We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsukiji market, massage chair, walking to Ginza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ginza Creston Hotel
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Similar to a recent review, the above sums up the highlights of this hotel.

Tsukiji market - As one has to queue up from 4.30am to get into the auction section of Tsukiji market, the proximity of this hotel is certainly an advantage.

Massage chair - it is addictive after a long day discovering Tokyo. We look forward to coming back to the hotel to try all the different pre-programmed massage functions.

Ginza - while it is located on the quiet and administrative side of town, it only takes ~20 min to walk to Ginza, Tokyo - and the world - shopping paradise. A pleasant stroll if you are not in a hurry.

On the down side, there isn't a lot of eating, drinking options in the area. Even though the office building next door has MacDonalds, Subway and a few chinese and japanese eateries. We will come back to this hotel for the massage chair, its proximity to Ginza at affordable prices (hotels in Ginza would cost much much more !).

If you prefer on-smoking rooms, see my tips below. We had to change room twice, because we were given smoking rooms which have just been cleaned and freshened up instead of strictly non-smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the newer massage chairs. Insist on non-smoking rooms if you prefer so, as the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanku9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed for 10 days at the creston it was in a central location close to tube stations which can take you any where in Tokyo. McDonald if that's you're type of thing but if you go a bit further into the building there was 2 very good Japanese restaurants that I went to which I can recommend. The one thing that I had problems with in Tokyo was using my English debit card from my bank. The only place that I found that I could use it was at 7 /11 which the closest is about 1 minute walk from the hotel I try lots of the banks and ATM and had no joy so if you are using you card go there. Next time I go back to japan I will be going back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stebam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel by the Sumida River. Just sit in the massage chair and enjoy the view outside the window. The hotel is close to Tsukiji fish market. You can call a taxi to get there, and the price is affordable. A post office is located on the ground floor. Convenient for buying stamps and mailing postcards.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank ftls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spacious twin room with Panasonic massage chair with a beautiful view of Tokyo Bay, Tsukiji and Sumida River! Room was similar in size to rooms at Shibuya Excel Tokyu Mark City which costs considerably more yet did not offer the tranquility of St Luke's Garden, proximity to Sumidagawa just downstairs and proximity to the freshest sushi and bara chirashi in Tsukiji which Ginza Creston offers.

Staff were also genuinely caring, and always helpful and took great pride in their roles. They went the extra mile welcoming me with a sweet handmade birthday card in the room!

We were in Tokyo for sumo and made our way to Ryogoku Kokugikan with the clear subway instructions provided by Reception who also helped us with the almost impossible task of making a dinner reservation at the famous and always fully-booked Sushi Sho!

Overall, sincere and excellent service from the friendly and efficient Reception team who speaks English.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with easy access to subway and several coffee shops nearby. I had a nice room with great view to look down the river. Although the room is small but was comfortable with complementary cleaner, toner, and lotion in the bathroom. Staff is friendly. The breakfast was nice too. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

10 days at the Ginza Creston was a most enjoyable experience and worth the expense. They put us on the 38th Flr facing the Sumida River in a room much larger than we had expected. The view more so at night is awesome! The room comes with a massage chair, instructions in Japanese, making using it a hit and miss experience. It also come with a fresh pair of pyjamas each day, which we declined to use but which they kept providing. No coffee is provided only tea and green tea. There is no English channel on TV - just one news channel in English would have been nice, however that said the daily delivered Japan Times in English helped to keep us in touch with what was happening at home. The hotel staff do try very hard to communicate in English. One or two are reasonably fluent. As there was so much food on offer in Tokyo we never got to use the hotel restaurant.
The Tsukiji Station (3 train lines) is a convenient 10 minutes away depending on how fast you walk and only 160Y from Ginza. A 7-Eleven along the way makes picking up supplies on the way back to the hotel easy. Next to the hotel is a MacDonalds (if you can't live without it) and a water ferry stop to Odaiba. Its 600Y one way and worth taking for the river view it gives. At Odaiba there is a free shuttle that does a 30mins city circuit.
NB::::
The water ferry gate is always locked but is opened when the ferry arrives.
The hotel room comes with cable internet. If you ask nicely they may lend you a tiny gizmo that plugs in to the internet cable and power supply to give you Wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Ours was a room with a double bed. I understand there aren't too many of those. Can't speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBroc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On our recent trip to Tokyo we stayed at Ginza Creston for four days. None of the taxi drivers knew where the hotel was, because the hotel has recently changed its name. It used to be Tokyo Shin Hankyu Hotel in Tukiji!

We were disappointed when we checked into our hotel. Two rooms we tried were shabby. Carpet was very very dirty with coffee stains and dirt spots. But, we have a beautiful view of the river from our 9 floor rooms.

The reception and hotel staff spoke very little English, but were very helpful. There is a 7 Eleven and Mc Donalds right next to the hotel and we were very happy for that convenience.

The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the Tukiji subway station and a 15 minute walk from the Tokyo fish market.

We also took the river taxi (boat) from behind the hotel to Asakusa. Our room had a massage chair that we made use every day after a long walk!

Overall we were happy with our stay at Ginza Creston, but we would consider a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#16 of 97 in Chuo
863 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#25 of 97 in Chuo
494 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
APA Hotel Shintomicho Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza Capital Hotel Annex
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginza Creston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginza Creston Hotel

Address: 8 Akashicho, Chuo 104-0044, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Tokyo Shinhankyu Hotel Tsukiji)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: £91 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ginza Creston Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Ginza Creston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginza Creston Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing