We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact Living at its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our Tokyo Ginza hotel room where we stayed for three days seemed like a shoe box. Very compact with just enough room to get dressed and make your way to the bathroom, and out. It is compact living at its best, and yet everything is in its place and very orderly and clean. It is located an easy walk from the Ginza, Tokyo's most famous upmarket shopping, where you will find dining, entertainment, numerous department stores, boutiques, and art galleries. Although a restaurant is located in the hotel, for breakfast we chose to walk to the Doutor and Starbucks coffee shops located nearby. There is also a friendly convenient store across the street. The hotel is short taxi ride from the Tokyo Station.

Room Tip: As we were travelling with a friend, it seemed like all the rooms were very quiet given the dense ci...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterey Ginza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had to get 2 rooms for a family of 4. At first they could not give us connecting rooms but rooms on the same floor only. However a few days before, when we asked if they can confirm the rooms will be on the same floor, they said connecting rooms are available. We also got 2 twin beds in each room versus 1 double bed. No extra charge.

We landed in Narita and took the Narita Express. The lady there gave us the wrong tickets, so the conductor asked for $19 additional for each passenger. There is a Tokyo Direct Ticket that will cost you $15 only for this leg only. Does not work when going to Narita. We ended up paying $30 for each.....argh. And trying to explain the issue to the conductor when we cannot speak Japanese was getting us nowhere. We turned on our roaming to get service to show him the website but no connection. So be wise and take a photo of the promo. Or make sure you have the right ticket.

We got off the Tokyo station. It was a bit of a walk to Yaesu South exit. Look at the map. You won't see signs for the Yaesu South exit but the map will show you to follow the central signs, which will then connect to where you want to go. Eventually, you will see signs for the Yaesu South exit. Look for the Taxi sign. Go outside and get in line. We had to take 2 taxis as we had two 28 inches and three 22 inches. I asked the first taxi to let the second taxi know. I can't speak Japanese but with gestures, the driver understood. The first taxi was 820 yen. Second taxi was 730 yen. It took but 5 min? to get to the hotel.

The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We have asked for places to eat, directions, etc.
They reserved a taxi for us to go back to Tokyo station. We got a van taxi, so we all can fit. Cost us 2500 yen. We also asked to extend the checkout of one of the 2 rooms. We payed 1000 yen per hour of extension.

Now we have connecting rooms. And unlike in US, you need a key to lock the doors between the rooms. Not knowing Japanese, we struggled to explain that we needed the door locked since we are only extending the 1 room. Did not want the new guests on the other room to have access. In the end, I asked the cleaning lady and showed her the unlocked door. And with that and gestures, she understood and called the front desk. Voila, mission accomplished, someone came up and locked the door.

The rooms have shampoo, conditioner, body liquid soap, hand and face liquid soap. They also provide, shavers, toothbrush, comb, hair clip, cotton buds, slippers to keep. They also have pajamas but those you cannot keep.

They have a small fridge that has beverages for purchase. A hot water machine if you want yo make coffee. We did not use the humidifier. TV is small and no English channels but that was okay. We saw icarly dubbed in Japanese and that was interesting. My kids love anime so they were happy to watch then in Japanese.

The air conditioning was good and the shower was strong. The room has enough lighting and was bright. It has a thick curtain to keep light out.

If I have to nitpick, they don't have body lotion. Also, the towels smells like fish or tempura. Not sure why.

There is a family mart across the street. There is also a Sunkus, which is another convenience store. Across the Sunkus, is a ramen place and it is good.

Tonkatsu Tonmi, which was recommended by Fodor's is also nearby. Look for the yellow pig sign on the doorway. It was really good and cheap. Unfortunately, the tempura only came with 2 pieces. I wanted 10 more.

We walked to Mitsukoshi everyday and took the subway there. The food hall has Johan Bakery and we bought some bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed the service the location and the hotel's hospitality . The room was small but clean. The breckfast was good including Japanese food and western food. The location of the hotel is very good walking distance from the fish market and ginza shopping area


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nananan898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is my first time to Japan and I couldn't be happier with the hotel. The convenience store is directly across the road and the train station and McDonalds are a 1 minute walk away. The front staff have been very helpful and considerate, even helping me work out the most economical way for me to buy train tickets based on our daily plans. Yes, the room is quite small, but it's immaculately clean and contains everything I could need. Free, fast internet without having to worry about a password was also nice. It's the first place I've ever stayed that has full-sized pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash, rather than those tiny one-use bottles. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good value hotel. Small rooms, a little dated but comfortable and clean. Quiet Ginza neighbourhood. Plenty of coffee, mini marts and shops in surrounding streets. Close to main street shops. Easy walk to the underground trains. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Perfect place to stay for a couple of days in Tokyo prior to returning home after a cruise out of Yokohama. Friendly and helpful staff and a clean and sizable room, with free WiFi (worked well). Very comfortable bed and quiet location. The buffet breakfast offered a wide range of tasty and well presented Asian and western food. A short walk (about 1.2 km) from Tokyo station and in a very safe business and up-market area. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was slightly run down and the rooms were extremely small. I've traveled to Tokyo before and know that the city hotel rooms tend to be small but this hotel was like staying in a closet. The room was clean but the AC worked only about 50% of the time. The hotel front desk staff were useless. The first night we checked in at 1am and asked the front desk staff if any restaurants in the area were open. The front desk said only the family mart was open across the street; however, when we walked outside there were two bars/restaurants open directly next to the family mart! They also refused to help my husband and I call a restaurant to make a reservation for dinner - we don't speak Japanese fluently. The hotel was in a wonderful location in Ginza. About two blocks off the main strip so nice and quiet yet close by and within walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping that are the reasons to stay in Ginza. If you only need a place to rest your head at night I guess this hotel would suit your needs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadiayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Gracery Ginza
Hotel Gracery Ginza
#24 of 92 in Chuo
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Ginza

Address: 2-10-2 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range: £69 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monterey Ginza is a classic boutique-style hotel nestled in the heart of Ginza. The location is ideal for shopping, sightseeing and business, while from the moment you enter the relaxed interior of the lobby you will be able to forget the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. We hope you will take advantage of this "little hideaway" in the middle of Ginza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Ginza Chuo
Hotel Monterey Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing