We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Read a lot about this hotel with complaints of bed too soft, room too small, aircon not working, noisy corridor, smelly room.. well I would say it's really case to case. My experience in tokyo hotel stay has so far been the opposite of wat negative remarks I read online. Because I have expected small rooms in japan and it has proved it.

Rooms are small yes, cos of the limited land there so if u've read neg reviews on small rooms, dun complain and live with it if this is the budget u have for a hotel here. U wan big rooms? Pay for it and stay in places like marriot or hilton or other 4/5 stars. To me, this hotel and for the room we is completely acceptable. We dun bring luggages, only backpacks cos we know we are going to japan!

Soft beds, dirty rooms, noisy corridors? These remarks are from typical tourists who are very particular about the places they stay. Probably they expect too much from a budget hotel. And these are just their own problems. Their level of acceptance are way too low thats why they complain even for tiny bit of noise (oh I could hear the ants crawling outside my room!), tiny bit of dust on the table (oh so much dust on the tv controller!), soft beds? I have nv heard of people complaining bt beds are too soft.. You probably sleep on the floor at home? Staff dun speak English? Is it because u cannot understand their accent? Or might be vice versa? Change ur accent a little bit to suit their level of understanding, it will help both ways.

Anyway.. this hotel looks clean and classy, pretty and very presentable to me. Room is clean and neat. I felt very comfortable the moment I stepped in. I read a review that the hotel is hard to find. Well.. I can't totally agree to that even though I had a hard time locating it . That's just because I came out from the wrong exit! The hotel is quite visible with the name on the high end APA HOTEL. So u will not miss it!

Oh just to mention, the famous market is just a couple of minutes away!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peckss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a one night stay I picked up off of booking.com for $53 USD when my capsule hotel didn't cut the mustard. For $53, the room's a steal- next to Tsukiji, very small room, but comfortable bed for one, nice shower, clean, everything you could need in the room.

One thing I noted is the in-room magazine published by the owners:

http://www.apahotel.com.e.ju.hp.transer.com/magazine/

The opinions of ownership on Japan-China relations are notable (and might be something you might want to look at before you decide to stay here).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eponymous_coward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is a 5-10min walk away from the Tsukiji Fish market. To catch the Tuna Auction, the best bet on time is to reach the market’s Fish Information Center (aka registration / waiting room) before 3.30am. We woke at 3am and walked from the hotel to the registration room, reaching at 3.12am. The Auction is limited to 120 visitors per day. Viewing tickets are issued on a First come, First serve basis beginning at around 3am. The first 60 ticket holders are able to view the auction from 5:25 AM until 5:50 AM, while the other 60 ticket holders can view the remainder of the auction from 5:50 AM until 6:15 AM.

Room is very small and clean. Since it is a 1 night stay, it suits our purpose of being in time for the crazy early auction. After our auction session that ends before 6am, we had a quick bowl of beef ramen by the roadside at the fish market food area. Recommend for max 2 pax per room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night for the proximity of this hotel to the fish market. It is conveniently
located only five minutes away from the Tsukiji stop of the Hibiya line, and a five minute walk in the other direction to the market - very handy considering how early we had to get there in order to queue up for the auction.

We first arrived at 9am but the room was not ready, so we took the opportunity to explore the nearby temple outer Tsukiji fish market which had lots of food shops open. Normal check-in isn't available until later in the afternoon but we took the option of paying an extra 1000yen to check in at 12pm since we were exhausted from all the travelling.

The room is small - remember this is Tokyo - but was most importantly clean. It had all the usual amenities including yukatas and slippers, but no in-room safe which seems to be the norm in japan. Showering was a pleasure as there was no problem getting hot water and the shower head provided a strong jet of water.

No major complaints overall, really - except maybe that the bed was too soft. Light sleepers may find this an issue if you wake up every time your partner tosses and turns. I'd recommend staying here solely for the purpose of getting to the fish market or if you want to be particularly close to Ginza without paying the obligatory Ginza hotel price tag. As part of our pre planned itinerary we stayed in Asakusa, a livelier neighbourhood, for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzy0duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The reason we stay in this hotel because it's near and walking distance to Tsukiji market , so if you need to visit the Fish auction early in the morning this is a good choice of hotel. The hotel itself very clean, small but very neat. Convenient store just opposite the hotel, train station just walking distance and next to the hotel, there is a bakery selling a fresh and very nice bread.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, then again for 4 nights after a week traveling. Chosen because it was literally the last hotel in Tokyo on hotels.com for a last-minute booking. I've stayed in better hotels for similar room rates in this neighborhood, would only return if none of the others was available. Location is so-so - Tsukiji area is good (handy to Ginza, Tsukiji has some restaurants open 24/7 which is great for late arrivals), but it's a bit of a hike from Tsukiji station (10-15 min depending on how fast you walk), not great if you have heavy luggage. It's in a quiet street, which is nice but means you need to allow extra time to get a taxi because there's not many going past (front desk will call one). Look it up on a map before you go, it's a bit hard to spot at night. First room was semi-double: small, no natural light (window looked out onto a wall), but clean. Second room was single, similar size but not so clean when. The "eco plan" seems to be just an excuse to skip cleaning (the bottle of water in return for this isn't the most eco-friendly reward). There is only 1 small elevator used by both staff and guests, which is annoying at busy times (e.g. check-out). Front desk staff are friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: Ones on the end of the floor away from the elevator may have a window facing a wall (i.e. no natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The room I stayed in at the APA Hotel Tsukiji was TINY. The width of it was literally the length of a long double bed, which itself took up 3/5ths of the room. The bath was also TINY. However, for someone who was on a business trip and only used the room to store my small cabin-luggage in and to sleep, it was more than adequate. If you were travelling with larger luggage, then space would be a real problem and you may find yourself having to step over your luggage to get out the front door.

I loved that there was a coin-operated laundry machine on the premises. And free trousers-press that you can borrow from the common area.

A great 5-mins walk from the Tsukiji station on the Tokyo Metro line, 2 convenience stores just a few doors down for getting emergency anythings, and a delightful bakery just at the entrance to the hotel, which I sometimes bought from for breakfast instead of the (delicious but severely limited option) traditional Japanese breakfast set the hotel provides.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
#19 of 96 in Chuo
216 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Viainn Higashi Ginza
Viainn Higashi Ginza
#28 of 96 in Chuo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Keikyu EX Inn Higashiginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami

Address: 7-10-11 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range: £39 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line "Tsukiji Station" No.1, No.2 exit, 5-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line "Shintomicho Station" No.6 exit, 7-minute walk From Toei Oedo Line "Tsukiji-Shijo Station" A1 exit, 10-minute walk From Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, Toei Asakusa Line "Higashi-Ginza Station" No.5 exit, 10-minute walk ■ 5-minute walk to the Tsukiji Fish Market ■ About a 10-minute train ride to Ginza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your APA hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Tsukiji Eki Minami Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing