We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful garden”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is part of a big, modern complex of several hotels and a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and a small shopping mall. The location near the parliament and many government offices make it a busy place. The hotel garden is spectacular and great to take a walk. Our room was nice, a bit on the small side and slightly dated, but very comfortable and clean. However, noise from guests in the next room was an issue. The walls are thin. However, service was very good and helpful. We visited during New Year and the atmosphere at the New Otani was very special with so many Japanese families coming for lunch or dinner or just meeting up with relatives. A lot of restaurants in Tokyo are closed during this time of the year, so the Otani was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruffy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    603
    162
    42
    22
See reviews for
298
376
120
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been working in Japan and staying at the Hotel New Otani since 2001. I will stay there again next week, so I was curious and reading the reviews. I have always found this hotel to be clean, reasonably priced, and an oasis in Central Tokyo.

The staff are always well organized, and pleasant. The hotel itself is huge, and has many dining and shopping options. The Main (Japanese style rooms) has been recently renovated, and the Tower was undergoing renovation when I was there last year. I always stay in the Tower with a view of the garden, nighttime Shinjiku, and on a clear day Mt Fuji.

The best part of the hotel is the location. Within 5 minutes walking, you have access to Akasaka-Mitsuke station on one side, and Yotsuya station on the other. This gives you easy access to the main subway/train lines in Tokyo.

The other location feature I wanted to mention is that around Akasaka-Mitsuke station there are many reasonable restaurants.

With regard to the "no free pool", the outdoor pool is usually open the one week of Golden Week, and then only six weeks during the summer. If you are a member of their "New Otani Club", their rewards program, then the pool access is free. If not, it can be very expensive.

Safe travels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Completly deception...No free pool, awful room, also with a small bath that it seems a bidet...no socket close to the bed.....I wont recommend this hotel....I know what I talk (I´ve been at the Peninsula, Metropoll.....) this is terrible.....

Room Tip: oh really, Is over there any good room, please...let me know when you find it.... I did´nt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su_santifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have now stayed 4 separate times a the New Otani. This being the most recent. The hotel is large and although not a true 5 star in terms of finishes and architecture, (it is quite dated) everything is in pristine condition and the rooms although set in the 90's still exceptionally comfortable.
The stand out here is the Garden (400+years old on 10 acres of grounds in central Tokyo. An absolute luxury for hotel guests, second only I imagine the Imperial palace gardens for Tokyo.
The Pool is also wonderful especially in the heat of summer.
The fact that most guests seem to be Japanese, makes the experience in the New Otani Truly culturally immersive one.
Enjoy what is a welcome calming respite in one of the worlds most happening cities.

Room Tip: Airport access is easy, with the Subway station only 200metres down from the Hotels rear entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVIDXOTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is probably the largest hotel I've ever stayed so it took some time to get used to (like much of Tokyo, as a first-time visitor). However, there are many great offerings...so much so one wouldn't have to ever leave during their stay (which I no way endorse because the city of Tokyo was such an overwhelmingly stunning locale that I recommend all to experience). I did appreciate that the hotel could provide a proper king bed (because I am tall). And the size of the room and bathroom/shower was also adequate, but less furniture would have made the room feel a bit more spacious.

The service was exceptional, even with the obvious language barrier. The front desk even printed maps to provide to our cab driver to help locate a difficult-to-find office location. I also liked the "make up room" button that you would press when you were ready for maid service. That is an innovation that more hotels should apply. The staff also assisted with a mailing issue (a post office is also on the grounds).

There are an abundance of restaurants (of various cuisines) on the grounds. They are on the pricier side, but having a tropical drink at the Trader Vic's bar was fun and I do recommend enjoying a nice breakfast in the main dining room where one can experience the incredible view of their majestic garden (another high point of the hotel). The happy hour at the 40th floor bar was a good deal for cocktails and the nighttime view of Tokyo is likely unmatched in this neighborhood.

The New Otani is a short walk from the Akasaka neighborhood, which offered numerous dining (Ninja was fun w/ tasty food) and nightlife options (Beer Horn and the Mermaid were cozy, but smoky little pubs). I also found the hotel was convenient to several traditional coffee shops near the Akaska-Mitsuke Metro station that I would frequent before beginning my day of sightseeing. There is also an enormous department store nearby (BIC Camera) that sells more products than you can imagine.

My most pointed criticism of the New Otani was that the swimming pool wasn't opened during the time of my visit (in mid-July), which I found confusing because the very hot temperatures at the time would seemingly beckon one to visit the hotel pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestigeWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My previous stay at the New Otani dates back a few years, and has been rather forgettable. This time, we booked two nights in a Main Deluxe Room, as other hotels were unavailable. We had a few welcome/reminder e-mails prior to our stay, and check-in on the day was efficient. The room was above expectations, with a small lounge area with sofa, and had been recently refurbished. The hotel is notorious for its common areas: some feel like a giant shopping mall, but the gardens are outstanding for being in the centre of Tokyo. Excellent service throughout the stay, including proper information updates through in-room speakers during an earthquake (magnitude > 6, clearly felt in the room, but not unusual in Tokyo). Overall a very pleasant stay, albeit pricey at around JPY 40,000 per night - the quoted rate excludes tax as is common in Japan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business for two nights this week - it was not where I normally stay but it was perfectly adequate. It is a large complex with lots of restaurants and shops in the complex. There is a shopping street across the road but very little else around the hotel. I would not choose this location again but the hotel itself was very good with some great restaurants. The sushi restaurant was particularly good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalancedCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,112 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,993 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Tokyo Garden Hotel
New Otani Hotel Tokyo
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing