We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality lodging in Chuo
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at great value”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at Khaosan Ninja Tokyo for 5 nights in May 2014 in their capsule bed. What I liked most about the capsule bed is it offers lots of privacy. It's good that they provide a key for the capsule so that we can lock our stuff inside when we go out. The free wifi was really great - signal was strong. Staff spoke a decent, comprehensible level of English so communication was not a problem. I also love the location - within walking distance to Asakusa and Ryogoku. Near the subway station - about 25 min train ride to Shinjuku and Shibuya. Quite a number of eateries and convenience stores nearby too. No curfew either.

However the flooring is extremely hollow - could always hear people walking around the room / going to the toilet at night. This could be a problem for light sleepers but not for me! The capsule also tends to get really stuffy if it's entirely closed so I'll open a portion of the door when I'm sleeping (just make sure you lock up all valuables to play safe!). I had an issue with the showers though. They were clean but always had a problem adjusting the right water temperature as the water either gets slightly too hot or cold.

Nevertheless, still a pleasant stay for the price! Will definitely be my choice stay again if and when I return to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Request for a capsule bed which is further inside the room (and not near the room entrance) as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    94
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
34
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for a few nights. The best thing about this place was the staff. Hands down, the friendliest, and most helpful hostel staff I've met. One day we had a mix up with tickets we bought, and they hand wrote a page in japanese explaining our situation so we could get refunded.

The capsule bed was actually really comfy. Just make sure to keep the door open and windows open a crack, otherwise it gets really hot.

Bathroom and showers were great, and clean.

Only issues was that we didn't realize it would be so far away from most of our siteseeing. Also, the elevator issue's been mentioned before.

Ask the staff about where to eat. There's some great places around the station!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Strategic location as it is very near to JR Asakusa Station , it only takes 3 minutes walk. The staffs are very friendly, the facilities are great for a backpacker hostel. Highly recommend as it is really very affordable!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeezhen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good hostel in good location near Akihabara and the staffs was really friendly. My only 2 complaint is the Stair and the room sometime get humid. The worst one is the stair and I stayed at 5th floor. It very tiresome to go up and down. They do not have elevator which it not handicapped friendly. I have to leave my big heavy luggage on Reception because it too heavy to carry it up and not enough room to storage luggage in dorm room. The deluxe bed where it had a slide door locked is really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbf3562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After staying in Kyoto Theater, we travelled to Tokyo. Naturally, we chose the sisters' company Khaosan Ninja. The place is kind of old as compared to Kyoto theatre (may be due to the fact that Kyoto Theatre is a new branch). They have a lounge area and kitchen in the basement. Perhaps, the only negative point would be that there are no lift. I stayed on the 5th level, imagine dragging your baggage up to the fifth level. Nonetheless, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomkendall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Ninja staff are the friendliest I've encountered out of the Khaosan group of hostels so far. Thumbs up for them.

Stayed in the capsule style dorms as it seemed interesting. Its great on privacy but the downside is that being boxed-up, it gets really warm after awhile. Bathroom and toilets are relatively clean. However, the trash bins are always full during my time there. Might be great if staff could clear them on a more regular basis.

Location is great. Hotel is around 5min walk to the JR station and easy to locate. A big plus for JR pass holders.

Wifi signal is strong and stable which is a big plus for me.

Overall, I would come back again next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oolongmilktea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Oh Khaosan Hostels, you're so great. During the whole month I spend in Japan, my accommodation couldn't be better than in any of the Khaosan hostels I stayed in. This one in particular in well located, near train and JP station. Nice restaurants around, basement commun area is great to meet other overseas and local travellers, 7/11 not far away by foot. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
#19 of 63 in Taito
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#4 of 63 in Taito
224 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Irori Nihonbashi Hostel and Kitchen
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Ninja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
Address: 2-5-1 Nihonbashi Bakurocho, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality lodging in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Ninja 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 300 ft from JR Bakurocho Station, 1000 ft from Asakusa-bashi Station, Khaosan Tokyo Ninja features a stylish shared kitchen and free-use internet terminals. The air conditioned rooms have bunk beds and free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hostel are non-smoking, and bathrooms are shared. Bed linens are included, and towels are available for a small fee. Private lockers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Hotel Chuo
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing