We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for JR-pass holders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality lodging in Chuo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for JR-pass holders”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hostel is situated in a quiet area in Tokyo very close to two JR stations, which makes it really convienient to use as a base when exploring Tokyo and surroundings. The hostel was clean and the staff was very helpful. It is a busy place, which on one hand gives you an opportunity to meet a lot of people and on the other hand can get a bit anonymous. It seemed liked there were quite a few people staying there long term as well.. The deluxe cabin beds were rather practical, giving you a bit of privacy and you could also lock all your belongings in there. Not soundproofed though and the dorm is rather big with people coming and going all through the night. There is a rapid train from Narita Airport which goes directly to the JR station just around the corner from the hostel, which is so convienient when arriving to Tokyo. You can avoid passing through Tokyo station (which is only two stations away) and you do not need to make reservations for the train. Just check the time table since it runs about once per hour. The area is quiet as said, which can be a relief when taking in all different impressions in Tokyo, but it also means you might want to go elsewhere in the evening. I found the standard pretty good for being a Tokyo hostel, just be aware that there is no elevator and the cabin beds are on fourth and fifth floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    94
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
34
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I loved this hostel. It is the perfect place to stay it is walking distance from the subway and the JR. So if your traveling it is easy to get around also it's the middle of most major tourist attractions. My favorite thing about the hostel was the people and the beds. It is small bunk but it is closed off so you have about the same privacy you would have if you had your own. Room each bunk has a light and outlet so you can charge and relax. Great place only downside is it's a very popular hostel so book in advance

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alopez365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I luckily got a last minute reservation at the Khaosan Tokyo Ninja. As it is a hostel, you know you're not staying at the Ritz however, this is one of the best hostels in which I have ever stayed. The staff is so friendly and courteous. There was no problem that I didn't speak any Japanese. As a girl traveling by herself, I felt very safe and comfortable here. The staff gave me very detailed directions on how to get everywhere which were so helpful. Otherwise, I would have been 100% lost. The "capsule" beds are not bad. I was hesitant at first but it's pretty comfortable. My only complaint is that it got to be pretty hot in there because there didn't seem to be much airflow once I closed my door. There are lockers where you can secure your things-- it fit my medium sized backpack. The showers were so great and the bathrooms were very clean. Also, the location was very easy. I flew into Narita and took the subway in- couldn't have been simpler. Everything you want to do is right near here. A great hostel with a fun feel that won't break the bank. I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oconns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

You sleep in a big box. It's awesome. Super clean comfortable and very friendly. We really wanted a hotel where we could sleep in the little stacked box bunks safely!! Not only was The Ninja hotel safe it was easy to access the city. We were only in town for three days and it really was the cherry on an awesome cake. I mean its called 'The Ninja Hotel', you expect awesomeness and it didn't disappoint!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneblondejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My almost 2-month trip to Japan a few of months ago ended here, Khaosan Ninja was my last stay before going Narita Airport.

As my trip was a mix of business + vacation, during some days I left my big suitcase in my office and going around with smaller hand carry baggage, and therefore I stayed in Khaosan Original & Annex without any issue, but I need to gather all my luggage together before my flight back, and the private room option of this Khaosan Ninja caught my attention.

Same as all other Khaosan series guesthouse, Ninja still offered me a stay with very decent pricing, comparing with capsule Inn I stayed in Nagoya, Ninja was only a little bit higher, but with a private room for me!! Yes there was a bunk bed inside my room but that's my private room!! I can easily to have some space + privacy to re-organize all my luggage before flying back home.

Ninja was pretty new compared with Original & Annex, all facilities looking new, and there were a bit more toilet/bath space for tenants, I don't really need to queue up most of the time.

In terms of location, it's near Bakuracho JR station, transportation is not really a problem, but that area is also not the same as where Original/Annex, not much food option, so I would say pretty much that's only good for sleep, but I don't mind as it'll be only 1 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EdwardWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Super clean hostel with a convinient location for the train stations. Had a twin room which was really too small for 1 let alone 2. However saw that the next doora twin was bigger so may have been bad luck. Common area is nice and the staff very helpful. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came to this place on the first night in Japan and it was a pleasant surprise. Very friendly staff and pretty clean and user friendly for a hostel !

There were a bunch of us guys using a whole floor of rooms so they were pretty accommodating

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
#18 of 64 in Taito
48 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#4 of 64 in Taito
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Irori Nihonbashi Hostel and Kitchen
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality lodging in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing