We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, run-down room, average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was generally friendly with a Japanese female staff who looked a bit pissed. The room size was a little small. A few parts of the wall has black marks on it. The location is quite good as it is a 15 min walk to Tokyo station. I would say it is a 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frastvicbrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good location, just <1 min walk to Ginza subway station, few minutes to the center of Ginza shopping mall. I request for upper level and it is very quiet. Room is very small but is is acceptable in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0JLJLJL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Compared with Shinjuku or Ueno or most neighbourhoods in Tokyo, Ginza area is compact and shops are within walking radius. So Hotel Monterey is close to restaurants, shopping, etc in Ginza. You cannot fault with its location. But the hotel rooms and the lobby area are all tiny. Even though I booked for a double, there is barely any space to put 2 luggage in the room. The hotel is close to Antique Mall Ginza which does not open until after 11am. There are plenty of Italian restaurants here. There is no real supermarket in Ginza to buy bentos or take-away-food (there are gourmet specialty food joints at basement of department stores but they are pricey). Luckily, there are many convenience stores around here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I'm really enjoy the location that very close to Ginza!! I got pretty much time to do some shopping there!! And it's also convenient to go to the airport!! I'll be there to spend more time next time if there's cheaper offer there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorismeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived with a booking for a double room for 3. Upon entering the room we decided that wasn't really going to work out, and ended up paying for an extra single room to fit us all. It's not the biggest place we've seen, and if we had looked around we'd probably have found bigger rooms elsewhere. However it's extremely clean, very quiet, and had everything we needed for our trip to Tokyo. The metro is just around the corner, and you can get to Tokyo station fairly quickly which made getting around incredibly easy. It's also walking distance from a great selection of department stores and shops, as well as the The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo, and the Imperial Palace gardens. The staff we're helpful in giving us extra pillows and bandaids for our battered feet. Overall I would recommend a stay if you're staying for convenience and wanting to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms, they're extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As the other reviews state, the room was very small, but well-appointed. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious and I considered keeping my luggage there as there wasn't any room outside other than the bed. The bed was comfortable and the blackout curtains kept away the noise and light. The hotel itself is well kept and clean...the only downside is that that the staff speaks no English at all. There weren't even English maps available at the front desk. It was impossible to get directions, restaurant recommendations, hours and opening times of tourist attractions or help with anything at all. In all my travels around the world, this is the first time I've ever encountered this in a cosmopolitan setting. That's not to say the staff wasn't perfectly polite and attentive...they were and we had no problem getting a taxi or an umbrella...but that's it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in double room.
The room was extremely small even by Japanese standards.
Very inconvenient and uncomfortable.
The location is very good but the hotel itself should not have more than 2 stars

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#15 of 94 in Chuo
843 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
Hotel Sunroute Ginza
#14 of 94 in Chuo
195 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
HOTEL UNIZO Ginza-itchome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#30 of 94 in Chuo
473 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Ginza Kyobashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Kyobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza

Address: 1-10-18 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: £69 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Soeur Ginza is designed in the image of a Parisian apartment building, providing guests with a feeling of proximity to the sights and sounds of the colorful city streets around it. Guests can indulge themselves by strolling around the streets of Ginza, doing some shopping, taking in a movie or enjoying a spot of lunch at a chic cafe. We invite you to make yourself at home and spend a relaxing time at La Soeur Ginza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey La Soeur Ginza Chuo
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing