We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of contemporary work”

Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo
Ranked #11 of 156 things to do in Koto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of contemporary work”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This museum was a real delight, getting there was easy enough and it is a nice area to wonder around in as the sun goes down.

The special exhibitions that were on were Tokyo Art Meeting III and MOT Annual. These were playful exhibitions and were presented expertly with helpful staff and full English notes. It was a real joy to just wonder through. My only minor complaint is the amount of paper flyers handed out to visitors upon purchasing a ticket.

Seeing all three exhibits was value for money (1500 Yen) and was three hours well spent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank metazorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    102
    28
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A queue in the museum”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Went during weekend to catch the Mauritius exhibition ended up queuing for nearly an hour to enter due to the huge crowd. Due to my short height, I only manage to peep thru the crowd on all the arts and same problem as usual , no English available in Japanese museum

It's the noisiest visit I ever had to a art museum, a crowd of ppl in front of each art and I have to either squeeze in for a view or wait for them to move. I really hope that the museum had at least control the numbers of visitors allowed in (like Ghibli Museum)

The collection is less extensive compare to Western Art Museum, so unless you're into the special exhibition and if u can only choose one museum to visit in Ueno then I would not recommend this Museum, I would prefer the Western Art Museum more (but still its crowdy during weekend, sigh)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A feel good museum and area to explore in Tokyo”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Enjoyable museum and area to visit. Part of fun visiting Tokyo is exploring the many different disticts and finding little surprises in them. This was #2 of 3 on a one day museum-hopping trip in Tokyo. I was staying in Asakusa/Sumida, and first visited the Edo-Tokyo museum(open earliest)(E-12), then Museum of Contempoarary Art (E-14), then the Bridgestone museum of art(open latest)(Z-09, walk or transfer to G-11 Nihombashi). Fun day with all museums easy to get to on subway (if you go in right direction to them). Beautiful, spacious museum, with small but nice permanent exhibition. I am a Yoshitomo Nara fan and there is an area for his work. Price is 500 yen for permanent ex.

Rest of visit might depend on the temporary exhibition showing for if it is worth to spend extra $. Exibits I saw were Tokusatsu: Special Effects Museum, and Future Beauty: 30 Years of Japanese Fashion. Both of which were good. Museum has a good shop with a large variety of nice books you can buy. Nice park beside museum. It might be a little hard to find (I had MOT scarecrows on road pointing way) maybe bring museum name and ask to make sure you go in right direction. Some exhibits didn't have to much english info. Overall I had an enjoyable visit, a nice (not great) museum, area is nice to walk around (relaxed, family, and artistic atmosphere) found some good antique and book stores and good restaurants. Would recommend to any art fans and anyone staying close or wanting to go to a different area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GrassJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Museum of Contemporary Art”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Was great to see some of Yoshitomo Nara's earlier works hanging in this museum. A nice space to spend a couple of hours (or more in). Can recommend the downstairs restaurant as well had a great lunch there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home to interesting exhibitions”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Some big names pop up here and there's plenty of space to showcase some more impressive sizeable installations that would look worse elsewhere. Wish there was more information in English about some of the works - found that hard to come by in some cases

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing