We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Hotel - Location better for Business than Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Superior Hotel - Location better for Business than Holiday”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Just returned from a vacation in Japan. The Mandarin was an excellent hotel. Nice views from the lobby and main rooms. We had a Dynasty Suite with a formal living room and separate bedroom ... wide views of Tokyo in both rooms. Decor was dark contemporary, very nice finishes. The staff was most accommodating. I would recommend this hotel if you are going for business, but the location was not the best for holiday travel. I see that some travelers are deciding between the main five star hotels in Tokyo and on that note - I prefer the Peninsula in Tokyo because of its location and the food is also a bit better there. The Park Hyatt is another favorite. Still, aside from the very hard beds (found in all the hotels that I have experienced in Japan) in the Mandarin, there is nothing to say except positive comments.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilloutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    237
    54
    16
    18
See reviews for
369
718
146
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The service was fabulous from the moment we approached the entrance of the hotel- one chap whisked our luggage off via a cargo lift, and we were greated and taken to reception via the normal lift. Check in was fabulously quick, we were allocated a room earlier than the normal check in time, and our luggage was ready and waiting in the room for us when we got there. Brilliant. We had a card from the front desk staff wishing us a happy honeymoon, and the girl who brought us a refreshing drink in our room was very sweet and was helping us with suggestions about how to get around the city and where to go.

The rooms are huge and my husband couldn't stop playing with all the gadgets! The tv is bigger than our entire flat back home! The bathroom is great - lovely deep bath and walk in shower, perfect for a soak to get rid of the jet lag (we saw sunrise almost every day in Japan, but rather than spoiling the holiday, it was actually very special as the view out of the window as the sun rises is breathtaking).

Another nice touch was the aromatherapy oil which was left for us on our second day, and all of the little trinkets in each drawer you look in (hair brush, fan, every connector for every computer you could ever imagine etc) We left a similar review to this on their in room comment card and got a lovely letter from the hotel manager when we returned to the UK saying that he had shown our comments to his staff to "boost morale". THe only thing that could have made it better is if he offered us a free night at a Mandarin Oriental of our choice to show his gratitude!

It is expensive, but its worth every penny. We will be back, both to Tokyo (which is a fabulous city) and to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkn2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

For sure the best in Tokyo, but don't expect anything even remotely funky. As the area it's in, the hotel is business like.
The service levels are not to be experienced in Europe and it makes it hard to come back to the so-called palaces back home.
Rooms are huge and extremely refined, so quiet you can sleep anytime like a baby (one of the rarest commodities in hotels where doors usually bang after 7 am)
At the Mandarin you can feel housekeepers pride in being the best in the world.
The food at breakfast is worthy of Michelin stars.
If you are very picky with details and are looking for ultimate comfort this hotel is worth the expense.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabriceleparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York and Seoul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Surpassed all my expectations on just about every level. First, the rooms are HUGE by Tokyo standards and beautifully laid out. (The bathroom design is so elegantly functional I took photos and careful note of it for any future home renovation project.) The service is exceptional, discreet, professional and fastidious without being fussy.

The room is equipped with every amenity you could want and some you didn't know you would need. Also, at the time, you could smoke in the room, and even though the windows obviously on this high-rise hotel are all hermetically sealed, the air filtration and circulation system in the room was so excellent that I could breathe in comfort even as my spouse had her fix of pre-slumber cigarette in the room.

The nighttime view of Tokyo from the top-floor lounge/bar is breathtaking (even the view from the men's room! If you ever go, you'll see what I mean).

Only minus. The food at the western restaurant (French/Italian?) in the hotel wasn't really anything to rave about. Also, the hotel is apparently not well known to most Tokyo cab drivers. The entrance is on a side street off a main thoroughfare, which actually I prefer but makes it a bit difficult to locate by sight.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbleenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

All reviews are very positive and with good reason.
This hotel is magnificent. The lobby on the 38th floor is superb. The bars are beautiful and views are superb.
It is not however a typical holiday hotel, it's a business hotel but we stayed there for leisure and had a great time.
Service: Fenomenal. Probably the best I've ever had. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is impossible. Our luggage didn't arrive for two days and the hotel provided us with an emergency pack that was very helpful. Adam, the concierge is really friendly and very helpful.
Rooms: Stunning rooms, very big, absolutely beautiful decoration and style. Bathroom is huge with a big bath and separate shower as well as toilet. You receive excellent toiletries. Room itself is beautiful, they think of absolutely everything to make you comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magnes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for the first few days of our honeymoon in Tokyo. The hotel is undoubtably wonderful - the staff are excellent - friendly, attentive and as our Japanese is limited, their English was excellent.

The rooms were huge for Japanese standards - with great views, large bathrooms and huge beds. The breakfast, as other reviews have said, are large and the choice of food as well as the quality is really good. The location is slightly out of the main tourist areas but is close to the subway which helps to navigate the city easily.

The only negative for us was the cost - the hotel was really fantastic but I'm not sure it was worth what we paid. Also, in hinsight, it is a hotel more for business travellers than a typical honeymoon venue.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Everything about this hotel was 1st class!! The rooms were very comfortable, the hotel staff is the best in the universe, the restaturants and bar are fantastic, the location was great with easy access to the subway system. The cost for the room was also an excellent value because they offered a discount along with $75/day credit towards restaurant, bar, and spa services. We had a wonderful stay and if I ever return to Tokyo I will stay at the Mandarin.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,095 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,812 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,865 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten, TravelUp, Priceline, Mandarin Oriental, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing