We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
US$590
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$546
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$645
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$613
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$625
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Niwa Tokyo(Chiyoda)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,264)
Filter reviews
2,264 results
Traveller rating
1,555
553
112
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,555
553
112
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrank lloyd wrightparkside dinermain buildingimperial floorhibiya parkold schoolginza areaimpeccable servicetower blockwalking distancejapanese servicebusiness tripbit datedbreakfast buffettrain trackslarge hotelfish market
Filter
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 2,264 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Imperial Tokyo earlier this month and agree with other reviews that their service is top-notch. I was particularly impressed with Ms Azusa Yamaguchi, of the hotel's Guest Relations Office, in addressing my concerns during my stay, to the efficiency & graciousness she & most of the staff showed until i left their doorstep. Exceptional!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I travel to Tokyo 3 or 4 times a year for buisness. Each time I stay at the Imperial Hotel it is like a visit to a more refined and dignified period when travel and superior guest service and comfort went hand in hand. The well dressed and dignified Imperial staff is waiting for each guest as they arrive and quickly escorts them to the fast and efficient check in desk. The lobby is a mini crossroads of the world with fashionable women dressed in the latest couture, businessmen meeting customers and consultants, and even some traditional kimonos to be seen.

Rooms are an oasis of peace and quiet. The bathrooms have every modern convenience from phone to TV to steam showers and soak tubs to heated toilet seats. Soft music is played and nightly turn down service is provided. Beds are extremely comfortable and the views of the night lights of Tokyo are very appealing.

The location is great with close proximity to the train stations and subway lines. Ginza shopping and dining is out the back door with a multitude of choices. Tours, sightseeing, airport transportation, dinner reservations, or whatever a vsitor could possibly need are expertly handled by the multilingual concierge staff in the lobby. Business center is fully staffed and multiple meeting rooms available.

The Old Imperial Bar is a great place for sampling Japanese spirits or some of the signature mixed drinks offered like the "Mount Fuji" cocktail. It is all muted lighting, wood, and leather, with multiple bartenders who put as much attention into the preparation and mixing of the drinks (under your own spotlight if you sit at the bar) as the serving.

Multiple places for dining are contained within the hotel from a cafe to a smorgasboard to French cusine to traditional Japanese meals. Somewhat pricey but all a great dining experience.

If you're looking for service, comfort, and elegance, the way travel used to be a in a bygone golden age then the Imperial is for you. You will always remember your stay here!

Room Tip: Stop by The Old Imperial Bar in the hotel for one of their signature cocktails.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illhaveanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I have staid in this elegant hotel many times
The view from the room (if you get the proper one) is fantastic. As overlooking the Imperial Palace is a privilege.
However the excellence of this hotel is now ruined by their policy of receiving large discounted tours, thus most of the hotel ammenities
Are unusable. for example their is now a 30 to 45 minutes queue for breakfeast at the top floor Viking buffet restaurant..Unnaceptable for an
Hotel of this class

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The folks at the Imperial Hotel take allready excellent Japanese service to new highs (or perhaps back old traditional levels of truly Imperial service). Staff greet and bow for you every time they enter or exit the elevators. Concierge, front desk, house keeping, bell and all the staff are simply the best of the best. They greet and bow everytime you pass. The coat check staff bow and thank you for borrowing an unbrella. If anyone wants to learn what outstanding service is, sorry Ritz, the Imperial is Tops (Ichiban)! One certainly feeels like they are a guest of the Royal family, just across the way from the Imperial Palace grounds. When we called for extra towels or anything it was alwasys less than 2 minutes (about the time up the elevators) until the door bell rang. No doubt they are there waiting to redefine the best service possible 24/7/365!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend who was traveling on business. Didn't have high expectations as the property looked old fashioned from the hotel website, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful and superbly maintained hotel with large rooms and staff that treated me like royalty. The rooms were huge and I loved the attention to detail such as the remote-controlled curtains, heated bathrooms with the cute little terry cloth-covered stool. The bed was very comfy - I slept like a baby every night and felt well-rested in the morning.
The location is fantastic as it's right next to the Imperial Palace which is great for the morning joggers, and within walking distance to the Ginza shopping district. The nearest metro station is right outside the hotel. For those who arrived late and are hungry - there's a 24 hour sushi place within a 5 minute walk and lots of bars that are opened late.

This has become my favorite hotel in Tokyo, if not in the world. and I eagerly look forward to staying there on my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyFromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews