We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was too expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Angeles City, Angeles, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I and my family stayed in Imperial Hotel Tokyo last December 23 to 27, 2013, The service is excellent from check in to check-out, the staff were very accommodating to our needs and queries, the only thing that we are not completely satisfied was the Buffet at the restaurant at 17th floor it was to expensive we spent more than 76 thousand yen for a dinner of 4 adult at one child. and surprisingly we again visited the restaurant on the following night but the menu on the buffet were not change, the same thing with the breakfast buffet it was not change we take our breakfast on the same restaurant for four days and the menu were never change. But the food is good!!

Thank you...

Room Tip: "some friends suggested Tower building rooms that provided good view of the city"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    489
    99
    27
    12
See reviews for
408
396
151
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Always stay here when I have to be in Tokyo for work. The service is spectacular. The location can't be beat. And there is a timeless ambiance. I'm really a hilton person but for this hotel, I make an exception and give up points.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank katderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am always impressed with the service this hotel provides to its guests. Service that they provide is not like they do it as a job but it seems to come from one's heart. Japanese hospitality.
Every thing in this hotel is well made. Even the amenity set in the bathroom are first class and Japanese made. I believe the comb in this set is one of the best you can by.

If you are to spend a night in Tokyo. This is the hotel.

Room Tip: Try the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are fans of Frank Lloyd Wright's work so enjoy seeing the Japanese influences and aspects of his body of work, whether it is the pavilion in the Shinjuku Gardens or the Imperial Hotel. Although little remains of his original creation, there is plenty to thrill people such as us. We enjoyed a light lunch in the famous bar - the 'club' like atmosphere was accentuated by the woodwork, glass and lighting, all reminiscent of Wright's style. As expected in a 5 star hotel, the service is impeccable and the prices are at the top end for food and wine, but it was a treat and highly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneMeg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

En route from Australia to Europe, we broke the trip with a 2 night stay at this luxurious hotel. Located a few hundred yards from the Emperors Palace, we received customary Japanese hospitality upon arrival, and an unexpected upgrade to a superior room. The lobby of the hotel is quite breath-taking, both for its where size and the Frank Lloyd Wright architecture. The rooms are as one would expect, with every convenience and comfort, including the walk-in shower room with bath as well. Also blissfully silent even in rush hour traffic.
We entertained friends for dinner one evening, and took them to the French Bistrot downstairs. A wonderful meal, and for those suffering from jet-lag, the possibility to have any dish served as a half-portion. A meal for 5, with two bottles of wine, was a very reasonable JPY40,000.
Conveniently there is a metro station from the Hibiya line adjacent to the hotel, making traveling around this remarkable city even easier. We were also quickly wished away by taxi to Tokyo Central Station on the day we left, via Narita Express, to the airport - so very handy for that too. There is no other hotel in Tokyo with better service, or position.

Room Tip: Anything above floor 8 is guaranteed to be quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I wanted to stay here because of Frank Lloyd Wright's imprint. The hotel is centrally located to great shopping, restaurants - it has several of its own - the park and the Emperor's palace.

Staff very helpful and courteous. We dined at three restaurants and were happy with each of them. Convenience-wise, it cannot be beat. Oh, the water pressure in the shower nearly pushed me into the next room. I loved that feature, alone.

One complaint is that the decor is old and tired. Our room was tiny and we lost significant square footage once we opened our suitcases. Otherwise our stay was comfortable. I do hope management is considering refurbishing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Every time I come to Tokyo I always stay here for the service, location, and convenience. I like the rooms in the main building the best because of the auto filling tub and the short walk to the rooms versus the rooms at the Tower. For a five star hotel, it is reasonable in price compare to the other five star places in Tokyo. I welcome the comfortable beds and pillows especially after a fourteen hour flight plus a ninety minute bus ride from the airport. Service is always outstanding and accommodating. However, the lobby is a busy thoroughfare especially during weekends and during daytime. And, I notice while relaxing in the tub some of the bath tiles are not cleaned of mildew. Housekeeping should do a better job because the mildew will only grow and spread. Overall, Imperial Hotel is great place to rest after a day of meetings or shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank going_there_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing