We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here on a business trip & loved it. Huge lobby area for very well organised check-in & although we arrived before our room was ready, this was no problem, & by the time our room was ready our bags were already there & waiting for us. The hotel was obviously busy but our room was quiet & we had a great sleep every night. Service at the concierge desk was great, there's a wonderful cake shop called Gargantua & if you're a hotel guest you get 10% off; very well worth trying! Also make sure you join the Imperial Club ( it's free, forms from the concierge desk), then you get access to the pool etc free (& if you're lucky enough to be coming back, you get priority check in. It's very expensive to eat in the hotel, but if you go out & just head for the railway arches, there's loads of small restaurants there where it's much cheaper to eat. Andy's is a must; fantastic food at a fraction of the cost elsewhere. Hotel is very well situated with the Imperial palace gardens within walking distance, shopping streets of Ginza & the Kitte mall by the railway station

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieMacW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Tokyo is a dizzying place. I times I felt as if I was on Mars, but this is a comfortable, secure hotel with a friendly staff. The hotel restaurants are very good and it is convenient to areas with food courts and as I remember enough Neon signs to duplicate or exceed Las Vegas.
I especially enjoyed running into several brides in full traditional clothing, apparently for a wedding.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. The rooms, if somewhat small, are nice enough. I could not call them true five star accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved the hotel and it's history (Frank Lloyd Wright built a hotel on the site, it has been moved to the country due to earthquakes, but there is a wonderful exhibition in the lobby). Very good service, very clean, very elegant feel to it. Breakfast up on the 17th (?) floor was great. Go to breakfast early (due to jetlag coming from Europe that was easy) cause after 7.30 you have to stand in line for quite a while. What I didn't like was the WiFi shut off and didn't sign on automatically when you leave the room to go to the lobby and vice versa. Great location. It is opposite a beautiful Hibiya park which really takes your mind off things, there is a Starbucks next door to your left in the next building, which helped my jet-lag, as the hotel coffee didn't do anything for me. Had a great stay, especially since the Nissay Theatre is across the street and I had a show there I needed to see.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiabelliMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Imperial Hotel in Tokyo is one of the most established hotels, usually one chosen by dignitaries and VIPs. Service is impeccable and many restaurants to choose from.

I was very impressed with the service and cleanliness of the rooms and the lack of cigarette smell in the corridors and rooms (although in Japan most men are known to smoke!)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AFAShahAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It was as enjoyable a hotel stay as I've had anywhere in the world. EVERYTHING was exceptionally good: the staff (helpful and friendly -- and I don't speak a word of Japanese), the room, the location, the restaurants, gift shops (where I did the lion's share of my shopping), the room (spacious and immaculately clean), etc., etc., etc. I give it the highest recommendation to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I've utilize their facility due to company event for 4000 pax, do understood that too clouded with no service but a bit surprised that the way staff helps the elevator and parking slot. I felt more way to think of to clean up the traffic. Hope next time to be better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kazyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My jet lag was brutal, but the room was clean and spacious, bed was super comfy, and the staff was friendly and welcoming. A lot of warm greetings expressed vis-à-vis bowing...I felt like the Emperor for a couple of days. Speaking of the Emperor, he and his geishas actually live close by at The Imperial Palace, which is a stone's throw away. Worth checking out. Koreans and Chinese treat The Imperial Palace with the same disdain as the Americans treat the IRS or their in-laws. So if you're Korean or Chinese, feel free to boo or heckle the Emperor and his family for their past historical aggressions, imperialism, colonialism, etc.

The hotel was also a 5 minute walk to Ginza - a lot of great restaurants (that are actually quite affordable), and for consumers that have an insatiable appetite for luxury items and premium name brands, this shopping district should serve your materialistic needs. I saw a lot of old sleazy white ex-pats buying luxury handbags for their 16 year old geishas.

To get to the Imperial Hotel I took the JR Narita Express from Narita Airport. I purchased the rail/subway pass at the JR East service stand - Suica & Nex package - to Tokyo Station which takes about an hour, and then cabbed it over to the Imperial Hotel (about an $8 cab ride). The Imperial Hotel is walking distance if you don't have to shlep around luggage. To get back to Narita Airport I went to Ueno, which then took me to Narita Airport via Keisei Skyliner. That route took less than 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Chiyoda
1,230 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,179 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 82 in Chiyoda
1,755 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £237 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing