We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful well maintained Gardens”

The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$289.61*
and up
Tokyo City Private Tour by Subway
Ranked #5 of 273 things to do in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: These beautiful gardens are located outside of the Imperial Palace. Access to the gardens is open to the public although the palace itself is off limits.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful well maintained Gardens”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

There is no charge and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained well worth the time to see them. Took an unhurried walk down the various paths and the Edo ruin. The fortification walls and gates are amazing to see with the huge dry laid blocks. Only a 'hill' remains of the actual castle

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    591
    247
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just another Garden”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Free entry into the gardens. Went there on a Saturday, so there is a number of people in there. You have to change a pass to enter and to return it when you exit. There is a small museum that houses some art work, takes about 5 mins max. Then a walk around the old walls and that is about it. Most of the buildings are no entry too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank houndy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
459 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Nothing much here, just pass by on your way to the gardens”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The ruins themselves are pretty much just..ruins. There isn't much to see here, so just pass on by to the garden, which is what we're really here for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Japanese garden is worthwhile, but...”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Access to the majority of the Imperial Palace gardens is limited. The historical buildings are closed off, so they can only be viewed from a distance whilst reading a plaque. The walk through the park is nice, but not more than that. The best part is the Ninomaru Japanese garden, and well worth the walk in, but don't waste your time on anything else here unless you have plenty of time and nothing else to see.

Tip: Be wary of visiting at midday, as it can get very hot in the more open area of park, and there is not a lot of place to take refuge from the sun nearby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyisblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We regret going there because we spent so much time trying to get there. We went on a Tuesday I think, We tried to figure out how to get in for a while because the gates were closed. You couldn't even talk to any of the officers at the gates because they were so far away from the gates. We walked around the perimeter of the grounds and found an official. We asked him if the castle was opened and he said that it would be open tomorrow. Total waste of time.

We came back a few days later and we were able to get it. The grounds were pretty and the views from the top of the hills where the castle was were pretty cool but at the end of the day, there was nothing amazing to see.

I would definitely skip this attraction if we ever go back to Tokyo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin) also viewed

 

Been to The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing