We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too bad for Tokyo”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Sotetsu Fresa Inn in Toyocho wasn't too bad actually. Given most rooms we looked at
in the city, we found almost all of them lacking in space. Here's my take:
Room: Small. Very, very small. We were in a double room, and the bed was what they themselves classified as a semi double (approx 20cm smaller than a double bed). For two adults, it was VERY cozy. The smaller bed didn't mean there was room to move in the room though. There was a desk with a small tv on it (which really could/should have been mounted on the wall). The desk made the room impossible to move around in as we had no where to put our two big suitcases except one in front of the window and the other in front of the room door. Air conditioning was nice given the August heat outside, though we were not able to adjust below 23 deg, which meant that at points it was smashing out freezing air and other times was pushing hot. Made it a little hard to sleep at points.
Location: Awesome. Literally 1 minute walk from Toyocho metro station. That station also happens to be conveniently on the same line that connects with the train going out to Narita from Toyo-Katsutadai. Very handy, trust me :) Also, Toyocho was a nice neighbourhood to walk around at night. Very clean and quiet with banks, a McDonalds right under the hotel and convenience stores.
Staff: really lovely and incredibly helpful. They were fabulous.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    98
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
48
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Modern and clean with all of the amenities you need. Room was small but we only booked the cheapest. Saying that it was still good value for money.

The only downside i would say is the metro line this hotel is located on. Not the hotels fault but the line is very busy with business men. It was packed almost to sardine level at 10pm and when we needed to use it at 7am you had guards at each door squashing people in to make the doors shut before it would move off. Almost impossible to use if you have suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A clean, comfortable hotel. I would totally reccommend this to any traveller visiting Tokyo. It;s very new so its in perfect condition. A minute , or less, from the subway entrance and about the same from the nearest McDonalds. The staff were so helpful and really valued us. They spoke adequate english, enough to be abe to explain how to get from wherever we asked and tips on places we should visit. The rooms were clean and spacious with very comfortable beds! I loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are much larger than the single. The single rooms were barely large enough to fit the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_232_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during our stay in Tokyo. Our first impression was really great and it doesn't changed. The rooms are very clean, room service tidy it up everyday, changing towels, pijamas etc. Bathrooms was fantastic - clean and well equiped (auto-toilets are the best about it!). Only disadvantage is the size of the rooms - if you have two big suitcases there isn't much space left. Batrooms are also quite small. As for location it's aboute a minute from a subway station, so you can easily move around Tokyo. Close to the hotel is also McDonald's and shop for everzday shopping. At basement level there is small restaurant, so if you are hungry and don't want to go far from hotel you can it there.
To sum up - good hotel for good value of money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pafffcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in the first week of May, which is a national holiday known as Golden Week.
First let me say that some of the previous reviews are incorrect as to the location if this hotel. This hotel is located (conveniently) a 5 minute walk from the Toyocho metro station not Tokyo station. The best part about this is that Toyocho station has 2 elevators that bring you to street level within minutes. This is especially handy if you have heavy luggage. Just take the Keisei bus from Narita airport to Tokyo station for ~¥ 900 and then walk to Otemachi metro and take the subway to Toyocho. When you get to Toyocho, take Exit # 1 and use the elevators. Once at street level make a left out of the elevator and the hotel will be on your left just past McDonalds.
The check in process is smooth and painless. The rooms ARE small even by Tokyo standards, but at $57 a night it was a steal. PJs and all the usual amenities are provided along with additional toiletries/ hair care products available in the lobby at no charge.
The infamous Japanese toilet awaits you with all it's electronic gadgetry, enjoy!
Beds are comfortable, linens adequate. My room had a window with plenty of sunshine from the window. This is a quiet area of Tokyo, so street noise was not a problem. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a higher floor as the metro gets going at 5 a.m and will likely wake you up.
There are plenty of food options nearby including a 7/11 and Lawson's that have quick cheap take back to the room food.
I never spent more than $10 on any meal.
The area is very safe and gear for families as there is a large playground a few minutes walk away.
Get yourself a day pass (~$8) for the subway and you will have an easy and economical way to get around the city.
Tokyo can be a very expensive city to visit, this hotel makes it affordable for everyone!
I followed the Trip Advisor City Guides and made the best of my visit.
I highly recommend a day trip to Kamakura to see the giant Buddha and spend a day at the beach if the weather is appropriate. When in Kamakura, stop in at Daisy's Cafe for some awesome local grub and a pleasant beach view.
Please contact me if you have any questions or need specific information about local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank dds60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was shocked at first when we went up to our assigned room, usually i only booked for 1 room with 2 single beds for the 3 of us, myself, husband and daughter. But to my dismay only 2 persons will be fit to their standard room, so i immediately went down and asked for a bigger room, Which they gladly granted, of course with an additional payment. Still were fortunate to choose this place aside from its location which is just beside the toyocho station the staff were so accommodating, every time we asked for a direction . This place didn't have an in-house restaurant so a breakfast was not included in our booking, but they do have 2 italian restaurants on the first floor and at the basement operating as a concessionaire and also McDonald and Yoshinoya were just around the corner, and if your planning to buy some souvenirs their 100 yen store is just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. It was also nestled in a business area were just beside a bank and their Post office . What we loved most about our room was their auto toilet bowl equipped w/ a touch button bidet . I just wish that they will extend their checkout till 12:00 pm and not 10:00 am . This place is highly recommended for a first timer in tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jjeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My friend and I are seasoned travelers. As such, we have stayed in many hotels, big and small. Sotetsu is one of those which I will never recommend to first time visitor to Tokyo. Even though this Hotel is 1 minute away from the subway (Toyocho), it is still far from the many attractions such as Shinjuku, Shibuya, Ginza etc. The subway rides are expensive and it ranges from US$1.63 to US$5.70. The worst part of the Toyocho station is that they do not provide elevator or escalator from the platform to the exit. This means that any travelers with big luggage have to carry their bags up a few flights of stairs.

The Hotel was newly opened last December. However, it does not appear that "new" to me. If you are from countries like Malaysia and Singapore, do not expect the Hotel to lend you their adaptor. Instead they want you to buy from them. The room is small and dusty. Not many of the staff could converse in English. We have trouble communicating with them or asking for directions. When I asked them about the costs of a cab ride from the Hotel to Narita Airport, I was given wrong information that the cost is JPY3,000 (US$30.53)!!. Too good to be true!! When I asked whether they could book a cab for me and my friend, I was informed that they will charge service charges of JPY300 (US$3.53)....

Luckily, we do not trust the receptionist who gave us the info. When we asked another receptionist the next day, we were informed that the cab ride would costs JPY20,000 (US$203.52).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koto
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#5 of 33 in Koto
223 reviews
Hotel East 21 Tokyo
#1 of 33 in Koto
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae

Property: Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae
Address: 4-4-3 Toyo, Koto 135-0016, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Koto
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Toyocho Ekimae Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing