We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit for kids”
Review of KidZania Tokyo

KidZania Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 151 things to do in Koto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: KidZania is a city founded by the children of the world where they can be leaders and learn about society while having fun. Kids get to role-play as Adults at more than 90 jobs and activities using real-world tools and equipment. Complete with shops, vehicles and a functional society, KidZania is a 2/3 scale city just for Kids. Choose an activity at the TV Station, Airplane, Bank or any of the over 60 pavilions. Put on a uniform and get to work! ★What to do? First, choose a pavilion where you want to work. After you finish your job, you get paid in the local currency, "kidZos". Use your kidZos to shop and pay for services. At most activities, you will be creating something new. Whether it is food from the Pizza Shop or Bakery, or a DVD from the Fashion Show, what you create is yours to keep! ★Let's Start! Just like any country you will travel to, the more you plan before you enter, the better. Upon entering KidZania, choose a pavilion and get started! ★Getting Tickets KidZania Tokyo operates two shifts daily. ・1st shift:9:00am - 3:00pm ・2st shift:4:00pm - 9:00pm Congestion is expected. Please come here as early as possible! Book your tickets online ahead of time to make sure you get in on the day and time you wish. Same-day ticket sales are limited and subject to capacity. ★Using English Though most Activities are in Japanese, a limited number are conducted in English every day. Regardless of language skill, all Kids are encouraged to try any activity they wish!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must visit for kids”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

For families with children under 12, You really can't miss kidzania. even though we made our booking 3 weeks in advance, the tickets were sold out so quickly during the summer holiday that only pm sessions were left. We regretted that we didn't line up early enough. 20 minutes before the pm session started and the line was already so long that it looped the entire mall once. When we could enter, some of the most popular activities like pilots, cabin crew etc we're no longer available. My kids still enjoyed a lot their jobs as sushi chefs, ice cream parlor etc. pizza making also can't be missed and the final product was so delicious. I will definitely bring my kids back in our next trip back to Tokyo!

Just remember to book early! And arrive early!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    130
    30
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for children to visit.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

wonderful place to visit. My daughter enjoyed so much & learnt so many skills. Staff were well trained, very friendly & helpful. Never get bored so many things were going on. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 199955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow what an experience!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I took my son to Japan and Kidzania was one of the best experiences he has ever had. Not only was the activities fun and very enjoyable, he learned a lot too. It's our first time to go to kidzania so we didn't know what to to expect. I didn't expect that it will be all in Japanese. Luckily my son was able to pick up a little bit of what was being explained, but I'm sure it would have been better if there was a translation guide available. The shifts were sometimes too long for them to wait, but when the actual class was being taught, the kids were well engaged and they were really enjoying!
Overall. Kidzania is highly recommended for children to try, mostly for the experience as this is truly pretend game to the extreme!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for children”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Kidzania was great, really different from anything else.

Of course there are challenges. It can take time for someone who is English to work out quite what is happening, to learn the best activities should be booked quickly, and the rest you queue for, and each activity will always come with some challenges.

But overall, I look forward to Kidzania coming to London, until then, try the one in Tokyo if you want something to do with your kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun for under 10, serious problem with All English program”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My daughter (12 and half) had high expectation for our visit to Kidzania. It was one of our highlight spot while visiting Japan last December. We have purchased tickets online. It was not yet school holidays in Japan still most days were sold out. It turned out the schools make group booking for their school trips. It would be ideal as this is housed in a shopping mall and everyone gets security bracelet so once inside, there is no way to get lost except temporary while inside activity area. There are overwhelmingly many things to do. But popular ones are booked first. The strategy here is since one can make only one advance booking at a time, book one favorite activity and while waiting, go for not so popular/ no wait listed activities. You can do in 6 hours only 6 or 7 activities. So most kids will have to come back many times to experience all that is offered. Some activities you get paid by Kizdo (Kidzania currency that you can deposit in bank there or use at gift shop) and some you have to pay to participate. All kids who open bank account there get a wallet and debit card. All the activities, parents can just stand and watch and take photos from distance. There are places for parents to relax too. Also Kidzania itself is like shopping mall so, they sell fast food for quick meals.

It is the place to experience real jobs but since each activity ends in 30 minutes or less, it is more like job themed amusement park. They even offer All English Activity and that is the problem. I do not know who benefits from this at all. There are no native speakers and young Japanese instructors all had strange pronunciation and body language and insisted my daughter whose first language is American English to repeat after them! Although annoyed but not wanting to show off, she went along with it but wished that session will end sooner. If the activities are for non Japanese, it is useless and for Japanese young kids it is rather waste of effort. Because they have to relearn at later time. I can not imagine Japanese language being taught by unskilled foreign nationals to youngsters.

Overall, it was good that we went now because it is not a place for teenagers/young adult. You have to be a little kid and everything is scaled to their size. And I really wish they will consider hiring native or near native speakers for English programs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank MommyandmeColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KidZania Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to KidZania Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing