (entrance on the other side of the road). I was surprised by the quietness inside despite the location in a crowded noisy district like Marunouchi and the proximity to a very busy main street. We liked this hotel very much and would go back at once.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here three nights at the beginning of our two week trip to Japan, and this hotel really set the bar high. We stayed in a club level room and were very pleased with the size of the space and the high quality of all the finishings. The room is enormous and if that wasn't enough, there was a rather nice and spacious terrace to take in the amazing views of the palace (partial view but that's ok) below. The bed was extremely comfortable and was the only non-rock hard bed we had our entire time in Japan. Everyone who works here is extremely helpful and they rush to make sure you have everything you need at all times. The club level was great with breakfast and light afternoon drinks/food included. Having that there just made the whole day convenient and the food was also quite tasty. There is also a nice patio off the club and we had wine brought out to us while the sun went down, which was really nice. Originally, we weren't too sure about the location but we actually found it very convenient with the subway right around the corner. It was also nice to take a walk around the palace at night with the legions of joggers. I could have stayed another week at this hotel just to soak up the luxury and maybe try out the spa which looked really nice when I scoped it out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked 2 nights at The Palace Hotel, Club Level room prior to our Silversea cruise from Tokyo to Hong Kong. All I can say is what a way to start our vacation! Initial impression upon walking in the door was "Wow! Modern, sleek, beautiful!"

Upon arrival, we were greeted by staff at the door who took our hand luggage & escorted us to the check-in desk. The desk clerk noted our Club Level reservation & said we were to check in on the 19th floor. A bellman escorted us up the elevator where we were greeted by the Club's concierge. We were given a welcome drink & were asked to be seated in the lounge while they completed our registration. The bellman took our bags to the room while we registered.

Afterward, we were escorted to our room by the concierge--wow! How beautiful--same as the lobby. This room has everything you could want! The bathroom is very spacious, the shower is amazing. We had a fabulous view of the Imperial Gardens from our window. Every amenity you can think of is here.

We enjoyed the breakfast, afternoon tea, & cocktails & canapés in the club lounge. The staff there are very attentive & friendly. Last night, we enjoyed a cocktail in the lobby bar where they had piano/sax playing. It was a very busy spot (@ 10pm), but the staff were friendly & attentive.

It was a very wonderful stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 112 in Minato
3,019 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £338 - £742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing