We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Honey Toast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was in Tokyo in March for work, and was allowed to choose my own hotel.
I picked Sakura Hotel mainly because my own company shares the same name (Sakura)-
it was rather amusing at the time.

The location is great- right in Kanda-Jinbocho (aka book town).
KJ itself is nothing to shout about, unless you're interested in scholarly books.
There's a subway station not too far away too, and Akihabara is a short ride away- heck you can walk there. Yasukuni is just up the road, and I walked to the palace and Ginza as well.
The hotel itself can be somewhat hard to find though, if you don't have detailed instructions or GPS available.

I got myself a private room with a single bed- it was small but functional. Aircon, TV, bed, clothes hangers, enough space to dump my bags. With curtains closed and the lights off, the room is pitch black- I forgot to set my alarm, and woke up the next day by the sound of someone calling 'room cleaning'. For a moment I thought they must be crazy to clean occupied rooms so early in the morning, but when I looked at the time, it was already close to noon. It's THAT dark in there.

I don't have any complaints- overall it was quite a good stay. The carpeted floor in the room was a little damp- I have no idea why, but it didn't bother me too much.

Love the honey toast breakfast too, though I wonder why they labeled it as 'ladies' favorite' or something like that. Guys like sweet stuff too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Levin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

5 to 7 minutes walk from the hotel to Jimbocho station on 3 of the Tokyo subway lines. Able to travel easily to most of the tourist attractions in Tokyo. Breakfast is at a reasonable price (coffee, toast, eggs etc) A few 24hr convenient stores located nearby, in case you need to buy groceries or other necessities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EF71R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It's recommended.. the location is strategic near MRT station and there are bunch of nice cafes & restos around to grab some lunch or dinner. There are traditional Japanese resto, as well as western.
And the reception are nice with good english too ^^

Room Tip: Just make sure your room aren't near the homestay's room for foreign students/1st employee a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myunho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I paid for a private room so it wasnt really CHEAP CHEAP like a dorm but was still good :)

VERY CONVENIENT LOCATION. I was there for a concert at Nippon Budoukan and it was within walking distance. Not to mention it was just a short less than 5 minutes walk to the train station and there are so many family marts around the hostel. Whats more is that the hostel has a 24hr cafe/restaurant so i can head down to buy a proper meal when im really hungry.

Might be a little scary to walk back to the hostel at night because the streets can be really quiet. What's more i was traveling solo but hey, it's japan i dont really worry that much.

BUT, the cleanliness in the room is not THAT good. The stains on the walls can be really obvious.. I'm just glad there are no stains on the sheets :)

However, right beside my bed was a huge cabinet which couldnt be opened cos my bed was blocked but the cabinet wasnt locked either! I was scaring myself the entire period thinking what is it lol.

Toilets/shower rooms available on every level so that's really convenient!

I will definitely try out other sakura hotels :)

Room Tip: Get a room further away from the sinks/shower area cos i think it will be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank millydred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a great experience to stay in the Sakura house. The Staff was much friendly. The Sakura hostel room in which i stayed was spacious. The bathroom was clean and tidy. The neighbors were friendly and cooperative. The place was near a park and few restaurants. Stores, Train station and shopping mall was all within the walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Waqar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was there for 4 nights and I enjoyed myself a lot. The price is considered cheap (slightly more expensive that hostels in Asakusa) since it is located closer the Shibuya. It was very comfortable and the shared toilet is very clean. There is a cafe that allows you to mingle with other tourists or even locals who frequently patronize the cafe.
The hostel is a few minutes walk from Jimbocho station(during subway to Shibuya) or a 10 minutes walk from Suidobashi JR station(convenient for those who holds a JR pass)
I met Peter-san and Riko-san, who were sitting at the front desk and they are very kind and helpful people. They will also initiate conversation with you. They are multilingual and can speak English, Japanese, Spanish and Mandarin (some German as well if I am not wrong).
I will definitely stay there again if I go back to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The ever busy Sakura Hotel is a great location to explore Tokyo from. We spent a superb two nights here in a fairly spacious (by all accounts) double room. Comfy bunk-beds meant good quality sleep and the shared wash facilities were fine and clean. Lots of information to hand and really friendly staff who worked tirelessly to answer guests questions (fired from all directions constantly). Considering how busy it is it is very well managed and maintained. We were on a round-the-world trip (tight budget) and as a city centre stay-over Sakura definitely ranks near the top (and hundreds of leagues above the next place in Delhi!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilandNic1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#8 of 33 in Koto
234 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kudanshita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Livemax Shimbashi
Hotel Livemax Shimbashi
#94 of 117 in Minato
39 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
#56 of 78 in Chiyoda
80 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#28 of 124 in Taito
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Jimbocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Jimbocho

Address: 2-21-4 Jimbocho Kanda | Sakura Hotel Jimbocho, Chiyoda 101-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £20 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Hotel Jimbocho 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAKURA HOTEL JIMBOCHO | JIMBOCHO is located in the center of Tokyo, Japan. Get a glimpse of Japanese daily life in this tranquil down-to-earth shopping area with a culturally rich history, while being just 4 minutes' train ride from Shinjuku station, one of the largest city areas in Tokyo. The Imperial Palace, Tokyo Dome and the Budokan Hall are all within walking distance. On top of this, Tokyo's other major and popular areas such as Shibuya, Harajuku, and Omotesando can easily be reached by train. Stay at this cozy and homelike hotel where each room has TV, free wireless Internet and air conditioner. If you are in the mood for relaxation, check out our cafe next to the lobby and try some of our many international as well as Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sakura Hotel Jimbocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Chiyoda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing