We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minor gripe but fab experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“minor gripe but fab experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The position of the Hotel is great — very close to the Imperial Palace and the Ginza district. The welcome started off very well but was disappointed that they were not prepared to provide complimentary wi-fi in lieu of the gourmet breakfast that was included with the package (leaving early and breakfast timings would have involved a rush.) Felt they handled it badly. The tide turned after seeing the room and the fabulous views and our dinner at the Molecular Tapas Bar. Admittedly we did not need to stay here to have dinner here but it was very convenient. Review on that separately. We had an early breakfast in our room and that was bang on time and was really nicely presented and tasted delicious. Bags collected on time, Check Out was very good and Duty Manager came over to ask if all OK. And then waved off by him and his colleagues as we left in the taxi that was arranged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    243
    55
    16
    19
See reviews for
384
733
155
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having stayed here several times, we always love to go back. The service is immacualte and the restaurants inside the hotel are super amazing. Location is also very good and the view from bars and restaurants stunning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina_Taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of our trip to Japan, and what a memorable three nights we had!
From the moment we arrived at the lobby on the ground floor, we were treated to an experience which we will never forget. Being greeted and guided through the check in we instantly felt at home and relaxed after our 12 hour flight from London.
We arrived at around 9am and check in was not until 3pm, we were allowed to freshen up in the hotel spa. I have to say that the view whilst you sit in the pools are mind blowing.
We went to our rooms at around 4 and it was immaculate. With city scape views, we could see all of Ginza, parts of the Imperial Palace gardens and partial bits of Shinjuku.
We did however need to change rooms, because my partner is a light sleeper and there were children in the room above who were using their room as a gymnasium. Jet lag must have meant they were running and banging around until at least 11pm.
I have to mention the exceptional services of Mr Takeshi Takeichi, he was perfect in handling our requests of a room change and any other problems we had. He addressed our issues promptly, courteously and we are ever grateful.
This Hotel and its staff are a credit to the Mandarin Oriental group.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked for this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed throughout. The room was comfortable with nice bathroom. The service was 5 star. Location was good with public transportation nearby. Would like to stay here again in my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a luxurious vacation for 5 nights at the Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo! Everything was wonderful. The room was beautifully-decorated and had wonderful city views. The vanity was a little cramped, and we wished for more storage space (especially drawers). Service was spectacular and unobtrusive. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant, and by the second day, the server had memorized our names and preferences. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and pampered. The concierge handled all of our dining reservations and provided us with a folder containing confirmations, maps, and photographs of the restaurant shopfront (very helpful as addresses are difficult to navigate in Tokyo). The hotel was conveniently located, directly attached on the basement level with the Mitsukoshi-mae station. Only downside was the smell of cigarette smoke that permeated the lobby as smoking is allowed in the lounges/restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

WOW! This is the one so far most amazing hotel I have stayed at. Fantastic rooms, fantastic views, fantastic food and the service is 7 star. Felt like a movie-star the whole visit :) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ltraveler7
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is great with great service and attention to detail in all the right places. (Plugs, bathroom, etc). Our room was facing Tokyo skytree and had stunning sunrise views.
The only warning is that the hotel location is not optimal for vacation travelers but the hotel is directly on top of a metro station so it is not a major issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,137 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,970 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing