We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sushi!”

Tsukiji Sushisay Honten
Ranked #31 of 7,983 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Kapolei, HI
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was, by far, some of the best sushi we had our entire (4 week) trip. We found it on Trip Advisor, after our Tsukiji market experience was winding down, and waited a short time in queue for fabulous fresh sushi. They have 2 floors, we went up the very narrow staircase to the 2nd floor. Easy atmosphere, easy to order (try the "fatty" tuna! Oh my goodness, it melts in your mouth!). Price is good by Japanese standards. There are lots of sushi places to choose from at Tsukiji Market -- I am so grateful for the TA reviews that led us here. We are still talking about it a couple of months later......that should tell you! We loved this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Eel and squid were superb”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

You will be rubbing shoulders with local folks. And most nobody will bat an eyelid over your presence. The best thing going about this place is the super cheap sets and burst of colours when the chef prepares them before you . Freshness...well, if you go on a Sunday when Tsukiji market is closed, I can't really fault them. What I found superb was the raw squid and the ultra boney eel...best I've ever had.Service par excellence

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuliWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“The place where eat sushi”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you have planned a visit to Tsukiji fish market your desire to eat sashimi and tasting sushi will be at the highest level.
There are two options: or try to eat at one of the sushi restaurant inside the market or cros the gate and stroll through the narrow streets around where there are tens of sushi restaurant and food shops.
If you follow the first option prepare to queue for at least 30 minutes and more because there are very few restaurant inside.
In the second case the queue is a probable option, but jit can be lighted considering that there are plenty of choices.
Probably the best of these ones is this restaurant, one of the oldest of the fish market area.
Reservation is not an obligation but an intelligent option as the premises are very small.
At the street level there is a room with around 20 places. At the first floor, after climbing very steepy and narrow stairs, there are two tables that can host around ten people and a kaiten that allows the same.
Narrow spaces (whose the narrowest is the toilet, smaller than an airplane one) will not disturb the superbe experience to eat one of the best sushi and raw fish of the world, of course directly coming from the market.
The choice is not so wide, there are around 20 kind of nigiri, a couple of maki, some sashimi in combination with sushi.
On the nigiri side, there are three kind of tuna divided on fat basis. The fattest one is an experience close to paradise (cost around 550 yen, 3 euros for one piece absolutely honest). Then urchin, squid, octopus, crawfish, mackerel, herring, etc..
Miso soup was also incredibly tasty.
Staff very kind and attentive and making their best efforts to understand some badic words in english ( the same problem in whole Japan).
Prices are absolutely affordable, or better...really low... For a two people meal that leaves you truly full the bill was around 3.000 yen (20 euros)... That is nothing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Also known as Sushi Sei”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stuck in Tokyo because the Nagano Shinkansen was blocked by snow, what else to do but eat sushi? Our friend recommended this as a good value sushi restaurant, and we are very glad he did.

We arrived just in time to get 2 of the 20 places at the counter for dinner. I think there is seating upstairs. The place was more or less packed the whole time we were there, with a steady turnover. Staff are young and friendly and speak English, and there are English menus. We both went for the 3.500 yen "Omakase" set, and topped up with a few a la carte items. While not of the very highest standards, the standard was high indeed, even more so given the price. All the other patrons were Japanese, and looked to be regulars.

We left so full that we decided to walk back to our hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great sushi option in the outer market”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Sushisay Hoten is only a couple steps away from the tourist information center and has a very distinct looking building among the various shops and stalls, so its not too difficult to spot. Doors open around 8:30, but would recommend getting there a bit earlier to get into line for the first-floor counter. If you have a bigger party, you can have some wait in line to give their names while others can browse the market area around the restaurant. Doors open more or less exactly on time and people are subsequently filed inside.

The counter is small but there are usually 3-4 sushi chefs so service is extremely efficient and food as fresh as can be. The 3500 yen set is ideal for anyone not picky about fish (it will fill you up just enough and you won't argue about the variety), but for those who are more choosy or not as hungry in the morning individual pieces can also be ordered a la carte.

The fatty tuna is a must-try, as the freshness of the tuna is hard to beat anywhere outside Tsukiji and literally melts inside your mouth. Other standouts include the yellowtail and the ebi. One member of our party found the mackerel and eel served with the set meal both too fishy for her tastes, so the chef in charge gave her two pieces of tuna sashimi as an alternative. They are definitely used to having foreigners and gladly made appropriate accommodations.

Would not recommend taking young kids here as the counter area is small and the turnover is quite fast, so they demand efficiency (we were in and out in around an hour). But the sushi and laid-back local atmosphere make this place worthwhile if you want to avoid the craziness of the inner market and eat quality sushi before or after shopping around the outer market.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tsukiji Sushisay Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing