We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Great hotel - they're very much standard hotel rooms, reassuringly identical whichever Toyoko Inn you stay at. And they're Western style, with a normal bed and a Western toilet (phew!).

A Japanese breakfast is included and there's a few pastry type things if you can't deal with the thought of rice for breakfast.

Comfy beds, quiet. Good location, close to the subway.

Staff are great and efficient. And the prices are very reasonable.

I'd thoroughly recommend this (and any Toyoko Inn) to anyone staying in Japan.

Also, a tip: sign up for the Toyoko Inn Club Card when you check in. It costs about 1000yen (approx 12 AUD) and gets you 10% off your room (I think... it may be 5%. Either way, you end up making your 1000yen back in a couple of nights). It's a good way to save money, especially if you're planning to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

Affordable with breakfast included. Friendly, some English spoken but don't count on it for all employees. Free shuttle bus to and from Tokyo Station. Very clean and convenient and even though located on a busy street it was amazingly quiet. Drug store next door. I would recommend for visitors on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anndivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Wife and I were there for 5 days/4 nights. Utilized the Tokyo subway for every excursion EXCEPT the Tsukiji fish market tuna auction. With easy access/walk to the S-line of Tokyo subway, and a "Suica" card for instant entry access, this was the most efficient method to see EVERYTHING in Tokyo we desired to see. On the morning we headed to the Tsukiji market at 0400, the S-line on Saturday was closed up at that time. Our plan B was a Taxi which took us to the front of the market.

The Toyoko Inn provided a good Japanese / Continential breakfest with Croissants, rolls, apple filled pastry,salad and sausage. American style coffee in addition to the self service expresso machine served our coffee needs.

Several evenings after a long day of sightseeing, we opt'd for a beer purchase at the local minute mart just 100 ft from the hotel door and due to the small size of the rooms, enjoyed the company of our party in the lobby where the two internet laptops are located.

The Inn has FREE schuttle service to the Tokyo terminal where 80% of the subway and 100% of the JR (Japan Rail) can be obtained. We utilized the schuttle on our last day in Tokyo to transport to Tokyo terminal to catch the Hakatari line to Kyoto. Schuttle runs approx every 30 minutes.

The rooms are small but clean and the hotel is located in a VERY quiet residential type section of Tokyo. There was a major (4 lane) road in front of the hotel but we did not hear/it did not bother us.

During the 5 day stay, we did not encounter the same front desk clerk. While each was as helpful as they possibly could be, the level of spoken and understood English went down as the stay progressed. We did NOT encounter ANY progblem with any staff, just some were more productive for us than others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in many Toyoko inn hotels in the greater Kanto area and I have to say that this particular Toyoko Inn has the best staff! The front desk clerks were very courteous and helpful; unlike a few other busier Toyoko Inn hotels' cold and borderline rude staff.
The best thing of all was the hidden gem of a neighborhood. Ningyocho is part of Nihonbashi. It's a very old town with small but beautiful temples/shrines hidden in alleyways and unexpected corners. It's recommended to walk around the neighborhood without any destination in mind and just soak up the tranquil atmosphere. I assure you that you'll find pleasant surprises along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Neat and clean rooms, internet access, good breakfast! Its a nice hotel if on a business trip. Located near a train station and plenty of Indian/ continental/Japanese restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Sujata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Traveled with wife and 2 young children - ages 7 and 5. Was basically looking for a cheap and conveniently located hotel. Having heard good reviews about the Toyoko Inn chain, wanted to book the ones at Ueno/Asakusa, but they were fully booked. So had to settle for this one and what a find it was!

Location wise, it's about 300m walk from the A2/A3 exit of the Nihon-bashi Ningyo-cho station of the Hibiya line of Tokyo Metro. Along the way to the hotel, there are about 4-5 restaurants, 1 family mart and one 24 hours convenience store. The station is about 2-4 stations away from Ueno station, Akihabara and Tsukiji market and 5 stations from Ginza station, which makes it rather conveniently located. The station is right along Amazake-yokocho, which is a very pretty street of traditional Japanese sweet shops and nice eateries. At night, both sides of the street are lined by charming lighted paper lanterns. Right next to the hotel, there's a restaurant serving delicious Korean charcoal barbecue that's filled with local Japanese and a nice gyoza restaurant that serves 10 gyoza for only 290 yen.

Facilities wise, the rooms are very small but spotlessly clean. The twin room came with 2 beds of 1.2m x 1.95m, which could be pushed together. Sleep sharing for young children is allowed so the 4 of us could sleep quite comfortably on a giant bed of 2.4m x 1.95m. Night gowns and toiletries are complimentary. Simple breakfast of rice cakes / bread / miso soup / coffee / tea / water is included. Internet access at the lobby is free and they didn't even charge me for printing my boarding passes.

Piecewise, I paid 24500 yen for 3 nights of twin room, including 1500 yen for the Toyoko Inn club membership, which granted immediate 20% off regular room rates.

The only downside to this hotel? The staff speak limited English and extra pillows were not available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leedon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions on our recent visit to Japan - October 2008. Its location was excellent as it was a few minutes walk from the local Ningyocho Subway plus about a 10 minute walk from the TCAT terminal. We caught the Limousine Bus (about AU$30) from Narita Airport to TCAT then walked to the hotel.

It was excellent value for money - about AU$95 a double with breakfast - miso soup, choice of rice cakes, pickles, coffee/tea. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable - western style with a queen bed, table & 2 chairs, room under the bed for your suitcases, TV, bathroom with bath/shower, toilet etc.
We wanted to stay in the Ningyocho area as there are many good inexpensive eating places around here. Close to Ginza as well - only a few stops on the subway.

We ended up staying in several of these Toyoko Inns as we traveled around Japan as they were extremely good value for money and in great locations. They also have laundries with coin in the slot washing machines and dryers plus drink machines & free internet access. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Nishitetsu Inn Nihonbashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Toyoko Inn Nihonbashi Zeimusho-mae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa  Inn Nihombashi Ningyocho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Hokke Inn Nihonbashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho

Address: 1-10 Nihonbashi Kakigaracho, Chuo 103-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: £54 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Tokyo Nihombashi Ningyocho Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing