We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess it is ok for the price ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I guess it is ok for the price ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I've been in Tokyo last week, with my gf and for this journey, our budget for accommodation was around 75-100 Euros per night in Japan.

I’ve stayed 4 nights in Smile Nihombashi. I guess it is ok for the price I paid –prices of accommodations in Tokyo are really high- but would look for something else if you have to stay more than a night or two.

Location: the hotel is 50 meters from Kayabacho subway station, direct from Tokyo Central station, and 8 minutes in taxi from the Tokyo City Airport Terminal (bus limousine to airports).
You will find lots of restaurants, dinners and coffees near the hotel, just take a look around, they are worth of it.

Room: I chose a double room and had to ask for a change, it was really small and could not have stayed 4 nights and such a small room. They gave me a twin room when available, and sincerely appreciated it (they are the same price).
Rooms are clean enough but need quite a reshape. Thin walls prevented us to have a good sleep as it seemed that neighbors were talking or snoring in my own room!!

Wi-Fi: just available in the lobby!!

Breakfast: did not try it, as it was not included in the room fare.
Service: as everywhere in Japan, and with Japanese people, just perfect. Even if their English is not really clear and fluent (at the end, do you speak Japanese ;)? ) they’ll find the way to give you all the assistance you need. They arranged me a room change without any problem.

Room Tip: If you travel with somebody don't choose double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    132
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
67
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

As most cheap flights into Haneda arr at ab 11pm (Tokyo time), Smile Hotel is suitable for first-time travellers. At Haneda buy a Y2000 Suica card at the card machine near the exit gate.After exiting, turn left and go up the stairs , an hop on the monorail to Hamamatsucho Stn,. The service ends at midnight so you need to hurry from the baggage area.

At Hamamatsucho go down to ground level to board the JK yamanote train into Tokyo Stn. Upon arrival at Tokyo station which is now past midnight and with few commuters left, quickly take theYaesu ( central exit) You're now facing east and there are taxis in queue waiting for customers.

Next option-a). with heavy luggage or children take a taxi to Smile Hotel- the taxi will turn left and then right into Eitai-dori at the traffic junction .After 2 minutes it turns right into Shin-ohashi-dori.
Hurray Smile Hotel is right infront of you. Fare is ab Y800. Second option- walking from the yaesu exit takes ab 15 minutes. If fact it's good to walk after sitting on the plane for 7-8 hours..
Just to remind you, it's safe in Tokyo. If a Penangite from Malaysia can do it, so can you n have a nice trip

Room Tip: Get a quiet room eg Room 973 on a high floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terlim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Smile Hotel for two nights in June 2013. Good location about a mile from Tokyo JR station and near a Metro station. Absolutely tiny room, but comfortable and clean with good shower and air-con. Internet was wired only (wireless in the lobby). Breakfast available but not included. Check-in at 2pm, check-out at 10am - no exceptions. Very little English spoken. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trebic, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The location directly at the Kayabacho Station is very convenient, and makes it easy to be at the Tokyo Station within 10 minutes for 710¥ by cab. There are several eateries and restaurants in each direction from the hotel. As it is a budget hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness. I stayed in a single room, which was really very small, but for the purpose (sleeping and resting overnight) was quite sufficient.

The value for money is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beersheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great value hotel. Clean and comfortable. Staff were attentive and helpful. Location is excellent; Kayabacho is full of wonderful back streets and little restaurants that are well worth exploring. Probably not the usual tourist haunt, as it's really considered a business district, but our family of four (2 teenagers) found it great. Just round the corner from the highly recommended Great Tokyo Cycling Tour starting point. Subway very handy (Kayabacho - use exit 6 or thereabouts, not 11 and 12).

Room sizes were very good I thought. Not much smaller than I would expect in Australia, and for the price the hotel could not be faulted. Breakfast was great; plenty of choice and very Japanese. Most of the guests were Japanese; not a tourist hotel, but still the staff had a good level of English.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Everything I've experienced in this hotel was quite a full of good surprises to me. Would definitely stay at Smile Hotel again unless my next stay is with a 5-star hotel near Shinjuku or something!

* Nice Staff: Staffs are very kindly, English speaking and ready to serve their guests.

* Spa..cious Room: I've heard the room size of hotels in Tokyo are very tiny, and mine(TW room) was beeeetter than I expected. Very cozy and clean. They provides two types of pillow: normal one and made of latex. Even Febreze was ready in the closet.
But the bathroom; It's not about the size at all, but it was stinky a little bit around the toilet. We couldn't find where the smell came from, since it looked always clean. Think it was a sewer smell. Maybe the ONLY problem during I stayed... but not such a big deal, after all. The room was always well cleaned-up with amenities.

* Great location: Just a minute walk from Kayabacho station, where Tozai line and Hibiya line meets. Easily accessible to most of tourist spots like Asakusa, Roppongi, Ginza and to Odaiba. A drugstore and conveniences are located near the hotel. But remember its neighborhood is more like a business area: if you like to hang out till late night, better get a room at Shinjuku or Shibuya.

* Loved the breakfast!: Thinking or the price of our room, the breakfast was like perfect. 120% satisfied with that. Staffs are kind, food is warm and quite a good variety of continental breakfast. You can try Japanese traditional breakfast as well. ;)

The hotel provides free wired internet but not WiFi -- available at the lobby only.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adultchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked here for 3 days expecting something quite budget and it was fairly decent. The room was exactly the same as other 4 star hotels I stayed at in Japan that were 50% more in price. The staff were helpful with directions in getting around drawing me maps and even a free umbrella. The room was very clean and as a non-smoker there was no smoke smells that I had read in other reviews. There are two subway stations close by that I found easy to use and about a 10-15min walk from Tokyo main station or 5mins/600yen in a taxi. For the price I thought it was great value for what we got. If they changed room internet from wired to wifi it would be a 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Smile Hotel Nihonbashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hatchobori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi

Property: Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
Address: 2-13-5 Nihombashikayabacho, Chuo 103-0025, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universe Hotel Chuo
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing