We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel catering to English speakers”
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really luxurious hotel with spacious modern rooms (unusual for Tokyo). The staff was unbelievably responsive and attentive. I was obsessed with the lovely showers and all the many amenities the hotel offers. The toiletry freebies in the bathroom were impressive on their own! They really predicted every need. The restaurant on the hotel grounds was also delicious and had a wonderful outdoor area with torches at night which really made the meal relaxing. The concierge was very knowledgeable and the guy at the door always directed the cabs to where you want to go. Everyone at this hotel speaks English. Wonderful experience. Convenient location near the subways stations. The free wifi was a necessity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is a 5 min walk from Tokyo station, where both the Narita airport and bullet trains come into, so it's super convenient. It's also opposite the royal palace so nice and green for Central Tokyo.

The hotel is beautiful. Everything is wonderfully laid out. The rooms are spacious and full of hi-tech gadgetry.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben.London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I should caveat the review by pointing out that I had just stayed at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo before returning to the Palace and its hard to compete with the Park Hyatt.
AT any rate, we chose the Palace Hotel for its location which is excellent - convenient access to Tokyo station, Ginza, the Imperial Palace etc. You can walk to the Otemachi station from the basement of the hotel (via the shopping arcade).
We had a lovely (rather interestingly configured) room with a balcony overlooking the park.
The bathrooms are well appointed (but a notch below the Park Hyatt's) as are the rooms.
The pool is nicely located on an upper floor (but again, after you have bee at the pool and gym at the Park you get a little spoiled).
The one thing I did not like about this hotel is the way they nickel and dime you . . . it strikes the wrong chord. Examples - the hollandaise sauce at breakfast is extra (although you pay $37 for a buffet breakfast), spa access is extra (unless pre-negotiated as part of the room rate), roll away beds are $100+ (we had 3 rooms and needed one rollaway but did without as it was a ridiculous price).
Service is also not up to snuff for a hotel at this price point. The night we arrived they told us they could not commit to room service as they were very busy. Someone rethought this ridiculous position and called us back to say they could actually 'accommodate' us and provide room service. BTW, this was only at 9:30 pm. The staff at breakfast is not at all attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 37Frequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I recently stayed twice at the Palace Hotel Tokyo, the first time for 5 nights and then again for 2 nights at the end of our Japanese holiday - I travelled with my 3 adult children. The hotel was renovated 2 years ago, and the rooms and decor are modern, and well quipped.

For our first stay we had a twin Grand Deluxe room (there were only 3 of us at that stage), which didn't face the Palace - the room was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable, well thought out - with international chargers on the desk - the highlight of the room for me was the bathroom, and wet area where the shower and bath are located - with beautiful views of Tokyo greenery and the city beyond. The amenities were luxurious and supplied plentifully. The air conditioning was quiet and very efficient. A freshly laundered sleep gown for night time was just one of the thoughtful touches this hotel supplied. Beds were very comfortable, so after a busy day out, we always felt at peace and rested inside the hotel.

For our second stay we had two Deluxe Balcony rooms - these were also very comfortable, however my preference would be for the Grand Deluxe room because of the added space, and unique bathroom.

Breakfast was also a highlight - the buffet was a wonderful combination of English/ American breakfast favourites, however there were some Japanese touches - Seaweed salad, a dark green freshly squeezed juice with spinach, omelettes made to order, and good espresso coffee etc etc. The breakfast set us up well for the day.

The service (and I speak for all of Japan) here is superb, the concierge desk was always polite, and helpful - and went out of their way to help. Some restaurant recommendations may be on the pricey end, so check prior to going if that is a factor. Cleaning staff were discrete, and punctual - to be asked what time we would like turn down service, and for that to be adhered to for our entire stay was quite exceptional for a busy hotel. Check in and check out were swift - and the many porter staff, always there to greet you, or to help with transport.

Another bonus for the hotel, is that it is situated on top of a subway station (not that you'd know it), and we travelled by subway most places, as you avoided traffic that way. Very easy to get around Tokyo.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank freddiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ever since I was introduced to the Palace Hotel two years ago, it has been impossible to stay anywhere else in Tokyo. Every details of the designs, the service/staff, and the food is simply memorable. As soon as you walk in, you would be welcomed by a distinct aroma. You feel like you have walked into a "homely version" of your own palace. There is staff around every corner of the hotel, anticipating your needs.

The room, with the view of the palace is simply stunning. Absolutely clean, with every design details to make you enjoy the room in every corner. A beautiful spacious room with a view.

The location cannot be better. Right above the Otemachi station. You are just two stops away from Ginza and even Roppongi.

You must try the paper chocolate from the hotel pastry store.

Bar none.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment you step into the hotel you are fully aware of the tireless attention to detail that has gone into every aspect of your stay. The colour schemes and style are exquisite, the reception staff delightful and the check in service efficient. The rooms are truly stunning and the breakfast buffet area on the banks of the palace moat is inspired. The gym and pool area give stunning views over the palace and I challenge anyone not to be impressed by this iconic hotel. I will try to ensure that I stay there every time I return to Tokyo. Thank you all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank robertsP3414SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights under Unifrance sponsorship . Wonderful hotel. Polite staff. There's a 7 11 at the basement and a dozen restaurants. 12 minute walk to the Tokyo Station where the Daimaru department store is located. A lot of restaurants in that area. 25 minute walk to Ginza or 1500 yen by taxi. Shinjuku is around 2000 yen by taxi. Possible by subway but too confusing .
During breakfast you can order the japanese breakfast.
My room was facing the Imperial Palace and the gardens.

At the airport there is a shuttle going to the hotel for 5000 yen. At the hotel don't forget to make a reservation for the shuttle as sometimes it's full .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza, Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza, Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza, Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza, Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinbashi Shiodome, Odaiba
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,206 reviews
Akasaka, Roppongi
The Prince Gallery Tokyo Kioicho, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £298 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing