We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, rooms and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best service, rooms and location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel is in the Ginza district near the Imperial Palace.

The neighborhood is very nice and there are an endless number of posh places to shop and outstanding places to eat within an easy walk.

The lobby is nice but is a bit small for a hotel this size so its not a good place to meet and there is a restaurant that spans the lobby...very odd and noisy but the food and service are very good.

The rooms are very large...even more so considering that it is Tokyo. Comfortable, quiet with plenty of room to relax or work.

The location is very good in Ginza and the proximity to the Palace mean you can get out for a walk or run or just to experience something other than concrete and see a horizon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    341
    88
    22
    19
See reviews for
383
567
101
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Not cheap hotel but good location deserve some premium. The hotel the rooms are very nice in general especailly if you ask park view high level rooms. the spa is very modern fantastic swimming pool very clean and tidy, there is all you need at high standards/ Live music band at lobby male it even nicer at first arrival, you wont see a guest arriving without a happy smile in the face if you sit in the lobby nicely decorated with arts and wooden furniture. Modern and uptodate equipment at all levels makes your life easier. the rooms are fully centrally operated by single tool at bed side, It is great to have the control. Everything is ok except service can become terribly bad if you cannot overcome a huge barrier of language and be able to explain what you want how you want. We have taken breakfast for 3 consecutive days and every time it became very bad experience. Last day we had to wait for 30 minutes for wrong delivery. They misunderstand every word you say in English therefore I suggest you speak very simple English and order only by pointing out a menu item. Even with that I can assure you will suffer delays and mistakes. Other than service/language problem this hotel is very good place to stay in Tokyo

Room Tip: ask for park side higher floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adiguzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Anyone who loves shopping in Tokyo must stay at The Peninsula, which is by far, the best located hotel for convenient shopping.

Granted, Shibuya has hotels too, but they are not as nice as the Pen. Rooms are luxurious, with well-thought-out amenities, and comfortable beds. Even standard rooms have a sofa and coffee-table facing a large flat-screen TV, and a roomy walk-in wardrobe with dressing table.

Service is professional and friendly, and food is great, although pricey. I particularly like their Chinese restaurant, Hei Fung Terrace, and its Cantonese food and courtyard-style decor.
The lobby cafe is modeled on the one in their flagship Hong Kong hotel, and has excellent live jazz music in the late afternoon.

But the shopping! The hotel is located at the start of Ginza, which has been renewed and re-invigorated as a stylish shopping district. The main road is even closed to traffic on Sundays.
International luxury brands are well-represented here, as well as local stores like Uniqlo (largest in the world), a new Barney's New York, which is next to Comme des Garcons' first Dover Street Market outside London.

Fuddy-duddy Mitsukoshi department store has been stylishly made-over, as well as the stunning Hankyu mens store. There is a new Marui store with m10 floors of fashion and food. Top Tokyo labels like Beams, United Arrows, Estnation and Tomorrowland, all have outposts within the sidestreets that branch off the main road, and everything is within walking distance of the Peninsula, so watch your wallet!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madchinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The best thing about the Peninsula is the convenient location, and that the staff are generally pretty accomodating. For my taste, I found that there was too much furniture in the rooms- (I had a suite room) and the asthetics of the decor is not pleasing, generally-speaking.

Peter Restaurant has nice city views- but is also not worth the price. Service was very slow. I would have a drink in Peter Bar (which is cheerfully decorated) and enjoy some bar food, then go out somewhere fun for dinner, such as to a local sushi bar in Tsukiji, or Two Rooms (Restaurant) in Aoyama if you'd like to enjoy Western-style (continental) fare.

The spa is shockingly tiny and cramped, the gym not worth the effort. Massage treatments were average for a Peninsula Hotel (Los Angeles Penainsula is SO MUCH BETTER) and the treatments are way too expensive- even for Tokyo. I would go for an outside massage service such as Alyssa: http:massagebyalyssa.wordpress.com/ Her massage is less expensive, plus she will come to your room- allowing you to relax and fall asleep when your session is over.

The bottom line is that in a city like Tokyo, the Peninsula Tokyo cannot compare to Grand Dame Hotels such as The Imperial Hotel or The Okura. Although both of those hotels have seen better days, they have excellent staff who pay atttention to every detail.

I would say the only (newer ) 5-Star hotel which comes close to the service I require is the Mandarin Oriental. Lovely rooms, well-trained staff, fabulous bar with live entertainment, but the restuarants and spa are also very over-priced-- even for Tokyo.
That's my two cents!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bloggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great hotel (though pricy) and its location can't be faulted because of proximity to Imperial Palace, but also to the subway and the JR lines at Yurakucho. Great pool and hot tub as well, much needed after a day spent walking the city. Also try the iPod walking tour of Hibiya Park and the Imperial Palace, available from the concierge. Didn't try Peter or the other restaurants upstairs, but the lobby restaurant is very good (but expensive). Instead we ate at one of the excellent little hole-in-the-wall eateries in "Corridor Street" alongside the Shinkansen tracks nearby . Locals only (but there's an English menu), great food and very reasonable indeed. (Go down Harumi Dori street alongside the hotel, then under the railway bridge, turn right at Game! store). Also, there are loads of little restaurants in the basements of office buildings behind the hotel towards Yurakucho station. Japanese food, and also Japanese versions of Italian and Spanish food. One warning: check-in is 3pm at the Peninsula, so if you arrive early off an international flight they will try to offer you an upgrade for an immediate room. Can be an expensive extra, but worth it if the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed there three nights in early July. I can only echo the raves in other reviews about the staff, location and service, but I can point out some tiny blemishes as well. Think of them as tiny spots on a million-dollar gemstone, please...

* I am a big gadget fan and I still believe this room went overboard on the control panels, having more than 20 that I could count. Some consolidation via touchscreens [akin to Las Vegas CityCenter] would help.
* Not sure why there was no numerical temperature setting, just a few levels of warm & cold.
* The lobby area lacks a private feel. Walking out the front of the hotel feels like walking straight through a busy restaurant. I think some more dividers could help.
* The pool/spa hours for families [9-6pm I was told] are not ideal. I would prefer a mixed weekly schedule so we could at least have 1 evening to swim without disrupting our sightseeing.
* Elevators and some common areas were freezing cold!
* Breakfast is exorbitantly expensive [at least 4000 yen a person]. We did it one morning and it was extremely good, but it is just painful to spend that much money.

Even given these points, however, this is truly an amazing place to stay. Rooms feel comfortable and have an extremely well-thought-out design. You're right above Tokyo Metro and a block from the Yamanote line. Also, the pool/spa areas are stunning. We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joephoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

5 star perfection. High end, plush- best accomodation we have ever stayed in. Greeted by bellman, escorted from front desk to room, given overview of room- from unique operation of coffee maker to use of blinds on windows. Staff was at our beck and call entire week. I cannot compliment this property too much!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed high floor, with great view of Tokyo lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing