We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base to explore tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Base to explore tokyo”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed for 4 nights; as mentioned by other reviewers, the location is excellent as a base to explore tokyo city with the metro right in front of the hotel. We can even come back after lunch and have a nice rest before going out again. Make sure you buy 1 or 2 day metro pass at the hotel reception, great value.

Compact but comfortable and clean rooms. The hotel seems to popular with locals especially groups of school children. Almost every morning we encounter them at the entrance with their bus waiting.

The only inconvenience is travelling between the hotel and the airport; as you will need plenty of time to travel with many interchange of metro and train stations carrying luggage up and down staircases. As we arrive late evening, we decided to stay at hotel near the airport instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat_Wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    547
    130
    18
    16
See reviews for
161
188
198
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end. Overall the experience was very good. Located right next to the Hanzomon metro stop it was convenient to get to pretty any of the tourist attractions in the city within 20 minutes or so.

We booked a room for 3 persons for an average of €95 per night, which was extremely cheap compared to other hotels, especially given that it was cherry blossom season. Our first experience with the hotel was not very good though. We were initially given a room that was clearly a room for two persons maximum, but they still managed to barely fit in an extra bed. This left little to no space in the room to walk and you would literally have to jump over the bed in the middle of the room to get to the other side as it was blocking the whole width of the room. We were not very happy to say the least, since it was sold to us as a three person room. The next day we managed to fix this at the reception. They were very nice and understanding about it and all our luggage was moved to out new corner room, which was much bigger. Bathroom in both rooms was the same; small but adequate. Assuming that we would get the same room next time, we would definitely stay here again. Don't settle for the tiny room you will probably initially receive when you book a room for 3 adults.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both room 806 and 206, which were both quiet corner rooms and significantly bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirroRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed in two different hotels during a 8 day trip in Tokyo. Selected this hotel for the first 3 nights due to very good experience in their sister hotel in Kyoto. Declined the offer to upgrade for additional Yen1000 per night as wont stay in room except when sleeping. Bathroom is slightly bigger than those in business hotels. Location is excellent. There are post office, police stations,cheap noodle eatery (next door), convenient store, a not so big super market (just opened), coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants, etc nearby (all within 5 minutes walk). The streets are somewhat quiet at night but absolutely safe.
Will return to this hotel when in Tokyo in future

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limeh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here recently for a wedding (which was nearby). Very nice staff, breakfast was ample and tasty, clean rooms, quiet sleep - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annecy-Apartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My first visit to Tokyo and we had to get a last minute hotel. I chose this based on the location and reviews on TripAdvisor and got exactly what I expected.

Throughout the stay the staff were very friendly. We needed reception twice once to get an extra pillow (theirs are not comfortable!) and to borrow some umbrellas...no fuss.

The room was fine for us, not a huge amount of storage space as it's a fairly small room but it did the job. TV wise just BBC News but what else do you need? A nice deep bath with a really high pressure water supply which was great for the shower too. The hotel team re-filled everything each night. I liked the addition of choosing to be green by not having your bed changed nightly!

The hotel is directly opposite Hanzomon station (use exit 5). You can get anywhere in Tokyo from there, although we walked on both of our main sightseeing days with no problem, it just depends what sort of tourist you are. There's lots of shops on the main street if you need a bite to eat in the morning.

If I returned to Tokyo I'd probably stay here again, the price was too good to miss for the quality of room compared to every other hotel I looked at in Tokyo.

Room Tip: I've marked average for sleep quality as I found the pillows here unbearable. Maybe I'm just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippy_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stay at this hotel every month, and I have had universally positive experiences. The rooms are always clean, and average size for Tokyo. The breakfast is an excellent mainly Japanese buffet. The best things about this hotel are its location and its price. Hanzomon is a lovely quiet corner of Tokyo, and you can find restaurants, cafes and shops open until 11pm, with a couple that are open 24 hours. The hotel is about a 1 minute walk from Hanzomon Metro station. The price of a room at this hotel is less than half the price you might otherwise pay at a more familiar chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skegness1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
#14 of 74 in Chiyoda
850 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Akasaka / Roppongi
Toshi Center Hotel
Toshi Center Hotel
#24 of 74 in Chiyoda
374 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#22 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing