We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times and each time pledge it is my last - but after this stay it definitely will be. Booked a double bed non smoking but all I could get on check in was two twin sagging beds in a really foul smelling smoking room. The room was on the main road side and all night extensive roadworks including jack hammers kept me well awake. Breakfast is expensive and a non event.

I travel a heap and am pretty easy but this place needs an overhaul big time. Also no gym.

Why did I keep on coming back? -I'm not sure but that was the last time

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chica497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The rooms are very clean and efficient. While the room faces the main road in the Akasaka area the noise was not an issue and the draperies block out all of the bright lights very well. While the breakfast isn't marvellous it is pretty consistent with other Japanese hotels. The location, right in the heart of Akasaka is very good. Walk across the street for a broad selections of dining and drinking including sushi to a pub. Overall a great spot.

Room Tip: Although my room faced the main road it was not too noisy and it 'blacked out' with the drap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Best about this hotel is it's location. The airport limousine bus goes directly there. The Tokyo metro is right there with several lines available. There are shops and restaurants nearby and the location is in an older, quieter section, but with lots of choices for activity. Service is excellent, except not many speak good English if that is what you need. The downside might be the very small rooms. Mine bordered a wall so I saw no daylight. Be sure to ask if you need a view. The hotel restaurant is much too expensive for me - $23 for breakfast. Fortunately there is a Tullys next door and Macdonalds across the street. Free wifi is helpful for business travelers. Likely better for business than a family vacation.

Room Tip: Check out the room location. Some border rooftops and walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October. The hotel is within the same building of Tokyu plaza, that's why you get the lobby on the 3rd floor. there are some restaurants and shops in the plaza that might be interesting but we didn't really find time to try any of them. the rooms are standard size not big but not too small either, very clean and wıth lots of accesories in the bathroom. The concierge was very helpful, all of their restaurant suggestions were just spot on, tell them what you want to eat for lunch or dinner, then they come with very good suggestions. Another positive side of the hotel is the location; there are very good restaurants from very casual to expensive ones just accross the street.
Con side of the hotel is the breakfast; you need to be prepared for at least 15 min. of a queue to get in the restaurant which had very limited variety, noisy and smelly. we only had breakfast at the hotel on the first morning then avoided all the time.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank tulay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week, the location was fantastic! Great access to several subway lines, saved a lot of my time to visit my clients. Other than the location, you can't expect much...very tiny room, no safety box, needed to change wi-fi password every day. Good for business trip, but not for my private one. The front desk clark, Ms Sato provided me with impressive hospitalities. Hope other staffs will keep the same standards as hers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EI2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Access to two metro lines.
Typical for Japanese Hotels: Clean, Excellent Service, A/C a little warm (for Hong Kongese preferring 23 deg C).
Atypical for Japanese Hotel: Room is good size.
We booked through a flight + hotel package. Our 5 people party got allocated two adjacent rooms. Our 3 people room has a folding bed and the 2 people room is just as big. Excellent vlue for money.
One of the few options in Tokyo that offer 3-people rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it's very near 2 metro stations (2-5 min walk) which gives you plenty of option to go to lots of places in Tokyo. It's really an excellent location! 7-11 was literally just downstairs and it's very convenient to grab an early breakfast or late supper. A fleet of taxi are almost always ready downstairs or across the road, so if you prefer taxi, you shouldn't have problems at all.

We stayed as a family of 5 and booked 2 moderate double rooms. Will not recommend this to people coz it's pretty cramped to squeeze 3 people in a queen bed, unless you're going to bring your own sleeping bag (pls check with the hotel beforehand, sometimes they have extra bed).

On our first night, the air-cond was not cold and we slept without blanket, but the subsequent 3 nights were fine. No cigarette smell and everything is quite clean. The bathroom is rather small but well equipped with large bottles of soap, shampoo and conditioner, which are diligently replenished. Can't compare this to other hotels in Tokyo but I will definitely consider staying here again the next time I come.

Room Tip: Moderate double room (or was it deluxe double room) are located higher up in the building, but the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Kanda, Akihabara, Ochanomizu
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,103 reviews
Akasaka, Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Yotsuya, Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#18 of 82 in Chiyoda
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka, Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka, Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#23 of 117 in Minato
598 reviews
Akasaka, Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 82 in Chiyoda
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-14-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#19 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £98 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
★Located 1 min. by walk from subway station★Two subway station serving 5 lines are just a stone's throw away from our hotel.Using the subway,you can reach key areas such as Shinjyuku,Shibuya,Ginza and Tokyo station within 10 minutes.And there are limousine bus services between our hotel and Narita and Haneda airport.Besides there are a lot of restaurant around our hotel. The perfect location for your business and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akasaka Excel Chiyoda
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing