We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Tokyo”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. Service is impeccable - polite and friendly. Given prices in Tokyo, this hotel offers good value for money. Rooms are on the large size for Tokyo/Japan (average for anywhere else), clean, comfortable and functional. The hotel has a huge collection of restaurants with the Sky Buffet an excellent choice for dipping into Japanese cuisine. However, there is no doubt that these restaurants will leave a large hole in your wallet. That's Tokyo. A great plus is the Japanese Garden you can walk around. Convenient for business and tourist sights with vibrant Akasana and Raponggi close to hand. Will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBaggieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    575
    152
    42
    19
See reviews for
279
348
113
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Absolutely enjoyed the place, the central location, the size of the rooms and the magnificent view over Tokyo from my 35th floor room.
Staff very friendly, beautiful Japanese Garden with good restaurants.
Ok, the carpet would need an update AND there is NO free wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby) but really all the rest made 100 times for it!! Just pick up a 3G card at the airport as anyway free wifi is difficult to find in Japan.
Would definitively stay again.

Room Tip: ask for the tower, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelClo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After having stayed three times at the New Otani Hotel in Tokyo, my wife and I believe to have a fairly objective view of the qualities and shortcomings of this place. This report is a summary of our experiences during all three stays. The hotel is located relatively close the Akasake-Mitsuke metro station and hence easily accessible by public transport. Just bear in mind that it is quite a walk from the metro station platform to the hotel reception, partly due to the size of the station, but also due to the sheer size of the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage to carry, you are probably better off catching a taxi to drive you to the hotel main entrance. A taxi ride from Tokyo Station to the hotel is about $20.

The first time we used the New Otani, we opted to go for the least expensive room, in the Garden Tower. That room was sufficiently large, definitely to Tokyo standards, but we were nonetheless a bit disappointed by the fact that it looked quite old fashioned. Obviously this type of room had not been renovated for the past 30 years. On the second night of that first stay, we were rudely kept awake by very noisy neighbours. By 3 am, there was still too much noise, so we called the front desk. An attendant was sent up and this guy obviously heard all the noises coming from the neighbours room right into ours and into the corridor. But he did not do anything about it. I suppose it has something do with Japanese etiquette. However, we had paid for a good night's sleep and decided to take matters into our own hands. A couple of solid knocks on the wall and a hard-to-ignore "SHUT UP" quietened things down. The following morning we complained to the front desk manager about what happened during the night. In genuine Japanese style we got a thousands bows and as many apologies, but again, nothing was done to ensure that the subsequent nights would be quiet ones. Only after I got really upset -- something that is unheard of in Japanese etiquette -- did things start to move. We were offered an upgrade to a DeLuxe Room in the Main Building with the guarantee that that room would definitely be a quiet one. The rooms in the Main Building are in an entirely different league than the ones in the Garden Tower. They are as large, if not larger, and are very tastefully designed in Japanese style. It is like stepping from a 1980s Holiday Inn into a contemporary luxury hotel. The subsequent nights in the hotel were absolutely quiet. Our advice is to definitely book a room in the Main Building and forget about the Garden Tower. During our second and third stay at the New Otani Hotel, we automatically booked a room in the Main Building without ever looking back. All the amenities are provided: slippers, bath robe and toiletries.

The hotel itself is very large and sits in beautiful grounds. The Japanese style garden is worth visiting, even if you do not stay at the hotel. There is a myriad of restaurants in the hotel, but we actually tried none of those. They are expensive -- overpriced in our opinion -- and with so many fantastic eateries in the back streets of Sotoboro-Dori (a very short walk from the hotel) it only seemed logical we tried those instead.

The staff are extremely polite, as can be expected in Japan, and master a certain amount of basic English. Most of the staff speak about just enough English to keep things running smoothly. The moment you want to engage in a conversation that extends beyond their hotel vocabulary, things get a bit more tricky. Check-in went smoothly on all three occasions. There were no queues at the front desk and the attendants were courteous and considerate. Interestingly, it is surprising that in a high-tech country like Japan, the hotel still uses regular locks and keys for their rooms, instead of key cards. I cannot remember the last time I saw this in a major hotel. As can be expected from a big luxury hotel, they had no issues with keeping our luggage for two days while we were off to Kyoto. Check-out was just as smooth as check-in. Our luggage was brought to the hotel entrance were a taxi was waiting to bring us to Tokyo Station.

One thing that is a bit annoying about this hotel is its size. Its back entrance is closest to the Akasaka-Mitsuke metro station. From that back entrance you have to take an elevator to the fifth floor of that building from where you can walk to the Garden Tower reception desk. If you stay in the Main Building (which we recommend) it is another decent walk along one of the restaurants and a number of shops before you reach the Main Building reception area. There you can take the elevator to your room. It reminded us a bit of the casino hotels you find in Las Vegas where you have to walk for miles until you get from your room to the street. The plus side of this all is of course that the rooms are isolated from the urban jungle and there is no street noise at all. If you want to be in the middle of the Tokyo buzz, the districts of Shibuya and Shinjuku are only a short metro ride away.

If you are staying in Tokyo, you can do a lot worse than the New Otani. Of course there are the high-end hotels like the Peninsula and the Grand Hyatt, but their room prices are nearly double of what we paid at the New Otani. Value for money, the New Otani is excellent. The Main Building rooms are great and the location is wonderful -- centrally located, but away from the city noises. The size of the hotel is perhaps a bit overwhelming and the impeccable yet sterile service from the staff might be off-putting for some.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the Main Building. They are so much nicer than the ones in the Garden Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank USATravellerBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed at the New Otani for 3 nights in early May. The hotel is very central, close to sub-way stations and is a really big property with a nice Japanese garden. While the breakfast is standard the view from the Breakfast room from the top of the tower was fantastic. The stay was generally good and the staff were very helpful. The downsides were that the property is a bit run down and the equipment in the gym was quite basic and not always working.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san anselmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the New Otani for two nights on April 27th and 28th/2012.
What a great experience! The lavish Japenese Garden with the water fall and the koi ponds with the beautiful red arched bridge connecting the pathways were absolutely magnificent.
The staff was over the top with their kindness and helpful service.
We found Japan to be the cleanest country with the most helpful people in the world.
I told my wife that I wanted to stay up one night to see if they actually washed and vaccuumed the entire streets and subways before the day started!
Now we understand how this beautiful culture bonds together to handle any crisis
The Hotel is located next to the emaculate subway, which takes you to any location in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high, and with a view of the Gardens. 2 floors below the Breakfast penthouse. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The relaxing outdoor garden, the koi ponds and the hotel itself. The beautiful lobby decorations and wonderful shops were interesting. I attended an international assembly and the food was excellent. The service is A class.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsantos717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed there over an full weekend at capacity. LOVED the zen decor of the room and the teapots!! Felt myself relaxed immediately when coming in.

Clean, super helpful staff, beautiful property... just the breakfast was kind of blah... Nothing to write home about... maybe a 20-30 minute wait to get a table... and the cannot cook eggs!

Overall I would stay there again, but definitely not pay for the breakfast inclusion

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoonsie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,947 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Tokyo Garden Hotel
New Otani Hotel Tokyo
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing