We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed in the Garden Tower section, the view of downtown Tokyo was breathtaking from our 35th floor room, on a clear day we could see Mt. Fuji. The room was clean and adequate, There was a safe for our use, hot tea, and a minibar. The hotel has its own art museum, free to guests. Prices in the restaurants and shops can be shocking, but local restaurants are a five minute walk away. We had included the breakfast buffet, the hot and cold selections in the 40th floor room were extensive and came with a great view. The hotel is not new, but well maintained and a first rate helpful staff. For instance, we had directions to a restaurant translated into Japanese to hand to the cab driver. No wifi in the room, only downstairs lobby, wired internet in the room if you can use it. We had a good stay. The 400 year old imperial garden with koi and water fall is a real plus!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueJazz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    447
    146
    26
    9
See reviews for
261
289
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
609 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

There are two of these hotels combined into one. If you stay in the New New Otani you will be happy, maybe. If you stay in the old New Otani not so much. The old one, where I ended up is called the same name but I ended up in the Garden Tower. It has older rooms, kind of OK but a little bit in need of renovation and a bit not so nice feeling.
The bathrooms are quite old, and the beds a bit on the saggy side. The help is way below what you expect in a nice Japanese business hotel. First, beware, some of the rooms do not have wifi, at least not when I was here. The first room had none, so after I unpacked I headed down to the front desk, and only then did they inform me I would have to repack and have another room on another floor. No sorry. Later, when I asked for a map and location it was all the bell desk could do but to mumble a few words and clearly wanted no further talking with me.
The restaurant at the top of the Main Building, the New New Otani, that turns, has a deal of around $100 USD for not very good food at all. Stay away from this place for dinner! The breakfast on the other hand in the new building has a great buffet that comes with the room. Coffee for two in the coffee shop betwen the two buildings was $15 per person for a cup of coffee. Quite ridiculous. We wanted to just share a spread sheet and it cost $30.
In short, you can do so much better and the location is kind of off the beaten path in Akasaka although it is right across from the Metro stop Akasaka Mitsuke.

Room Tip: Stay in the new part of the hotel and if you cannot do not go. Also, be sure and walk around the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Hotel New Otani is one of the established grand hotels in Tokyo. It has two wings, the more salubrious Main Building and the newer Garden Tower and these are interconnected by an arcade containing shops and restaurants. Lobby decor is a bit 'arte nouveau' influenced. We stayed in the Garden Tower on the 22nd floor, the room was comfortable and had a great view across to the Tokyo Tower that is lit up colourfully at night. The hotel service was impeccable. As indicated by many reviewers the real unique feature of this hotel is its Japanese Garden complete with a large waterfull and walking around this is a real treat, particularly in central Tokyo. Along the arcade is a bar and tea house and you can sit in the afternoon and admire the Garden from above with a drink in hand. The major frustration of the hotel is the cost of all the add-ons. There is no WiFi in the room but internet is available via cable for ~1500 yen for 24h and this then gives you access to WiFi in the lobby and arcade. The outdoor swimming pool, adjacent to the Garden, is very nice but costs 2000 yen for guests and was quite busy on the hot summer day we visited. Breakfast is expensive and I would recommend that your purchase fruit and pastries at the Sakogami food shop on level 1 in the shopping centre below the Garden Tower if you want a cheaper option. The hotel is very well situated next to subway stations and if you walk down the hill, over the bridge and across the road there is a street of restaurants to chose from, where we found magnificent made to order Sushi. The central location of the hotel means that many of Tokyo's important sites, e.g. Imperial Palace, are close by. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here, sure it is a bit old and not a big new glamour hotel but the New Otani has some features, like its garden, that cannot be matched elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are in the Garden Tower ask for a high floor with a view of the Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed for business in one of the Garden Tower rooms and was a little disappointed. The hotel itself is quite amazing - huge with shops, a gallery and lovely Japanese Gardens however our room was a bit dated and dark and dingy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Big, expensive, clean hotel in the middle of central Tokyo. We stayed in the Garden Tower and are really satisfied. Chosed the hotel because of a special price 40% discount if you stay 4 nights and we don´t regret. Very close to the subway and a nice street with several restaurants. The room was very big and with three windows. Clean and quiet, but stiff beds. The staff was helpful and polite. Joined the new otani-club for cheaper breakfast, but it was not that great. Used the gym late at night when it was empty, and it was ok, had a few workout-machines and weights. Didn´t have any time to see the beutiful garden and to visit the pool, to bad.. The lap of wifi made us buy an wireless wifi connector in the electric street for about 95 Y and it workt fine. Overall are we very satisfied.

Room Tip: Garden wiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Garden is beautiful and the lobby is large and full of amenities. I stayed in the Garden Tower in a standard king room. The room was a very nice size. My only complaint is the windows look like port holes in a ship. Overall, the bed was decent and furniture was nice. I found the staff very attentive and all spoke good English which made the stay easy. It was also in a very good location. Less than a 5 minute walk to Akasaka for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed many times in the Garden Tower. Larger non smoking rooms are fine,View to Shinjuku is nice.
Restaurants expensive, but plenty of local alternatives.
Fitness cente is dismal, but full gym is expensive.
Very busy with local families and groups on weekend. Week days ae dominated by foreign guests
No wifi in rooms, only wired, however wifi is available in lobby and internet seems to be free since march '12

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryXMASCaptainCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing