We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to end a trip to Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice way to end a trip to Japan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This accommodation was pretty average. The room was small and the air con didn't really work.
I stayed here for my last 2 nights in Japan. It was very well located in Tokyo, only a 10 min walk from Tokyo station.
There staff were very helpful in helping me workout how to get to where i wanted to go.
There was also a laundry room in the hotel. I found this very helpful as i was able to wash all my clothes before coming home.
I think this is a hotel that you would only stay in for a short time, any longer than 2 nights and it would be a little too much.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a non-smoking room. they put me into a smoking floor and i thought i was goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    132
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
68
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a good location as there are two subway lines(tozai and hibiya) just few steps away from the hotel. Although the size of the room is small but it has all the amenities including sleeping gown. Wifi is only available at the lobby but LAN connection is available in the room. Room is clean as well as the city itself. Staffs are helpful and proficient in English. Convenient stores and restaurants are everywhere outside the hotel. Highly recommended for all travelers.

Room Tip: No problem with any levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although this hotel is not located in the more popular Ginza areas of Tokyo it is however very well located for travelling on the Tokyo & national train system plus only minutes away from the Tokyo Metro lines for getting about within Tokyo. The hotel is very small but friendly staff with room rates which should break the bank. Although rooms are very small everything is there the module pod bathroom was a feat just to get into and a mountaineering job if you're taken short in the middle of the night night. Caution mind the huge step or your toes will suffer. The AC unit was very noisy . Only breakfast is served ( pre ordered ) free wi-fi and laptop in lobby area. Plenty of eating places and departmental stores on the doorstep, with the JR station a short covered distance away good if you have your suitcase with you.Only 1 station out from Tokyo central station.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker ask for a non-smoking room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Was staying here for 2 nights. Its location is super convenient. The hotel is just above the Kayabacho Station, and it costs less than 1000 yen to take a taxi from Tokyo Station. Located in the middle of Nihombashi, I'd say it's more suitable for a business trip.

Rooms are small, but this is the standard in the most expensive and most crowded city of the world for such budget (80 SGD per night).

Staff were not friendly enough, partially because I set my expectation in Japanese services higher than others. The hotel name is Smile but I got very little smiles from staff. The internet cable in my room had problem but they didn't fix it at all no matter how many times I report, ended up I had to stay at the lobby for free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryHisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The smile hotel is a cheap hotel simple and clean and offer a Good value for money.
The location is good as close to a metro station.
The staff is Friendly. They arrange our luggage to be dispatched to our next hotel and we did not have any issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frozielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Located just above Kayabacho Station, take exist 1 and the hotel just behind you. The 1st room that we checked in to smell of cigarette and the second one toilet stink even after clean. Overall it is a basic hotel, value for money (approximately USD 50 per room per night).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel itself is fine, very basic small room as expected for the price. It is in a business district, it has some eateries around and it is fairly close to Tokyo station. But compared our stay in Ikebukuro, this part of Nihobashi seems not as interesting. Staff is very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luch209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Smile Hotel Nihonbashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hatchobori
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi

Property: Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
Address: 2-13-5 Nihombashikayabacho, Chuo 103-0025, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universe Hotel Chuo
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing