We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location, good view from room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
taipei
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“convenient location, good view from room”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My 4th trip to Tokyo, this time a business trip staying at the New Otani (not a first choice honestly).

Coming from Haneda airport, took the train to Shimbashi station, then changed to Akasaka station, heading out to exit D. 2 minute walk to the hotel. Unless you have a lot of luggages, I do believe this is one of the most convenient and economic way to get to the hotel.

Overall, I'd say that the hotel is not as modern as how it looks on photo. Room size is good for a Tokyo hotel (executive suite with 2 single bed and a good view of the garden on the roof) but generally the amenities does looked it could use some refurbishing in the next 2 years.

TV stations seemed like a lot, but for a foreigner, can only stick to CNN or CNBC, no HBO or movie channels to kill time.

Was out of the most time was not able to engage with the staff much, but generally are friendly can carry on a good English conversation with guests.

Probably only go back for the convenience, but there are definitely better hotels in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YitzHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    448
    146
    27
    9
See reviews for
264
294
52
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

There is nothing to dislike about this hotel. Location is great - close to the Akasaka station - with about 5 different lines passing through. There are also 2 rows of restaurants within walking distance - we ate there almost every night. We had a suite (bedroom & living room) but only 1 bathroom. The room is spacious. The service is good and prompt. The room is clean. Bottles of water, hot water pot and coffee replenished daily. Most importantly, there is in-room wifi and it is fast. One thing I did not find favourable is that there is limited TV channels - mainly news channels. No HBO or star TV or the likes. I did not try any of the hotel restaurants although there are many to choose from. We did take a walk in the garden - that is part of the hotel, and went to the chapel in the garden.

Room Tip: As I understand it, garden tower is the old block. The rooms in the executive block are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAL_SING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in early June 2014. We booked a non-smoking king room; when we checked in the room we got smelled like it had been smoked in a lot (it also looked a little outdated). So we called the front desk and within 20 minutes they switched us to an equal-sized but updated and clean-smelling room ten floors lower.

The room was decent sized, similar to any big-city hotel room I've stayed in. Very quiet, no sound from outside or next door rooms. The bed was a bit hard and bouncy, but it seemed like a marshmallow compared to the futons we had been sleeping on in the previous week. Some of the furniture was new, some was older but in decent condition.

The hotel property is huge and includes a bunch of fancy stores and restaurants, it all has a somewhat dated 60s/70s Vegas-y luxury vibe (but it's all in very good condition). We only ate at one of the restaurants once, the garden cafe - we had burgers and they were big and good, but they were nearly $30 each. We never tried the breakfast or any other of their restaurants; instead when we wanted a cheaper light breakfast or lunch/snack nearby, we went to the Sunroser building next door (it's connected via a short walkway from the garden tower lobby) where there's a Tully's coffee on the 2nd floor, and a small deli/market on the 1st floor.

Other notes:
- You can sign up for a free Otani club membership on the spot when checking in to save 20% on breakfast.
- On-room wifi is free (seems like a recent change) and it worked fine.
- There are many bars and restaurants only a few blocks away in the Akasaka neighborhood. We had a nice shabu-shabu meal at "Shabugen" which is on the 5th floor above the McDonalds.
- The Akasaka-Mitsuke metro stop is a block away.
- The app "Tokyo Subway Navigation for Tourists" was extremely helpful for using the subway. Aside from a map, it will show you the closest station, and if you plug in the start and end stations, it will show you where to change if needed, how long the trip will take, and how much to pay.
- If you're going to be using the metro more than a few times, it's worthwhile to buy a Suica or Pasmo card which you can tap to ride the metro (and use to buy drinks at many vending machines). The cards are sold from machines in many metro stops and train stations.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated/renovated room - in our experience it meant getting a room that smelled OK instea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in the Garden Tower, large double room (for 1) very comfortable, clean and all amenities you'd expect. Breakfast in the top of the tower restaurant for Mount Fuji views, but expect to wait to be seated. Well worth the effort. Good choice of in-house restaurants for lunch & dinner but plenty of alternatives in the local area within walking distance (loved the Ninja restaurant at Akasaka Tokyu Plaza). Staff very helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An extremely large hotel split into 3 buildings. We stayed in the Garden Tower and were very pleased. Hotel is near a subway station which makes it very handy for getting around. In addition within a few hundred yards there is a restaurant area with dozens of restaurants of every kind. Breakfast was very good with a large buffet catering to all tastes. A delightful Japanese garden is contained within the hotel grounds. The charge for the use of the pools was the only complaint. A hotel of this standard should offer free pool access to residents.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Booked by the travel agent for a 1 night pre-cruise stop over and overall we were quite satisfied.
Arriving at 09-45 we could not check in until 14-00hrs which meant hanging around the hotel for 4hrs after a 10hr flight, not very good. After a couple of hours and needing food we seated ourselves in the restaurant overlooking the Japanese garden and ordered 2 rounds of sandwiches with fries and tea for 2. The food was most enjoyable and we had no complaints with it. However, after converting the JPY to English pounds it left a bitter taste £48 or $80, hence the title. We found the room clean, roomy and well equipped with everything you needed including toothbrushes, slippers and hairbrushes which amused my wife with me being bald.
In the evening and being tired we decided to risk the high prices and eat in the hotel. We enjoyed a lovely 4 course meal, really excellent, for only £69 or $116 and the waiter was very friendly and attentive. If I found myself booked into this hotel again by the travel agent I would not mind at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First of all, the location is pretty good - a three minute walk from the pivotal Akasaka subway station. The sprawling hotel comprises a 17 storey so-called Main hotel and a 40 storey Garden Tower separated by nearly 100 metres of corridor. I haven't stayed in the tower for a couple of years, but back then it had large rooms, sparsely furnished, with the hardest beds I've ever experienced. The Main hotel block rooms are far smaller, more recently refurbished, and with beds which help overcome jet lag rather than reduce your chances of sleep. Whichever block you choose, the bathrooms are small - and of course come equipped with the ubiquitous electric lavatory. Press the wrong button and you'll self induce colonic irrigation, and it's worth learning how to turn off the seat warmer.
The complex - for that is what it is - is built on the side of a hill. This makes it quite confusing. The lobby floor of the Main hotel is on the equivalent floor to the 6th floor of the Tower (so the Tower lobby is on the 6th floor). There are restaurants and shops all over the place. The hotel is a hive of activity during the day - navigating the wide, shop-lined corridor between the two parts of the hotel is rather like walking down a busy street - yet turns into a wasteland at about 8.30 at night.
There are several places to take breakfast. On a sunny day, opting for continental breakfast allows you to eat in the Garden restaurant - half way along the 100 metre corridor separating the Main from the Garden Tower. The huge picture windows overlook a 10 acre Japanese garden, complete with red bridge, rock garden and fairly sizeable waterfall. It looks less polished when you walk round it, but from the breakfast room it is a spectacular oasis of peace over which to gaze while eating your beakfast.
We also had breakfast in the more popular, larger, and rather dismal breakfast room in the Main hotel. While the choice is good, the atmosphere is oppressive and the seating arrangements so convoluted that they contrive to create a 10 minute queue for a half empty restaurant at 06.00.
Over the last couple of visits I have eaten in a couple of the hotel's Japanese restaurants, including the really excellent Kyubey sushi restaurant. The Sky Bar is a different matter. Service is pitifully slow, the ambience is uninviting (which is why the lights are virtually on "off"), and the view is completely spoiled by the distraction of the revolving restaurant which circles the bar.
For the record, over the years I have found the service in the hotel to be solid if somewhat slow. This time they struggled to cope with the fact that I arrived with my wife rather than just alone as my booking indicated. What should have been a two minute rate adjustment took 15 minutes to resolve. This time round the bed had hairs in it: it happens in hotels; they were very apologetic; but it took two people an inordinate amount of time to remake the bed at 11.00 at night.
It's absolutely not a five star experience, but it is reliable and - for Tokyo - reasonably priced for what you get (25,000 Yen per day including breakfast).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank D j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing