We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It may be called Imperial, but it is no longer fit for a king” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“It may be called Imperial, but it is no longer fit for a king”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Imperial Hotel is the aging grand dame of Tokyo hotels, too bad the only piece of it that remains from the original (even though the entire hotel survived the big earthquake) is the old bar.
I've stayed here many times. Never had a problem with luggage, check-in nor with the personnel at the front of the hotel -- from the bell staff to the front desk. Whether I arrive by taxi or by bus, the front-door staff is gracious and helpful.
They've done some upgrading to the front desk - no longer are people stranded in annoying long lines or banished to seats far away. They have added marble-topped blocks to put your smaller bags as you check in -- right next to you!
The rooms in the main hotel are a bit challenged when it comes to air conditioning, etc. In the tower the cold air blows at the top of the room, so it can get hot.
The rooms in the Tower are "far," but not any different from any big hotel (smaller than most convention hotels & the Sheraton LAX, the Sheraton Waikiki, etc.). There isn't a lot of air conditioning in the hallways, so the walk can be warm during the summer.
The staff is pretty good in English, much better than many other Tokyo hotels.
The TV offerings are very limited, which is difficult if you are stuck there for work, during bad weather, etc.
They now have WiFi, which is a huge upgrade.
Still, the room telephones are old, the furnishings are old, and the hotel seems to be in major need of an overhaul.
The lobby is always stunning due to the flower arrangements. It is also always full of brides or brides to be. Like all major Tokyo hotels, the Imperial does a huge wedding business. Often the hotel seems consumed with weddings at the expense of its guests.
It is lovely to see all the women bustling around in their gorgeous kimonos, but it gets old fast when you have to dodge all the wedding photos being posed on stairs, etc.
If you need a morning coffee, go out of the hotel's front door, turn left and there is a Starbucks in the building next door.

The list:
Shower pressure: surprisingly good for the 28th floor.
Front desk: Traditionally Japanese. I was pre-registered for the previous night as my flight landed at 5am, and the desk apologized when saying they had to charge me for it. The charge was expected. Their English is above average for Tokyo.
Bed: Average.
Sheets/Bedding: Average
Towels: Inconsistent. Great washcloths, but terrible bath towels -- they have the logo but are getting thin and old.
Phone service/attendants: Above average for Tokyo, average for the rest of the world.
Room size: Below average for the world, above average for Tokyo.
Location: Fine - not hard to get cabs anywhere (flagfall is now $7), and you could walk to Ginza, if you are adventurous.
Room service: Above average for Tokyo, but expensive as with all Tokyo hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemanhattanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    488
    98
    27
    12
See reviews for
406
395
151
652
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very good standard in general, but so large that getting around the hotel is time-consuming, particularly the Tower wing which does not have a separate street level entrance.Check in was chaotic, took my own bags to my room as all bellboys busy. Room is very comfortable, toiletries are high quality. In room internet access via LAN was fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was my third time in the space of five years.

Pro's

Location,lobby service

Cons

The room was not made up when I came back to pick up some papers mid afternoon.

The bedrooms are ageing ,in fact the whole hotel needs a makeover

The 900 plus rooms make the place a bit souless,I was staying for business thus not an issue !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on business. The bedroom in main building was excellent (11th floor) with great bathroom, excellent bed and quiet air on. Wifi worked well. Used the great gym (join the Imperial Club to get free use), breakfast buffet superb (good mix of Japanese and western food items) and the 17th floor bar with great views over palace gardens. Where this hotel for me was an absolute winner was the level of service - outstanding!! Hotel location good for shopping and bullet train station.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe-shi, Hyogo, Japan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed 3 night found service perfect staff excllent rooms clean and big very central to Ginza and Tokyo station food expensive but good bar great and coffe lounge great to meet people and service very good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVINDRANATHSHARMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here on the last 2 nights we're in Japan. The service was impeccable, maybe a bit intimidating, as everyone seems to be super polite and wear white gloves. It also seems like the hotel has a lot - and I mean a lot - of staffs. There are 2 girls who stand by the elevator to let us in. There were 4 staffs who took us to our room (one's for showing us everything, one's in training, the other two came later with our luggage). Never in my life we were shown every single thing provided in the room by a hotel staff, to the point I believe he almost switch the hairdryer on to show us how to use it. It's cute but a bit too much. The guest relation officer was very helpful. One helped me to call a Michelin star sushi restaurant to make a booking, and when we couldn't get a table she suggested me to go to a place called Kyubei instead, which is super fantastic. Another help me to find a cat cafe in Shinjuku, printing out the enlarged map, reminded to get out at the right exit, and noted every obvious landmark so I wouldn't get lost.

The hotel location is perfect. It's only minutes walk to Imperial Palace and Garden, to Ginza district, and Hibiya subway station is practically in front of the hotel. It's also adjacent to Imperial Plaza, where you could splurge on Chanel and the likes, if you feel like it. From Hibiya to Tsukiji market only takes about 10 minutes subway ride. And from to area like Shinjuku etc only needs less than half an hour although we must change train at Ginza.

We were put on the 7th floor but didn't get a good view apart from some tiny rooftop garden. The room is big, but the bed unfortunately isn't as comfortable as I expected from 4 or 5-star hotel. The bathroom is also big and has lots of shelves so both of my friend and I could scatter our toilet bags around. They provide a thermos full of hot water enough to keep us going all day, and conplimentary tea AND coffee. In fact I think Imperial Hotel is the only hotel we stayed in Japan that actual provides complimentary coffee in the room.

They boast about Frank Lloyd Wright design but there's only 1 wall left at Imperial Bar which is originally from FLW era, the rest is just copy. The bar itself is very dark and the staffs were polite but too serious and didn't smile at all. I didn't feel welcome and the barman didn't try to engage a conversation even though I sat there alone and tried to ask him to explain more about FLW. He only gave me a stack of books and I had to read them in the dark.

I tried one of the restaurants dowsntairs for dinner (forgot the name), but after glorious experience at a high-end sushi restaurant Kyubei, this place's only so-so. Apparently this hotel is famous for their teppanyaki, but I didn't have a chance to try it.

What bothers me a lot was their wifi service in the room is very unstable, it kept switching off every half an hour or forced me to log back in, or the signal was lost and found minutes later. Downstairs at the lobby is another stort, the wifi signal is really fast!

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes if you're on business trip (make sure the wifi in the room is working though). But for holiday, I'd prefer somewhere less serious and more hip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyWoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on a business trip to Tokyo. The service received was wonderful but the location is slightly off centre if you are travelling to other places of visit.

1) Location
If you are taking public transport, alight at Hibiya Station and take exit A13, cross a small traffic light junction and the hotel lobby will be right in front of you. Cab from the main Tokyo station will probably cost you around 1000yen, but worth if you are carry alot of luggage (Plenty of stairs to climb in the subway of tokyo.

2) Service
Absolutely brilliant. They gave me an early check-in which is pretty rare in tokyo (at least the ones I visited). Right from the moment I stepped into the hotel there will always be staff to attend to you. Service is a 10/10 no doubt, better than any hotel I have stayed, and if anything, almost too good at times.

3) Food
Plenty of restaurent in the hotel, but very pricey. If you are on a budget, I suggest you walk a few minutes to the back of the hotel, where there are rows and rows of food to choose from at 1/3 the price.

4) Facilites
There is an indoor swimming pool (probably 25m), which is pretty awesome. They also have a public bathe and sauna if you dont mind getting naked. Gym facilities are not too bad as well. But remember to ask for the imperial hotel club membership card upon check-in. You will get 50% off laundry, free use of the facilities including the pool/gym. Wifi is provided in the room as well (although can be abit slow at times), better to use a wireless modem if you have one to attach to the rooms lan cable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing