We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly for fan, I guess”
Review of Gundam Front Tokyo - CLOSED

Gundam Front Tokyo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Strictly for fan, I guess”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While the huge, life-size Gundam in front is impressive, the exhibition on 7f is quite lame. It was not crowded at all when I went there on Saturday.

Archives, museums, etc are strictly for fans and the photo shoot with characters from Gundam is too childish. It could have been done better if they put more interactive stuff inside, instead of just photo, models, etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jalan2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    178
    81
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gundams, shopping and amusement!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If i had known this was at a shopping mall, i would have dedicated a full day to this.

Gundam Front Tokyo is a mecca for all anime and Gundam fans. It has the 1:1 scale RX 78-2 Gundam and a small Gundam cafe and a van that has EXCLUSIVE gunpla (gundam/plastic hobby models).

Whilst the small Gundam cafe has some overprice yet cute food that is Gundam themed, many people are more focused on the Gundam outside and the van with the gunpla.

These Gunpla are VERY sought out for. Once brought back (or sold on ebay) they double their value plus shipping. I highly recommend asking the sales assistant which is the most popular are get yourself, or your son/nephew, one of these.

This isnt the best part for Gundam fans.

Gundam Front Tokyo also has another area that is a 'theme park' (more like a display area) for Gunpla and Gunpla and more Gunpla. They also have a paid area in which you can take photos of yourself in a cockpit of the STRIKE FREEDOM Gundam (I forgot the scaling but i believe it is 1:1 or 1:4 but have to pay to do so), photos with yourself in a cockpit that is free. There is also a 1:1 scale fighter unit and a whole history of Gundam gallery.

There is also an area to buy merchandise such as clothes, mugs, and other miscellaneous stuff to bring back home!

Ultimately this is a MUST for Gundam fans.

If you're not a Gundam fan, or don't know what that is, there is an amusement center there with Japanese coin gambling machines, amusement centre with arcade games and (only) 6 floors of shopping.

Whichever the case, the monorail there and the shopping arcade more than make this a fun day out for all the family!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AkumaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed late for the light show, outside the plaza, and It was amazing, I enjoyed every minute. The museum is great and the movie dome was better than expected. I bought the picture set, It includes a 2D and 3D picture. they let you choose the frames to print and they have 3 different uniforms to wear for the picture.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngieSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Big Gundam”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent to get a photo with a life size Gundam. Not to be miss as only in Japan. Go in the daytime to get better photo as is outdoor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Desapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Huge Gundam”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Worth a visit for those who love Gundam and with Kids but be prepared to buy stuff. Gundam statue normally moves (its head only) with lights but the kids will enjoy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank annematt143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gundam Front Tokyo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing