We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Imperial Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grand Imperial Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel very much impressed me because to be honest I didn't expect much from such an old hotel. The service was spot on, someone welcomed us at the door and made sure we got to our room asap. (This happened despite a very busy lobby!) The location is great, right in the Ginza area, everything is walking distance. The rooms aren't anything special, but just about all you need which is always good. Great security, you need your key to enter the floors. I was impressed by the concierge very helpful except they close their desk at night. Also, many restaurant options in the building, we tried one and it was very yummy.

My family and I will definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the park as well as in the newly renovated wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    512
    99
    25
    11
See reviews for
424
438
156
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of the stalwart hotel in Tokyo, I believe now in its 3rd iteration after the Frank Lloyd Wright hotel burnt down. Impeccable service, lovely rooms and a lovely dining experience. I could not fault any part of this hotel. Put it this way, you'll be well served by ignoring your hotel loyalty program to stay here at least once on a visit to Tokyo.

Its not located in the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, this could be a good or bad thing but with taxis and trains in this city, I find it better served that you can arrive back at the end of a day and be somewhere a bit quieter (its Tokyo, nowhere is quiet!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldayidreamoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was blown away by this beautiful international hotel. The staff were all fantastic--one of the valets ran after me because he noticed I'd left a 1000-yen bill on the seat of a cab. The room I stayed in was very nice, and the maid service was always thoughtful and detailed. I got my Wifi code when I checked in, and it worked perfectly, no matter where I was on the property (including the salon!)

This is a popular place to stay for American or European business travelers, as all the staff speak English well and they're very accustomed to working with Western clientele. Any time I called the front desk for anything, they answered in English.

This hotel helped make my business trip a real pleasure with its exceptional staff and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This place is so hudge with hundreds of rooms located right next to the imperial palace and the Ginza shopping district. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious with all the amenities that you need. The in room wireless is very fast. I recommend this hotel for business trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank clint261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The good:
+ Immaculately clean rooms
+ Very polite and speedy service (as was experienced across Japan)
+ Very well-kept facilities
+ Pricing is more competitive relative to other hotels in similar locations
+ Great locale--very central and easy to get around

The bad:
- Rooms clearly had not been refurbished in a while, ours looked straight out of a 1980s Marriott
- My room, though non-smoking, smelled dimly of smoke

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoran13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the grand dame of hotels in Tokyo right across from the Imperial Palace and a five minute walk to Ginza, the premier shopping district in Tokyo. It is like the Waldorf Astoria in NY in the sense that it houses many restaurants and has a shopping arcade on premises. The original hotel was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright but that burned down. This hotel celebrates its 90th year this year. The housekeeping and front desk services are impeccable. The only reason this hotels gets a four star rather than a five star is that it needs a little updating. I stayed on the 10th floor of the main building. The buffet breakfast on the 17th floor is top notch and has Japanese and American style breakfast choices. This hotel, like nearly all hotels in Tokyo, is super clean. Prime location, decent prices (thanks to a forgiving foreign exchange) makes this hotel, dare I say, a "bargain."

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the rooms seem to be in terms of decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

great service, lovely big rooms [with an amazing view on the shinkansen tracks ] great restaurants, especially the Japanese one and wonderful reception with amazing flower bouquet and in general a luxurious and relaxing hotel for work and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anselmleopold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,096 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 110 in Minato
2,872 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,641 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing