We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service not up to par.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Customer service not up to par.”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel would have to be my least favourite in terms of customer service. For a hotel of this magnitude I was expecting a bit more. Being our first trip to Japan and Tokyo itself, we didn't exactly get the friendliest of welcome from their staff, not something you need in the morning after a very long flight. Apart from the level of customer service not being up to scratch, their english was also not so great. Especially when I asked not one, but a few of their staff a really basic question and when they couldn't give me a straight answer I was really quite shocked. In the end, I managed to figure out the answer to my own question, without their help.

We stayed in the Garden Tower for four nights. The twin room here was quite spacious and modern. We had a nice view of the the skyline at night and when the day cleared we were pleasantly surprised that our room also had a view of Mt Fuji. This was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our Japan trip and the only one that did not offer either free wi-fi or internet access. Although I knew this prior to booking, it got me thinking that if the other hotels which I stayed at, where we paid much less for, were able to either provide us with free wi-fi or computers to access the internet in the lobby- why can't Otani? This is something very handy when you're trying to look for something in Tokyo and communicating with the staff is just way too frustrating.

I chose to stay in this hotel because it seemed to be located in the centre of all the places we were planning to visit, plus my friend wanted to see a beautiful Japanese garden and express check-in is offered to their members. On the morning we arrived, all the rooms were fully booked, there was a wedding on that day and it was during cherry blossom season, so it was understandable that we couldn't get express check-in. (FYI: If you do plan to stay here, sign up for their free membership card, it helps, a little).

In terms of location it is not so bad. To access the hotel we used the Akasaka-mitsuke station, which is a short walk from the Garden Tower. On the orange Ginza line it was the G5 stop and the on red Marunouchi line it was the M13 stop (note: these lines are the Tokyo Metro line which are not covered by the JR pass if you intend on purchasing one). The station is near other shopping and dining areas such as Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown and if high-end designer label shopping is your thing, Ginza and Ometesando are not far from this station. However, if you're on a budget or you just want to be located in the heart of the action, then you are best to base yourself in either Shibuya or Shinjuku which is exactly what I'll do next time I'm there. These places are amazing at night and have a great energy to them. Plus there are plenty of restaurants, shops and entertainment to choose from in contrast to the neighbourhood around Otani which is rather quiet with a demographic of mostly business workers.

Sure, the hotel has it's own restaurants, but if you haven't made any reservations then you could always go for a little explore into your neighbourhood like we did for dinner. We ate at Akasaka Square Dining, the food there was pretty average as reflected in the price. We also had a rather healthier version of the American buffet breakfast at the Garden Lounge located at Otani's Main Tower. This lounge had really nice views of the garden and we could imagine how spectacular it would have been had the cherry blossoms been in full bloom, but unfortunately at the time, they were just beginning to bud.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osmosis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    447
    146
    26
    9
See reviews for
261
286
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was a great Hotel, incredibly large and very good staff all speaking english and very helpfull. We stayed in the Garden Tower and the rooms were reasonably spacious, internet was around 1270 yen for 24 hours, but that was OK. We felt a little out of place in the public areas as this is mainly a Business Hotel and people are dressed in Buisness clothes, we were tourists in shorts etc. The location was perfect and close to the Metro and centre of the City. There were many Restaurents nearby which was great as the only downer on this place was the Restaurent prices they were incredibly expensive and you could eat just as good for about 25/30% of the price outside the Hotel. This Hotel would have scored 5 if it had some moderate priced Dining facilities and a good Bar.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKsteve_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Stayed here one night 8/28. This is not our normal airline crew hotel, but due to an issue at our normal hotel, we were substituted here.
The FIRST thing that you have to get your arms around is the sheer size of this hotel property.. It's huge.. The hotel consists of three major buildings plus one of the largest private hotel gardens in Tokyo. When you first arrive you really don't get a sense of just how large it is..

Check-in was a bit complex as the Otani's Credit Office had to communicate with my airline's billing office (it's a pre-paid room) to confirm payment arrangements. In typical Japanese service style, rather than being left standing at the check-in counter waiting, our bags were taken by the Bell Staff and we were shown to the adjacent lounge and offer a fruit juice drink while we waited for the details to be worked out.. This, in itself, is a small event, but is in my opinion a good representation of what level of service the Otani delivers..

Within :15 were were assigned rooms and escorted with our bags by the Bell Staff. Rooms in the lower and older Main Building are priced a little cheaper than rooms in the newer, taller Garden Court/Tower buildings. Luckily we were assigned rooms in the Garden Tower building. It takes a solid :10 to get from the Front Desk to our rooms-- an indication as to the sheer size of this hotels property.

The room itself is typically Asian, in that it's small. Nicely furnished with darker, cooling colors with dark natural wood trim. As you would expect, all the furnishings are top-rate like the plasma TV, work desk with multi-line phone, multi-power outlet, high-speed internet connection, data ports, coffee/tea serviette, iron and ironing board and room slippers and plush teri-cloth bath robe. The windows are nearly floor to ceiling and provide on of the best views in a city hotel I've ever seen. The drapes are not "black-out" but do shut out a substantial percentage of the natural light when closed. The room also has one leather sitting chair and coffee table. I turn the chair to face the city view.

Like the bedroom, the bathroom is also noticeably small but also very well equipped. Full toiletries provided, tub and shower. Anti-fog mirror, radio and telephone for those who need to make or receive a call from the bathroom. A wall-mounted hair dryer is also included. Nice strong water pressure and very hot water.
As expected everything in my room was in working order and it was cleaned to an immaculate standard.

The hotel itself is like a semi-city. For the first-time guest, you may get temporarily lost. The hotel has two large pool, a full gym with classes and free weights/machinery, a day-salon and a day-spa. The hotels private Japanese waling garden is NOT to be missed. You can get a guide so you can better understand the symbolism of the gardens and the native plants as well.

You won't be at a loss for eating options either: Japanese, Western, Chinese, French/Pastry, Cafe and Bar/Lounge are all available. They do also offer 24/7 room service at typical room service rates. The hotel is so centrally located in the Chiyoda-ku district that there are literally hundreds of eating and drinking options withing a short walk or subway ride from the hotel.

I can't say enough about this hotel.. It's sheer size and level of amenities are unrivaled. I do know that it is not cheap by any measure, but in my opinion, for the location, the level of amenities and guest services it's a good value. But for me it's the staff politeness, promptness and overall level of guest satisfaction that make it a winner for me!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We were in the Garden Tower - there are 3 blocks. Heaps of restaurants and shops, very busy but a good place to kick off trip to Japan when you know nothing! Easy to get everywhere, close to metro. Room was slightly jaded but clean and comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Disappointing to have to pay for internet (100 yen for 10 min) in such a hotel but seems to be everywhere in Japan. Even when it froze and I lost the money they would not give a free session, had to pay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, JAPANiCAN and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing