We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but Tokyo hotel rooms are so small!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but Tokyo hotel rooms are so small!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights here... After the first two hotels in Kyoto and Osaka, the room here seemed soooo tiny! However, recounting my previous stays in Tokyo hotels, Ryumeikan was... ok in comparison.
Location - Perfect. From Tokyo station, look for the Yaesu North exit (as the hotel website instructed). Get out to the main road, look across the road, to your left and look for a letter "R" at the top of the buildings. Easy to find. If you get out at Nihonbashi station, go out by exit A3 (no elevator here though). Go straight and turn left. The hotel is just around the corner. Family mart is just next door. Location wise, two thumbs up.
Staff - very friendly, very helpful, excellent English. Faultless.
Room - sigh... so small! Difficult to find space to open two pieces of luggage. But as I mentioned earlier, that's how Tokyo hotels seem to be like (for this price range, that is). Nonetheless, room has well connected wi-fi, and vending machines are situated on most floors, in case you need that drink real quick... Very thoughtful. Shower is really good and toilet is stocked with amenity kits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northern_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    371
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
247
506
160
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Only a couple of blocks walk from Tokyo Station, this is a very comfortable and quiet hotel. The room was spacious, which is unusual in Japan, and nicely furnished, with a good view. Internet was free. There was a small fridge, which I like for drinks and snacks. A Japanese breakfast is available, and there are numerous restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfMomof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here on the last leg of a ski holiday in Japan.
we arrived late, check in was a breeze, we were actually quite amazed with the condition of the hotel, they were great. I've stayed on some of the big 5 star hotel in tokyo for biz trip and this hotel is not far from their standard less the bathroom and size.
Room service was great, the room went back to original state after we arrive from our daily trip out which is great as we really need to sleep.
Staff service was also great. Big thanks for the front office staff who helped us with our luggage and taxi at 4 am in the morning.
I definitely highly recommended this hotel for anyone looking to stay around Tokyo station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtandase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This does not feel like a budget hotel - though that seems to be the category it is put in. It is double the price of places like the Toyoko Inn chain and it is up to you as to whether it is worth the money.

Location: Easy walking distance of Tokyo JR station (turn left out of the Yaesu North Exit and it is a short way on the other side of the road near a Family Mart) and B5 (and other exits) from Otemachi subway station. The lobby is on the 15th floor and the rooms below that. It was easy to walk to Ginza and the Imperial Palace from the hotel.

Overall: great style and good quality of decor throughout - it feels like someone actually thought about this design as a simple modern hotel. The security seems to have been thought out somewhat as you need to place your key card against the panel to access any floor except the lobby / restaurant.

Check In: efficient and in reasonable English although they seemed phased by the fact my friend was arriving later. They would not issue two keys until he had presented himself at reception. The room was not ready at the check in time of 2pm and they were very apologetic but it was by 2:10 - so who is to complain.

Room: small but bigger than Tokyo budget standard - window was facing another building about 10 feet away but again usual for this class of hotel. Modern, clean room and well furnished. Outstanding points (for me): a Nespresso machine in the room with 8 capsules to use for 2 people and a great, powerful shower. Downside: no bath (my partner is Japanese and loves to have that). Weird: the bed. They talk about this sleep system. You push in your wake up time and then press start - soft music plays and the bed vibrates in time to the music. You don't have to do this but what the heck - I gave it a go. The wake up is the lights coming on gently with bird song playing.

Restaurant: don't know because at 2,500 yen for a buffet I didn't pay for it. There is a chain coffee shop near the front door that does a set breakfast for 450 yen.

Nice for a kind of half romantic stay just before Christmas - not sure I would pay the money for this to stay alone.

Room Tip: They have non smoking rooms which really are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel Ryumeikan in Tokyo should be commended for it is convenience. It’s located very near the Tokyo Central Station and a local 24/7 convenience store. This is one of the best business hotels in the area. The rooms are clean and with very good wifi services. I also noticed that the bed was very conveniently positioned to accommodate a table for breakfast. And the best part was that they had a modern bathroom. I was there for business and I noticed that their writing table has a different architectural feel to it because of the unique curve shaped directing its way to the television. I enjoyed my stay here because of the peace and quiet that I got and not to mention the best located hotel in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Fantastic hotel and 5mins walk to Tokyo station. Very comfortable bed and pillows.

Close to restaurants and local amenities. 15mins walk to Tokyo imperial palace. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very good location, just a few steps from Tokyo Station Yaesu North Exit..... The room we stayed is very small, but very clean. Friendly staff and modern hotel! Recommend!
We stayed in Ryumeikan twice during our trip to Japan. The first time we spent just one night as the other day we were heading to Kyoto. As we had 3 luggages, we asked the hotel if they could keep 2 pieces of our luggage until the next check in and they did not complain about it... We did not have to travel with bullet train carrying all that stuff! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazilian_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,112 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,993 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo

Property: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Address: 1-3-22 Yaesu, Chuo 103-0028, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
#2 Business Hotel in Chuo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing