We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveller rating
486
549
172
35
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
549
172
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden beautiful garden large hotel koi carp top floor floor restaurant main building triple room stayed here for four nights revolving restaurant mount fuji metro station akasaka mitsuke lots of restaurants bit dated breakfast buffet western food
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during an exchange program with the Japanese govt. It was totally a great hotel. Very near Akasaka district where there are lots of restos and places to eat. There's a subway very near.

Rooms:
The rooms are big and you never feel crammed inside. The windows are huge which creates a good atmosphere. The bathroom also is big enough.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was ok though we preferred there would be more meat products. It was satisfactory.

Really enjoyed my stay. It has a very nice garden!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city to have a feel of the metropolis and Tokyo.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms were spacious, gardens wonderful and location convenient. Limited selection on hotel restaurants if arriving late. Beds were comfortable. First good night sleep in 7 days. Attached gardens were wonderful- tranquil and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my first visit to Tokyo and this hotel was just right. The room was spacious and elegant. The hotel is huge with two towers but is very nice designed so as not to be overwhelmed. The garden and waterfall were beautiful. We enjoyed having lunch or an afternoon snack looking out to the garden. The rooftop restaurant was perfect to have breakfast with the all round city view and seeing Mt. Fuji on a clear day. The service was always very professional and polite. It was a great stay. It was very nice having the metro just a few steps away from the hotel saving us money on taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have been here at least ten times in the last two years for work. It's an OK place to stay in Akasaka. It's fairly priced, and in addition to the facilities of a normal business hotel, it has a unique zen garden.

On the negative side, the rooms are pretty old and tired, with wooden furniture from the 90s; they need to be renewed. The gym has some equipment that belongs into a museum. They are little by little improving; finally, from the middle of 2013 they offer wifi in all rooms (incredible, but they did not before!)

On the positive side, if you get a high floor facing in the right direction, you can get some amazing views of the city and even of Mt. Fuji.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugeniof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After booking this hotel, a lot of Japanese people told me that it's a very nice hotel.

However, I am disappointed with Hotel New Otani.

It's a very big hotel, we stayed at the garden towel. It's similar to the scale of any Vegas hotels but 30 years older. The room is still using key not key card which mean no energy saving power control. It took us a while to find the power points which are behind a chair. The lights switches are next to the door therefore no control when you are in bed.

The location is not the best as around 10 minutes walking to the closet subway station.

I was surprised to see there are lines to check in and check out at all times. It took me lined up for 30 minutes to check out. I can tell it's a very usual thing as they giving out sweets to manage the queues.

The room is very spacious which is a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews