We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Offenbach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

after our great stay in the mandarin oriental in hong kong we decided to book the mandarin oriental for our tokyo trip too - it was a good idea! the tokyo branch is even better than the hong kong one! its an excellent hotel with a excellent stuff in a excellent location!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTYO, 広報担当マネージャー at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear tenji

We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and appreciate your kind feedback which will certainly motivate our colleagues to completely delight and satisfy our guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    239
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
378
726
151
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I loved our stay at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. The staff is providing truly exceptional service to the hotel guests. Beware though that internet access is not complementary which I find cheap considering what you pay for room and food in this hotel. After I pointed this out we received it for free.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidElie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We allready stayed two times in the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo and both times have been a great experience.
We used the Narita Bus Connection to get to the Hotel, this was very simple and well organised, like alot of things in Japan and is a good alternative to a transfer by car.
The rooms are very well designed, big and luxurious. We had the Skytree view, which is really stunning especially at night. Every day we had pralines or something else on the room.
We ate at the K´Shiki, which is also the breakfast Restaurant, the Sense and the Sushi Sora. Each of them was of great quality with an outstanding service. Same for the bar.
The Service was very well educated and well informed about the guests likings, etc.
Chuo is a very good place in Tokyo for shopping and dinner and fits the hotel perfectly.
For us the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo is one of the best Hotels in Asia and the world. We will stay here again when we come back to Tokyo.
A clear recommendation for this Hotel :)

Room Tip: The Skytree view is really beautifull and i recommend a view to this side. The Fuji can only be seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank René S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Located in the prime area if Nihonbashi, the hotel is set on top of an office tower. Lobby is on the 38th floor (top floor) with expansive view if the city. It is spectacularly beautiful at night.

Check in was brisk. While a staff processed your admin stuff, another would bring warm towel and chat with you. You would be accompanied by the reception staff to your room, and he'd explain the room facility and amenities as you are settling in. The room is large, with generous bathroom area. It is beautifully designed with contemporary flair and warm color tone. The bed was comfortable and the linen felt luxurious.

If your room comes with breakfast, do make a point of trying it. It can be taken at 2 restaurants, the Lobby Lounge and the K'kinki. I find the buffet selection at the K'kinki to be excellent. They whipped up a mean egg benedict. The egg was perfectly poached and served on a bed of crab meat. Oh yumm..

The hotel is located above Mitsukoshi-mae metro, so it is convenient to move around. It is also only 5min walk to Kanda JR station if you need to catch the JR line.

What a great metropolitan oasis in an otherwise a hectic city. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank OdysseusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is my mistake that I have yet to write a review for the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. I AM A FAN! My husband and I were in Japan to celebrate our 6 year anniversary and the Mandarin Oriental was the quintessential Tokyo hotel that checked all the boxes and also one of our best stays ever!! While we didn't exactly choose the lowest category room, we were (double-triple-quadruple?) upgraded to a corner suite with a beautiful marble bathroom and views to die for. I really enjoyed the bathtub with the salts. We looked forward to opening all the window blinds in the morning and enjoying the expansive view of all the skyscrapers. In the evening, we had coffee or tea and relaxed in our bathrobes or yukatas. (They even had MO pajamas!) I wish we had a iron/ironing board in the room, but that's just me. Some people are baller and don't iron their own clothes. =)

The service was impeccable and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. It's hard to describe except to note a few examples.. We received a package envelope before our arrival. It was waiting in our room when we finally checked in, and next to it was a pair of scissors. We had some leftovers we kept in the refrigerator. When we found it the next day, housekeeping had placed utensils on top of it. They notice these things and help in the smallest most unobtrusive way without you even having to ask. They never missed a turn down. Ice was always in the bucket and treats were left on the coffee table. In addition, concierge did an excellent job helping us with reservations to some of the top restaurants in the city.

Every morning, we woke up to a splendid breakfast spread. The buffet which included a variety of breads, fruit, hot and cold items, Western and Japanese were so delicious. Restaurant staff was very attentive. They changed out utensils depending on your meal choices and offered to bring the items to your table if your hands were full. They never paused to refill a coffee cup or water glass.

The other restaurant we tried was Signature and it's not to be missed. We had the 3 course prix fix and it included many surprise dishes and excellent service. The plating was so beautiful, I almost didn't want to ruin it by sticking my fork in the food!! It not only looked delicious, but it tasted incredible. At times, I wanted to lick my plate.. but that's not what you do at this type of restaurant where the ladies are wearing pearls and the gentlemen have jackets on. It was elegant, but not snooty. I believe we may have had the best table.. in front of the window, overlooking the tall buildings.

One evening, we also enjoyed a few drinks downstairs at the bar with the live jazz band, and it made for a lovely evening.

We used the gym at this hotel. We felt that the equipment was taken care of and the towels and water provided was nice. It was a good size for the hotel and the one time we were there, it didn't seem crowded. The view from there was magnificent.. I was surprised there was no locker room attached, however. I wish we used the spa, but I couldn't at the time for personal reasons. My husband enjoyed a nice dip in the jacuzzi in the men's spa locker.

I want to thank the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo for taking such great care of us. We hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Corner suite was sumptuous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Hotel is a wonderful place to stay and includes everything to feel comfortable..
But the most exceptional thing was the stuff, especially LUDMILA, who is really a perfect employee. She did absolute everything possible to fulfil every visitor`s wish, desire and every order faster as we could name it... Wow!!! Such stuff is really more as good as gold!!! Thank you very much for your attention, support and pure kindness..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I was impressed by the quality of service. A special thanks to Ludmila on the reception. She even personally guided me to metro station. Thank you so much!

Also, I would like to mark a good hotel position and delicious breakfasts.

I suggest to take a room with a view to sky tree tower. The best view in Tokyo :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,115 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,926 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Rakuten, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing