We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good capsule experience - good if you just need a bed and a bath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Kiba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good capsule experience - good if you just need a bed and a bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in a couple capsule for two nights either side of a day at Disneyland. The bed was comfortable and it definitely felt clean and safe. The bed was okay for me, but above 6 foot tall you will start to feel crammed. There is also not much sound-proofing. Even though people were respectful with noise, for some reason alarm clocks were going off at 2am and not being switched off.

It is communal bathing Japanese style, but if you are unsure what to do there are English instructions on the door. Everything is provided, bedding, cleaning products, hair dryer, slippers etc. There is free wifi in the lounge at the bottom floor.

Location is great, a 2 minute walk to the subway (KIBA station - do not get confused with Shin-Kiba as this is not close at all) and with many places to eat around. it also looks like there is a large office complex and mall across the street which may have more options.

Overall, if you want to rest in a hotel room, don't stay here. But if you just need a bed and a shower, a great option near central Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasethecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    108
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
132
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great first time capsule experience. We were travelling as a couple so the double capsule was ideal. Close to the station. Helpful staff and clean bathrooms. The only suggestion I would make is to have something as a door to stop the noise coming into the capsule.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great capsule experience in a good location. Close to transport, shopping centre and some nice cafés and restaurants. The double capsule was ideal as we were travelling as a couple, something other capsule hotels don't seem to offer. The facilities were all well kept and the reception staff helpful (made a restaurant reservation for us). Only suggestion is that the hotel provide somewhere to store larger luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
379 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This capsule hotel is possibly the only one that has a semi or a double capsule that can sleep two. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Kiba Station.

On entering, you have to place your luggage and belongings on the 1st level and only bring up the things you require to your capsule. The second level is for bathing and there is only Japanese style bathing here, meaning bathing with other people in the nude. There is a nice hot tube here that you can soak in as well.

The capsule has the basic features such as a built in TV, alarm clock and a radio system. There is a bind near the entrance of each capsule that can be drawn for privacy. However, the one bad thing about being in a capsule is that it gets pretty stuffy in there if you draw down the binds. You will also be able to hear the noise your neighboring capsules make.

Overall, a cool and interesting place to stay for a night to have the capsule experience. I paid 4,500 yen for a semi-double capsule and I think it’s pretty well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

It was my boyfriend and I's first experience of a capsule hotel and we really enjoyed it! We stayed 3 nights in total and found the capsules surprisingly comfortable. The beds were a little hard but we've had worse in hotels! We stayed on a floor with 'double' capsules, but of course it was just big enough for 2 people to lay down close to each other. The staff in the hotel were really friendly. Was a great first experience as our first few nights in Japan. All The toilets are clean and you get fresh towels, slippers, toothbrush and matching PJ's every day! The communal shower area had a washing machine, 4 sinks each with a hair dryer and lots of bottle of shampoo, shower gel, etc to use. The showers in the ladies could be improved a little by being put on the wall and there are no private areas, as you wash in the same smaller room as the hot tub. But they are minor comments. We looked forward to a proper bed after, but it's a great way to try capsules for the first time. The area is nice too with shopping/restaurants close by and it's really close to the metro.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are overly tall, overly claustrophobic, or overly concerned with comfort, you may stop reading now and continue your search elsewhere. If I haven't lost you, then a night at Tokyo Kiba Hotel may be just what you want. On a recent trip to Tokyo, my wife and I stayed here for only two reasons. One, we wanted the capsule hotel experience you see on TV. Two, Tokyo Kiba was one of the only capsule hotels we could find with double-wide berths. We were not disappointed on either point. In fact, if all you're looking for is a night's sleep before moving on to other parts of the country - or in our case, back to the airport - it's a pretty decent deal. For a reasonable price, you get your own capsule complete with tiny TV, shelf, privacy curtain (no doors), and loaner pajamas! Plus, you get access to lockers (capsules aren't big enough to accommodate much luggage), shared shower facilities, and a location barely a block from the nearest metro stop (Kiba Station). Next to some downscale hostels in the world, it could be heaven. Of course, there are downsides, and depending on your temperament, they could be huge. One is the tight squeeze factor. Remember, these are capsules, essentially tiny tubes big enough for a human body or two. They're meant for overnight storage (drunk businessmen, unpicky backpackers, an afternoon siesta), and not for an abundance of comfort. Even though they have air vents, we found the capsule to be stifling from a heat perspective. The odor from the socks you've been wearing all day can collect far more quickly in a capsule, too. Noise is also an issue. Due to the aforementioned lack of door, what you say and do (and what others may do) is easily heard by those on all sides of you - capsules are stacked two high by several wide. Sleep can be challenging without ear plugs. People come and go at all hours, often climbing down from above you, so be forewarned. However, the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, bathrooms were kept in good shape, and while the neighborhood is a little bare for entertainment or food, it's generally safe and well-kept. The hotel sits directly below a freeway overpass, but we never heard the noise. While I wouldn't widely recommend Tokyo Kiba Hotel, I wouldn't discourage it either. It's a truly Japanese experience - like eating blowfish or looking for geishas - and really that's what travel is all about, isn't it?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Things4Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had left my jacket in a luggage locker in Nikko station. Yoshida from the hotel reception spent ages trying to get hold of someone at Nikko station and managed to organise for the station staff to post my coat back to Tokyo, which I picked up from Hotel Kiba when I was back in Tokyo the next week. He went out of his way to help me and I'm extremely glad to have my jacket back!

The hotel is perfect for 1 night if you are passing through Tokyo and looking for a cheap option. There are lots of people coming and going so it was a little noisy so I'd advise ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eseymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koto
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#24 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#40 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Kiba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Kiba Hotel

Property: Tokyo Kiba Hotel
Address: 1-4-3, Kiba, Koto 135-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Koto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tokyo Kiba Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Tokyo Kiba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Kiba Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing