We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 16:30
Save
Tokyo Off the Beaten Path 6hr Private Tour with Licensed Guide
29

Book in advance
from
US$148.81
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Fukagawa Edo Museum
from US$148.81
More Info
from US$184.24
More Info
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
154
113
48
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
113
48
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volunteer guides river culture tatami clothing shoes rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2019

The Fukagawa Edo Museum is related to the larger Edo-Tokyo Museum. This one is more focused in scale, however, exhibiting a life-size city block from an Edo period (1600s-1800s) neighbourhood. The lights in the museum cycle to simulate the passing of day and night, which is atmospheric, but makes it hard to take photos with good lighting. Nonetheless, there are lots of little touches to accurately depict what life would have been like during the Edo period. I highly recommend seeking out a free volunteer guide, some of whom speak English, to make up for the limited signage.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

A great place to visit to give you an overview of the history and culture of Japan before you visit the real thing. We had an excellent free English speaking guide for our 2.5 hour visit. All wheelchair accessible.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank ahjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2019

We visited here a few days after we visited Tokyo Edo museum. The concept is similar, but this one has been open good 20 years or more before Tokyo Edo was open, I suspect that this place was the inspiration for the big museum. Unlike Tokyo Edo, this museum lacks English description panels, but there are guides walking about, trying to help the visitors in English or Japanese, to compensate the lack of panels. They invite you to get in the houses and touch the exhibits, open the cupboard, furniture, etc. The scale is much smaller than the Edo Tokyo Museum, but it was enjoyable for us for sure.

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank nobuko_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2018

My seven year old daughter and I had a wonderful couple of hours exploring this recreation of an Edo-era village. Our guide was very kind and knowledgeable, and after a helpful little tour we were left to explore the town ourselves. You can touch and feel everything, so my daughter spent ages opening drawers and cupboards, playing with abacuses and rice grinding machines, comparing the kitchens of the different social classes, and imagining life 170 years ago. Well worth the (minimal) effort to get to.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2018

When i visited this place it was an eye opener into the everday life of Edo people, our guide Mr Hiroshi Otaka was excellent and full of knowledge,gave us a great tour with a very friendly and professional tour.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews