We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Here for business. Service is excellent. Lots of stores in the complex. Airport bus stops here making it easy to get to and from airport. Expensive, but Tokyo is. For food, lots in the area or for the price difference, take a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a huge hotel complex, with numerous places to eat, drink and shop (although, in keeping with other hotel restaurants/bars, they are more expensive than going out). And because of the hotel’s excellent location it is very easy to go out for a drink or meal, as it is a stone’s throw from the Akasaka district (and metro station should you want to go further afield) where there are ample different restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. To walk to the Akasaka area it is quicker to leave the hotel by the Garden Tower entrance rather than the main entrance as it saves a walk round the block.

Our room in the hotel (in the Garden Tower Block) was more spacious than I had expected in a Tokyo hotel, with enough room for storage and suitcases. It was clean, comfortable and well serviced with towels changed every day. The bathroom was also the best we had during a tour in Japan, with a showerhead that could change the direction of jet, bars of soap, small bottles of shampoo and conditioner plus face clothes – all of which were lacking in other hotels we stayed in.

Breakfast in the hotel is also good, with a reasonable selection of hot western style dishes, Japanese dishes and fresh fruit. (Although I found this never-varied selection was much the same in other hotels we subsequently visited and consequently became a little boring, but it was probably better here than other hotels we stayed at). Breakfast can be taken at one of several restaurants, but the main two for western breakfasts are the rooftop restaurant in the Garden Tower, and the central ground floor Garden restaurant (there is another Japanese restaurant if you want a Japanese breakfast). These open at 7pm and there is invariably a queue, particularly at the rooftop restaurant where great views over Tokyo can be had from window tables. If you want a window table here for an early breakfast you would need to get there by about 6.45, otherwise just before 7.30 when, although still usually a (shorter) queue, you will get the first arrivals starting to leave. The Garden restaurant is more airy and has a greater capacity, but again you should be there just before 7 for an early breakfast to get a table overlooking the superb gardens. For us, this was the more comfortable and relaxing of the two. (Incidentally, the attractive gardens and pools full of Koi carp are well worth walking round).

Drinks are expensive (1000 yen plus for a small beer). The lobby floor Capri bar (near the main lobby) is a bit soulless with more serving staff than customers when we went (I noted 6 attentive serving staff for us and another couple), while Trader Vic’s bar (the only other we tried) was equally pricey but had a better atmosphere being decorated out in a Disney-like South Sea Island style. It also serves snacks in the bar.

Overall we thought the hotel very good, reasonably priced for the size and style of hotel it is, and met our needs in all respects, although we did eat and drink out after the first night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights as part of a tour of Japan. Our room was well equipped, had a view of the beautiful garden and it was hard to believe we were in the middle of a bustling city.
Breakfast was served overlooking the garden and was of a high quality as was the service. This hotel has a range of shops and restaurants and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I really loved this hotel.
The view is perfect, the staff super helpful and the breakfast buffet delicious.
The hotel is near the Akasaka-Mitsuke station, a 3 minute walk to get there.
If you're hungry but don't want to spend a lot of money I recommend the restaurants near the hotel.
I also recommend the 40th floor when having breakfast so you can have a beautiful view of Tokyo.
Oh and when making a reservation for a room, ask for the garden view. It's beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meowsedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Huuuuuge hotel. This hotel is a very old hotel. It's been around since the early 1900s.

Nice and with good service for the price that we paid. I noticed quite a number of complains in the reviews about the hotel being expensive but I beg to differ. The hotel is quite reasonable for the quality (And its cheaper than the hotels we paid for in Hakone!) It's also quite accessible, next to Akasaka-Mitsuke train station and 5 mins walk from Yotsuya station (one of the major train stations which gives you access to multiple lines).

We stayed on the 37th floor which afforded us an excellent view of Tokyo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the New Otani. This is a very big hotel, avoid it if you have walking difficulties. The room was well appointed and very clean. Towels changed every day. There are a lot of restaurants in the hotel, but all very expensive. It is much cheaper to go to the Akasaka area, where there is a good variety of cafes and eating places. We had continental breakfasts in the Garden room. Very good and there are lovely views of the Japanese Gardens. A nice way to start the day.
This hotel is in the business district and not really near many tourist attractions. The Akasaka tube line is just out of the 'back' door and you can get anywhere in the city easily. A day pass costs roughly 4GBP.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poltney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is simply put..huge!!Multiple entrances to 2 wings.The older wing is the Main and the slightly newer wing is the Garden Tower.I arrived at the Garden Tower and the entrance was more like a department store entrance.A maze of shops selling practically everything from designer clothes to a high end supermarket.Lobby is situated on the 6th floor and considering the size of the hotel is very small.There are so many restaurants and corridors its just to confusing and guests really need directions from staffs.
Checkin was quick and typically Japanese style.Very businesslike.
My room was on the 24th floor but the room number started with 44....which can be confusing guests might think they are on the 44th floor.Rooms start from the 11th floor to the 39th floor.
Room was very very old fashioned and really needs a renovation.They still use a room key which I have not seen in many many hotels.Size was average with plenty of space.I had a lovely view of their private garden and swimming pool.Bathroom was on the small size with very limited amenities unlike other Japanese hotels.
The bed was very odd.It felt so springy whenever I laid down on it or just turned.It felt like I was sleeping on a trampoline.The bedsheet just barely covered the end of the mattress and so it was a bit uncomfortable for my feet because it came out as it was not tucked in.
Besides all these...internet was free.The aircon worked well.And it was clean.
Location wise its situated across from Akasaka..so theres an alley way full of restaurants and convenience stores but that's about it.The subway station is just before the crossing.
The hotel grounds are truly magnificent.they have a very traditional restaurant called Nadaman that's serves kaiseki...traditional Japanese food served course by course.They even have a traditional outhouse in their garden which caters to special VIPs and dignitaries.The swimming pool is very big.
Be warned though..the restaurants in the hotel are all very very expensive as this hotel is considered one of the high end hotels in Tokyo along with The Imperial Hotel.
Personally this hotel is not to my liking as it is just too old for me.And the location is not to convenient for shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,076 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
#20 of 78 in Chiyoda
872 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower

Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-0094, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: £112 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing