We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13,000 yen for a triple in Ginza: DEAL!!”
Review of Hotel Ginza Daiei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ginza Daiei
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Us
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“13,000 yen for a triple in Ginza: DEAL!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

GENERAL: If you're in Tokyo, all you need is a place to crash. This is strictly a NO-FRILLS business hotel: old building, no lobby, no restaurant, etc yet unlike the Sheraton, this little, unassuming hotel provides free in-room Wifi! We booked a triple room which was a tight squeeze but we didn't mind. Booked directly with hotel for standard triple room. Rates varied per night from 12,000 - 14,500 per night (US$ 149 to 180).

FOOD: There are plenty of places to eat on the road including 24-hour Family Marts that have ready made Japanese snacks, a Starbucks with large upstairs seating, a McDonalds (I know, I know...). One place you MUST eat is the Matsukasa beef restaurant Yoshizawaon the same road...OMG.. best beef EVER. Order the steak and rice lunch set for something like 2900 yen. Its attached to the butcher shop on the corner as you make your way to the subway (past Starbucks). www.ginza-yoshizawa.com/

TRANSPORT / NEIGHBORHOOD: Several Subway stops are within a few blocks. The main Tokyo train station is within reasonable walking distance (20 minutes) if you are so inclined. Taxi from station about 1000 yen. We liked the Ginza area because it's a calm, quiet, and elegant neighborhood. Didn't want to stumble out into the craziness of Shibuya, etc. You can easily walk to the fish market from the hotel.

If you're okay with a basic room and hotel, this is a very good option. If you want something with ambiance, then you should choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnonUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    51
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
11
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Yes, it is old. But for the price, the location is pretty good. I wasn't going to pay that kind of high prices for a place in Ginza so this was a godsend. Slightly less than 10mins walk from the big dept stores of Ginza and Tsukiji fish market PLUS a smattering of small eateries and cafes near the hotel make this a great choice. And if you are headed for Tokyo Tower, there's the Higashiginza train station about 3mins away. Service was average, partly because I am pretty fuss-free and partly because I thought they could have helped me a little with the Internet for my laptop.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingWei007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I wanted to find a reasonably-priced twin room that is relatively close to Tokyo Station and is accessible to multiple Tokyo Metro lines. Hotel Ginza Daiei met those criteria, and then some! It's a very short walk to both Ginza and Higashi-Ginza metro stations, and just 3 blocks from the Ginza Mitsukoshi department store. Even better, it's a 10 minute walk from Tsukiji Fish Market. There are lots of dining and drinking options just past the doorstep, and several FamilyMarts and 7-11s within a 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself is a basic business hotel, rooms are small and have what looks like a modular bathroom. But the rooms are spotless, the showers work well, and the beds are comfortable. I lucked out and got one of the last non-smoking twin rooms, but my friends who had to book a smoking room said they couldn't smell any trace of cigarettes in it.

The receptionists spoke some English, more than enough to help us with checking in and booking the laundry room. One word of advice: the laundry room only has one machine (combo washer/dryer) and must be reserved at the front desk. In all likelihood, it will leave your clothes damp in the end, so be prepared to hang your laundry to dry in your room.

Weak dryer aside, my stay was really nice and surprisingly cheap for Ginza. I've already recommended Daiei to some friends planning their own visits to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

THis place is a one minute walk to the center of Ginza, close to 3 different subway lines and the Yamanote line. Go with the deluxe room, not much more and you get much nicer bed, huge TV and nicer bathroom. There is absolutely no view from the rooms but there is so much to do and see nearby, this is just a crash pad. There is a multitude of excellent, reasonably priced restaurants and bars all around the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed here 3 nights having booked the Designer Double Max room through Rakuten. Room size was 18 sq metres and cost us 13,000 yen per night.
Room was very comfortable and well furnished. It's also quiet as Guests are encouraged to be as quiet as possible in consideration of each other. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
There is only one coin laundry machine which both washes and dries so you may need to book it if wishing to do laundry. The full cycle costs 400 yen and is supposed to take 90 minutes though it took about 2 hours when we used it. The hotel has an english language website www.ginza-daiei.co.jp/english
It's a 10 minute walk to JR Yurakucho Station. The subway is only a couple of minutes around the corner. Tsukiji Market and Hama-Rikyu garden are within easy walking distance.
Convenience stores are close to hotel and the area is dotted with lots of small restuarants. A slightly expensive but really nice one is called Dainoji. It is situated below street level but is easily recognizeable by the words "Cackle and Oink" written under the sign above the stairway entrance.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Ok firstly, the hotel is fantastic. It is right in the heart of Ginza which to me is like teh Manhattan of Tokyo. You literally have to navigate your way through brand name buildings of Cartiers, Louis Vuitton, chanel etc. The location is fantastic, easy 3-4min walk to 3-4 major subway lines. The hotel even cheekily let us check iin early. We got the night bus in and just walked from Tokyo Station, 8-10min walk. Starbucks, McDonalds, 7-11, am-pm, Family mart, The Tokyo Fish market are all within a 3-10 min walking radius. The hotel itself has a fridge in everyroom, radio, TV free internet, A good proper Bathroom and actual proper Twin rooms. The service was fantastic and polite. EVerything was changed everyday! We paid about 35GBP pppn in a twin room so about 70GBP per night for the room booked through Rakuten.
I would surely recmmmend the Hotel. Its got plenty of CHEAP (cheaper than Osaka) eateries and japanese retaurants close by. I could not find any drawbacks abotu staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavytravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

strategic location, friendly staffs and easy access to metro.
the room is not spacial but enough for those who only looking for overnight rather than room pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Keio Presso Inn Higashi-Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Viainn Higashi Ginza
Viainn Higashi Ginza
#31 of 92 in Chuo
174 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#15 of 92 in Chuo
835 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Ginza Takaracho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginza Daiei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginza Daiei

Property: Hotel Ginza Daiei
Address: 3-12-1, Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ginza Daiei 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ginza Daiei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ginza Daiei Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing