We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Marunouchi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marunouchi Hotel
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is located next to the station (I believe to the north) and accessible by foot.

Getting to the hotel from Haneida Airport is a breeze. Just take the Monorail and change to the JR Line to get to the Hotel. Train ride cost me JPY650 and was there in 30 mins. I can't read Japanese but the route is well sign posted. Getting to Narita Airport takes a little over an hour on the Narita Express which runs through the Tokyo Station.

Rooms are a little small, but what can you expect from hotels in Tokyo? The room is fully equipped and functional. Hi-speed Internet, via Wifi or cable, is readily available and the signals are strong.

Stayed there for a couple of nights, and each night I would just pop downstairs to have dinner (decent eateries in the station). Did not try the restaurant as it looked pretty crowded and I didn't have the time to wait. There is a Starbucks just outside the hotel at the entrance to the Station so breakfast or a quick caffeine booster is not a problem.

Overall, a convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCWPSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    238
    59
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
54
62
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 6 Contributor
1,151 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel was friendly enough to let us into our rooms at 11am in the morning which allowed for a shower before the first business meeting after a 12h flight from Europe

The front desk helped me fix a torn piece of textile without charge.

This Hotel is certainly going beyond the book to satisfy needs of customers.

I like to thank them for my rather pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We struggled to find the hotel after we got into Tokyo station- the directions of 'adjacent to the station' on their email weren't that useful, considering how large and confusing Tokyo station is. Definitely print out some sort of map if you don't know Tokyo very well or speak/read Japanese before you visit. The reception is on the 27th floor, accessed via a dedicated lift that is not at the main entrance, with the hotel above. That being said, once we found it the building (with the help of some lovely locals), it was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, staff were very polite and prompt, I quite enjoyed the view over the station far below. It was small, but that was fine. Was fairly expensive, but not too much compared to others close by, and it had the kind of high quality that is nice straight after a 10 hour flight, when you just want to sleep very comfortably. Didn't eat there. Nice space/feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaddyBrenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you are looking for hotel next to Tokyo station, it is a good choice. Nice, modern smallish rooms, free wifi with good speed and direct connection to underground passage to station and shops is great.

What is not that great is only 2 English TV channels (CNN and BBC) and weak American breakfast in somewhat faded French restaurant environment. The Japanese breakfast is better option, if you like that.

No swimming pool or fitness center.
Big bonus for live plant in the room! That is nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We've been at the Marunouchi Hotel a couple of times and so far, we don't have any complains. The room rate is a little high for what you get in the room because it adequate but not particularly luxurious so it's the location that you are paying for. Apart from being linked to Tokyo station, the hotel is also linked by underground walkway to Otemachi subway station which gives one access to 5 other lines of various distances away.

During our recent visit, breakfast was included in our rate and it was a continental buffet. Nothing special, just a small simple spread enough to tie you till lunchtime. Of course, it you so desired, you may order eggs, French toast, etc at an additional cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cope
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this good hotel for business. The location if without a doubt good - but there are many other choices in the area. The room is Tokyo standard which means very small, but just enough to almost make you comfortable. The bathroom very cramped and a disapointment. Breakfast is not what is to be expexted of a 4 star hotel. One good feature is that the hotel limosine bus makes takes you to the airport just outside the hotel. For the price paid versus the room size and service I would not recommend since there are many better alternatives in same location for less money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Marunouchi Chiyoda is very well located immediately outside the Tokyo Station on the Palace side. Very close to the business centres of the area it is good if you do not intend to actually spend too much time in the hotel on your visit. Compared to its competitors in the area, The Palace Hotel and the Emperial Hotel, it is a very poor offering. The rooms are not well appointed with no real mini bar, the bathroom is very cramped and the quality of products used in the rooms is average. The breakfast is relatively poor (I'd go out somewhere) and service there was not up to standard. Given a number of other choices, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get in, drop your stuff and find somewhere else to enjoy your time in Tokyo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_Regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
#23 of 74 in Chiyoda
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Courtyard Tokyo Station
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marunouchi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marunouchi Hotel

Property: Marunouchi Hotel
Address: 1-6-3 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marunouchi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marunouchi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marunouchi Hotel Chiyoda
Marunouchi Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing