We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Ginza with quiet rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After a 14-hour plane ride from New York, we arrived at Narita airport in Tokyo, and took a pleasant train ride into the city, arriving at this lovely hotel. We found the staff very accommodating, however their command of English was not great - but we managed to have them do everything we needed during our stay. Our room was small with very little space to place our clothes or luggage. Having said that, we did enjoy our stay there. The room was extremely quiet because the hotel was not on a main street. This was important to use in order to get a good night sleep after a very long trip and an even longer day. The bathroom was very nice, with a shower and tub and a fully automatic Japanese toilet seat that was heated and had buttons to automatically use the bidet that was part of of the seat. The room was immaculately clean.
The location was excellent. We stayed in the Ginza section of town with large department stores everywhere. The subway was only several blocks away. This convenience allowed us to travel all over Tokyo with ease. Using the subway system was a snap after learning how their ticketing system works.
We had them hold and transfer our bags to our next hotel in Kyoto because we were going to an out of the way Ryoken in Hakone for 2 days, and did not want to be burdened with all of our heavy luggage on the train to Hakone. We just packed enough clothes for two nights and carried that with us. When we arrived in Kyoto days later, our luggage was waiting for us at the hotel. The Japanese are extremely efficient.
I rated this hotel a 9 out of 10. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet. Good location after long flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank AppletreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Solaria is in a great spot in Ginza. Room was clean, but very small. Was my first time in Tokyo so I cannot compare, but with a twin bed and my suitcase there was not room for much else. The price was very reasonable. Strictly a business-style hotel. No pool, no fitness center.

One note, no concierge, and the staff have very little knowledge of the area. Asked for directions for a particular noodle house. Receptionist drew us a route on the map that required about ten blocks of walking. No restaurant there. Turns out it was literally across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed seven nights in a twin room. The room was not overly spacious and lacked drawers or shelves to put your clothes, which meant we kept part of our clothes in the suitcase thus having less floor space. The room itself is spotless, stylish and the bathroom has some nice amenities. Housekeeping did a perfect job so no complaints here. The system to make yourself a fresh cup of coffee is pretty ingenious and the ground coffee was of good quality.

The breakfast had two hot items which alternated and the other items were the same every day.
Quality of the food was excellent, service fast and staff friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast, but think that guests that stay longer might want some variation.

Frontdesk staff is polite and quite a few spoke English well. Some days we were greeted when we entered, some days we were not.

Location is excellent with a short walk to the subway and to shops and restaurants. The free wifi was blazing fast.

When one paid attention to the details like the elevator key system, the lighting and decoration it is clear that this is an upscale hotel. Although more non Japanese stay in the hotel, the atmosphere was very much Japanese: extremely polite and perhaps a bit distanced.

There were however building activities going on that spoiled one mornings sleep. No use asking for another room, as all the larger rooms were facing the same side. Since it happened only one morning it did not influence the rating.

When returning to Tokyo we will certainly consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The twin rooms are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solaria-hotel-ginza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us SOLARIA NISHITETSU HOTEL GINZA.
In addition, thank you very much for your words of praise about the room you have stayed, the breakfast of the restaurant, and the stuff of our hotel as well. We are very glad to hear you had a nice stay, and we hope you enjoyed the trip to TOKYO also.
I’m sorry about the room does not have enough space to put your clothes and stuff. We will make your opinion as a reference for the future. We appreciate for your pointing it out.
Also, we really apologize for that the noise of the construction disturbed your sleep. However, it is very nice to hear that you will consider staying at our hotel if you have a chance to visit TOKYO again. We are sincerely waiting for your coming back.
Thank you very much and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As all other reviews suggested, this is an excellent choice at the very reasonable (Tokyo) price.
only 3-4 min walk to Ginza metro where 3 lines pass through. many restaurants and shops around.
staff friendly, rooms clean, rooms are of course small for western size but that is Tokyo. everything is very practical and functional in the room.
only comment: wifi is a bit slow

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mashtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have chosen this hotel because of the location, stayed there 2 nights - the receptionist spoke very good English at check-in, BUT the next day there were another receptionists and seemed they did not understand anything!! I had to make a local call from the room to discuss a meeting in Tokyo- it is IMPOSSIBLE! You must buy a telephone card that is rather complicated for even DOMESTIC call! Nobody helps to deliver luggage to the room - I had to carry 2 large suitcases myself. Rooms are very small.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marusya757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solaria-hotel-ginza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comment this time.
We are sorry for the inconvenience to you by our poor English and communication skills.
We have realized that our hotel services are limited. We will try to increase it.
And We hope that We will serve you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent location in Ginza. The location is between two subway stations, making access to any points around Tokyo extremely easy. The price point cannot be beat. We stayed in a room with two twin beds. The room is of reasonable size. Keep in mind the rooms in Japan are generally built to accommodate people of Asia, not plus sized people from the West. That being said, the bath and shower is really well built and quite large. The shower does not have to be stepped up into like a tub which makes it great for those with physical limitations. The room comes with a safe, fridge, and pants press. The closet is large enough to accommodate two people comfortably, unlike other hotels in Japan. The staff was very friendly and extremely professional (another common trait in Japan). Even with limited English they manage to communicate very well. In the many times we've been to Japan, for the price, this has to be one of the best hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure to select a room with two twin beds. The double room is quite small and cannot accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glen808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solaria-hotel-ginza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us this time.
And you have sent many comments for our hotel., We appreciate it very much as well.

Our hotel will have been built for just 3 years next month.
We have served many guests and we have learned many things as well from guests.
It’s about service, facilities, and so on.
We have changed them, to be better for guests through guest’s opinions and ideas.
We promise we will do our best anytime that our hotel will be able to make guests happy.
We are looking forward to serving you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Rooms:
Clean, small, but functional. Wifi kept kicking us off randomly for no apparent reason. Beds were somewhat hard but surprisingly comfortable anyway. The A/C settings were all in Japanese but when we figured it out it all worked fine.

Location:
Near to both JR and the metro. There are many restaurants and shops near by; if you want Kobe Beef I can recommend Gyu-An.

Most of the shopping around the hotel was high-end and basically all the same stuff we can get at home (cheaper) anyway, so on our next trip we would not pick the Ginza area. We ended up doing most of our purchases in Akihabara, Ueno and Shinjuku, where we found less "fancy" stores that were more to our taste.

Family Mart right across the street, but you might want to walk to the Hanamasa to get your food items and drinks way cheaper.

The Access Narita bus (http://accessnarita.jp/en/home/) was very cheap and easy way to get to the hotel.

Breakfast:
Almost the EXACT same breakfast every day. The only difference was the rice dish of the day (hot). Very limited "western" options, and mostly cold food only (various salads). The restaurants is pretty small but we managed to avoid any waiting.
After a few days we regretted paying for the breakfast at all (on top of the already very pricy room rate). I would say the breakfast was the most disappointing part of our stay.

In summary: It was alright, but you can probably get something similar at a lower price if you pick one of the other areas of Tokyo (Shinjuku, Shibuya) instead.

Tip: Get a b-mobile visitor SIM card for your phone. Getting around was so much easier using Google Maps, which can also give you metro routes and prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elqueffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solaria-hotel-ginza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your consice, clear and positive comments on us on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our product and service.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again and make of your next stay a better one. Please let us know when you want to come back, we will be delighted to welcome you and make you feel at your ease again at SOLARIA NISHITETSU HOTEL GINZA.

Please accept my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Ginza
Tokyu Stay Ginza
#7 of 96 in Chuo
209 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#26 of 96 in Chuo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza

Address: 4-9-2 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#5 Business Hotel in Chuo
#6 Family Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: £113 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel location is the heart of Ginza famed for its excellent shopping area.We are looking forward to serve you with fashionable building exterior and clean room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing