We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
isere
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

An excellent hotel and not at all expensive. Perfect for business travel - WIFI, Trouser Press, very helpful staff. A 5 minute taxi ride to TCAT (airport shuttle bus terminal) after waiting only 3 minutes for the taxi to arrive. It's also near Tokyo station (15 min walk or another quick taxi ride).
The room is very well equipped, even with a massage chair (that I didn't test).

I didn’t have time to explore, but the area does seem a little 'business'. I didn't notice a lot of evening animation or night life, or a younger crowd - but I didn't look either.
The Ginza area is very close, so the high end restaurants and shops are certainly not far.

Summary: the hotel is excellent. Perfect for business. I don't know if the location is perfect for tourist travelers. If or when I have business in the area, I’ll go here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthemove360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    102
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
49
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
397 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

about 75 Euros for a single room is not bad in downtown Tokyo. Modern design - has been remodeled 3 years ago with clear design and friendly service. the bathrooms are indeed small but there is a lot of features which are great. Laundry room. Ice on some floors. a lot of details and it was cheapest hotel we stayed at in Japan and the only one with free coffee in room. there is a fridge but not stocked - automats for beverages are on most floors. Very clean, very good bedding. We had a double room with 2 x 160 cm beds, quite convenient. It is located on the H line which takes you in 3 stops to the Ginza area and the entry is just across the street. Another tip: if you exit the hotel to the right, cross the first intersection left and keep on going, first you pass the entry for the subway, then after a pedestrian light, small road, keep going and you'll find a bar with bottle store enclosed which carries - some of it in fridge - wines from a lot of areas. You'll find a NZ Sauvignon Blanc for 1450 - chilled - and can stock the fridge. (bottle opener available at the front desc) Warning: laundry service is expensive and the breakfast not great. Sufficient but not great, there is a bakery not far from the wine bar I just described. Better and cheaper.
will book there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel location is great as it is close to the Hatchobori station (entrance is just across the road) which link directly to some popular tourist area such as Tsukiji Market, Akihabara, Ginza and Tokyo Disneyland (about half an hour). There are also many restaurants and eateries near the hotel and Lawson is just opposite the hotel.

The room is clean, spacious and there is WIFI in the room. The 2 x 140cm (width) beds are comfortable and just nice for my family (2 adults 2 children). The Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and went all out to help us to arrange for transport to airport at short notice.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jungfraujoch88798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here for a week for $120 dollars per night which is less than half the price of the Royal Park at TCAT and is only 2 km away! This hotel has nice clean rooms and excellent, friendly and fast service. The staff speak english and are very helpful. There is a breakfast buffett every morning and you are a 10 minute walk from Starbucks. Wifi in the hotel or a LAN connection is fast and easy. Extra requests for extra sheets and towels were met quickly. 10 minutes walk to the Sumida river which has a great walking/jogging place along the river. Only miss is no fitness room but This is a great deal. Take the bus from Narita to TCAT and get a cab for $8 to the hotel which takes 10 extra minutes. It is also only a 10-15 minute walk from Tokyo station if you come in by train.

Room Tip: Away from the street and higher rooms are quieter. A little street noise but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

With walking distance from Tokyo Station, this is a realy good alternative. Maybe not the most exciting neighborhood, but given the infrastructure in Tokyo its great. Not very crowded, but fresh and clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gell_nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel is the old Holiday Inn. It was a last minute business trip and we were a bit price-sensitive and in need of a Hotel off the Hibiya Train line. This place fit the bill and we were satisfied with the services it presented. There are a couple snag points and things to keep in mind about this hotel.
1. There is no WiFi - all internet is through a hard cable in the room. This means that if you do not bring your own Wireless router (and most sane travels dont) your foreign ipad will be useless.
2. I would not recommend the breakfast add-on option given at the front desk. You prepay for these services and after day 1 you will want to give this breakfast a miss.
3. There is no Gym in the facility or nearby. If a fitness center is extremely important to your travels you will want to stay somewhere else.

So, if you have an expectation of "No Frills" and need a place close to transit this is a great spot and would recommend to any passer-through. (BTW thanks to the women at the front desk, they graciously wrote all my destinations in japanese for me to hand to the Taxi drivers)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Hotel Sardonyx from November 02-05, 2012. It is an easy 10-15 minute walk from Tokyo Station (which I did with baggage in tow). The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, but one can easily access other parts of the city via the subway station that is just steps from the hotel.

The room seemed quite spacious, and the hotel furnishings were very modern. There was a nice desk area, flat screen TV (only one English channel that I could find), and decent sized bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean, quiet, and comfortable. Although I did not interact the hotel staff much outside of checking in and out, I found all of them extremely hospitable. I do not speak any Japanese, and their English proficiency was certainly adequate for all my needs while staying there.

There is a wired internet connection in the room but no wireless access. If you need an adapter to convert your US 3-prong (grounded) plug on your computer or other electronic device, the hotel will loan you one.

Overall, the Hotel Sardonyx offers quality accommodations at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
#13 of 90 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Kyobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#21 of 90 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo

Property: Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo
Address: 1-13-7 Hatchobori, Chuo 104-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chuo
#4 Business Hotel in Chuo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing