We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 stars since the beginning until the end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“6 stars since the beginning until the end”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

For sure the best hotel I ever been.
Facilities, staff, location...
Impossible to do not take profit of the spetacular view to the recent oppened tokyo sky tree or the city view from the 38th floor or from the wide gkass walls of the rooms.
Please go to the 38th floor and see the restroom. The best toillet in the word I assure.

Room Tip: Try to find a corner apartment, you can enjoy 2 diferent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    233
    54
    16
    16
See reviews for
366
702
144
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a truly unique location. Built above an office block, with Reception on the 38th floor, all the rooms, restaurants and bar command stunning views over Tokyo. The Bar on #37 has waterfalls, a pool with a sofa on an "island" and a great atmosphere. The rooms are luxurious, including heated toilet seats in the en suites.
We ate in several of the restaurants, where service was flawless and food excellent quality - western menus widely available if you don't fancy the sushi! It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Being right on top of the Metro station makes getting around easy, and the department store across the road is ideal for shopping.
We had a slight misunderstanding on Checkout, but the way the hotel dealt with it was great, which is always a key measure for me. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and go there again if we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Located at a more quiet business oriented part of Toyko not far from Ginza, it definitely a luxury choice if you don't mind the slightly off location, still convenient with Metro station right below the hotel. Hotel is of the high standard you would expect from a Mandarin. Room is spacious and service was generally attentive. And their Japanese restaurant is a must try!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. We loved the restaurants, the fitness center, the amenities in the room, the views and the extremely helpful staff. Location was very convenient (we were there on holiday) and close to the subway. Have nothing but nice things to say about our stay (except that I wish we could have stayed longer!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just back from a great holiday in Tokyo, having stayed in this hotel. Can't fault it in any way, great views, excellent concierge (especially Eriko) and our bedroom was probably the best one we have ever stayed in. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a great way to start and end our holiday in Japan. A first class hotel with good restaurnts offering great choice. The hotel accomodation was fantastic as was the service. Views of Tokyo from the room, restraunts and reception are amazing.

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianheliman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have been to many hotels around the world including some Mandarin Oriental and even tough I was disappointed with them in Hong Kong and London, in Tokyo I was astonished, the hotel is beautiful with beautiful views, the restaurants and room service are great (A special award should be given for breakfast and especially to the breakfast manager), and everybody in the hotel is so nice and helpful that it is nearly incredible. I cannot wait to come back !

Room Tip: The Corner Rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing