We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, then again for 4 nights after a week traveling. Chosen because it was literally the last hotel in Tokyo on hotels.com for a last-minute booking. I've stayed in better hotels for similar room rates in this neighborhood, would only return if none of the others was available. Location is so-so - Tsukiji area is good (handy to Ginza, Tsukiji has some restaurants open 24/7 which is great for late arrivals), but it's a bit of a hike from Tsukiji station (10-15 min depending on how fast you walk), not great if you have heavy luggage. It's in a quiet street, which is nice but means you need to allow extra time to get a taxi because there's not many going past (front desk will call one). Look it up on a map before you go, it's a bit hard to spot at night. First room was semi-double: small, no natural light (window looked out onto a wall), but clean. Second room was single, similar size but not so clean when. The "eco plan" seems to be just an excuse to skip cleaning (the bottle of water in return for this isn't the most eco-friendly reward). There is only 1 small elevator used by both staff and guests, which is annoying at busy times (e.g. check-out). Front desk staff are friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: Ones on the end of the floor away from the elevator may have a window facing a wall (i.e. no natural...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The room I stayed in at the APA Hotel Tsukiji was TINY. The width of it was literally the length of a long double bed, which itself took up 3/5ths of the room. The bath was also TINY. However, for someone who was on a business trip and only used the room to store my small cabin-luggage in and to sleep, it was more than adequate. If you were travelling with larger luggage, then space would be a real problem and you may find yourself having to step over your luggage to get out the front door.

I loved that there was a coin-operated laundry machine on the premises. And free trousers-press that you can borrow from the common area.

A great 5-mins walk from the Tsukiji station on the Tokyo Metro line, 2 convenience stores just a few doors down for getting emergency anythings, and a delightful bakery just at the entrance to the hotel, which I sometimes bought from for breakfast instead of the (delicious but severely limited option) traditional Japanese breakfast set the hotel provides.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night (~AU180/night through Rakuten travel last minute)

Good:
- short walk to Tsukiji market for auctions, close to Tsukiji station
- comfortable bed
- free WiFi

Not so good:
- small room - no room to open suitcase
- bathroom not very clean

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icecreammochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A typical small size hotel room in japan but well equiped with amenities, i really like the design of the room, its near the tsukiji fish market if you want to see how they sell fresh tuna at early morning, many restaurant nearby, a bit far though from the train station, but its affordable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcheeweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My usual caveat: I speak pretty fluent Japanese so your experience might be different if you don't know Japanese.

Even so, this business hotel does a passable job at catering to foreigners. I stayed here with a colleague for about a week for a work trip. My colleague did not know how to speak english so I translated for him mostly, but the staff at the counter made a valiant attempt at communicating with him in English, and there are handy english instruction sheets in the room for how to use the amenities in the room (phone, wireless, TV etc).

First big warning: the rooms are SMALL. Very small. We took a double room each (and the reception asked us twice in two different languages whether it was just one of us in each room) and it was still pretty small for us. My colleague estimated that the entire room including the corridor and the bathroom was around 3 queen sized beds next to each other.

Second big warning: the beds are really soft. I was a bit worried about it given the previous reviews, and indeed it was a LOT softer than I was used to. The pillows are amazingly sturdy though. I ended up sleeping without a pillow under my head (the sturdy pillow + soft bed would mean my neck would hurt) and on my side with pillows acting as a bolster to help maintain the right posture. My colleague, on the other hand, really loved the soft bed, so I guess it's a hit and miss?

Other points of interest: The room is actually pretty well equipped, what was glaringly missing was 1. space, 2. a safe and 3, an actual closet. You get a bed, a TV with multiple (Japanese) channels, alarm clock, hair dryer, a pretty good desk, mirror (half and full length), mini-fridge with ice box, really good wireless and LAN cable, phone with automated wake up call, electric kettle (more like an air pot), mugs and tea and coffee, two hooks on the walls with four hangers (in lieu of a closet), toiletries (including full sized shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, razor, toothbrush and paste, comb and brush), a fully equipped bathroom (with bathtub and one of them really high tech toilet bowls).

There's also a coin washing machine and ice machine on the second floor. No iron though, do be warned, though they have these trouser presses on each floor.

The area around the hotel is actually nice and quiet, almost residential I would say, but a good spread of cheap and moderate hole-in-the-wall restaurants and food places. There's a bakery just next door which sells the most amazing bread, they close at 7.30PM so we usually finish our meeting, grab a taxi back, and then pop into the bakery before going back to our rooms before they close. Highly recommended. We also, under the recommendation from the front desk, popped into a hole-in-the-wall yakitori restaurant just a few doors down, amazing stuff. There's a 7-Eleven just opposite, a Lawson 100 (convenience store that also sells 100yen store stuff), a genuine mini-supermarket (with fresh produce), a 24-hour make-your-own-bento store around the corner, and if you walk down to the main road, ramen places and yoshinoya. Very convenient for food, and I'm not even talking about Tsukiji Market just nearby.

It's also about 5-10 minutes walk from the subway station Tsukiji which is on the Hibiya line, which gets you to Ginza and to further connectivity.

So I would say if you don't mind it being a little cramped and don't mind your beds a little soft, it's a pretty good and reasonable hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for at least the double bed to avoid getting claustrophobia.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricepapergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at APA hotel. It was a pleasant and comfortable stay. The beds were a little too soft for our liking but nevertheless, had a great night sleep due to all the walking ard in Tokyo.
The staff do not speak much english but good enough to understand each other. The location is great! just 10 mins walk to Tsukiji station (Hibiya Line) and 15 mins walk to Shintomicho station (Yurakcho Line). This hotel is very near to the Tsukiji fish market for those who wants to go there for the early morning auctions.
There is a coffee house just next to the hotel, friendly owners of the cafe serves pretty decent coffee and toast. There are Lawson 100 and Family mart located along the street which sells the most delicious Japanese Bakeries for just 105 yen!! its a steal!! I loved the Cheese Chiffon Cake that i bought abt 20 of it back home!! hahaha~

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there! - affordable without compromising comfort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naeema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It sounded too good to be true... good rate, new hotel, great location to subway and Tsukiji Fish Market and even Ginza.

The beds were the only disappointment, but a major one. It felt like a water bed, very soft and sank right in when you sat or lay in it and I'm no giant!! (110 pounds/50 kilos) Couldn't sleep a wink, and felt too knackered to do anything from lack of sleep... it was a miserable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurydice78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
#17 of 92 in Chuo
211 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Viainn Higashi Ginza
Viainn Higashi Ginza
#27 of 92 in Chuo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Keikyu EX Inn Higashiginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami

Address: 7-10-11 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range: £36 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line "Tsukiji Station" No.1, No.2 exit, 5-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line "Shintomicho Station" No.6 exit, 7-minute walk From Toei Oedo Line "Tsukiji-Shijo Station" A1 exit, 10-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, Toei Asakusa Line "Higashi-Ginza Station" No.5 exit, 10-minute walk ■ 5-minute walk to the Tsukiji Fish Market ■ About a 10-minute train ride to Ginza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing