We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, service, and breakfast”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great rooms, service, and breakfast”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a great experience here. The breakfast was excellent. Most hotels in Japan (a large sample of Starwood, Hilton, IHG, etc., as well as local hotels) seem to mess up breakfast. They can't do things like bacon, eggs, french toast, etc., properly. The Westin managed superbly. The Westin Workout was great. This is another thing Japanese hotels often get wrong. First, it had enough cardio equipment. Second, it had enough weights and machines for a halfway decent workout. Third, it was actually open 24 hours. I've stayed at Japanese hotels where the gym didn't open until 9. The executive lounge was great. We took advantage of the appetizers and cocktails whenever possible. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were about twice the size of any I've been in within Japan. And the decor was amazing. I highly recommend the Westin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words and strong vote of confidence for the Westin Tokyo has given us great encouragement and yearning to do more. Your comments about our service and facility such as our breakfast offerings, gym, and executive lounge. It is our utmost joy in providing an experience, extraordinary; excellence that is consistent, and ensuring that each guest’s stay is bespoke. Thank you for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo Experience. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    608
    144
    40
    29
See reviews for
341
472
157
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Ebisu metro, the location is good. There is a small mall with a variety of restaurants and shops (Yebisu Garden Place) between the hotel and the station. There are also nice restaurants and bars surrounding the station, and a great mall that is connected to the station. The rooms are nicely appointed, relatively large, and attractive. The club room is good/average. Breakfast is also good/average.

The service at the hotel is phenomenal. The hotel was sold out for one of the nights in the middle of our trip to Japan. We decided we wanted to stay in Tokyo at the hotel, and the desk attendant in the club lounge not only was able to get us our room, but also allowed us to use points for the night. The concierge was able to help us get tickets to a baseball game, gave us maps to get to the best stops in the fish market, and recommended several stationery stores to me and marked them on a few maps.

My only complaint was the bed. The mattress was very firm, and the pillows were very thin and soft. Perhaps this is according to Japanese taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
A heartfelt “arigatogozaimasu (“thank you” in Japanese) for your stay with us and for your words of great encouragement. We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I’ve been here quite regularly as I like the service and proximity to various places that I need to visit like the office and other companies that I meet with.

But on this visit, one of my colleagues showed me a walkway from level B1 in the hotel underground to the Ebisu JR and Hibiya subway line! When I think of all those occasions when I battled the elements walking across the snow-covered street and Ebisu Garden Place when I could have walked underneath in comfort, I made a resolution to explore any hotel that I visit!

The service in this hotel was excellent as always and was impressed with the service in the executive lounge and The Terrace restaurant on the ground floor, where Yukare Tange and Nakahashi were exceptionally efficient, friendly and helpful!

My room was smaller than on previous visits but nevertheless, looked out towards the Ebisu Garden Place and was very pleasant. I did notice there weren’t as many bathroom amenities in this room though and thought that cotton swabs would be standard fare?

There are many conference rooms on the lower floors and it seems to me that there’s always a wedding in this hotel? Perhaps the Westin Tokyo specialises in this?

The JR Yamanote line is very convenient for getting around Tokyo and it’s about a 10-15 minute meander to the Ebisu station with the Hibiya subway station only a few minutes further.

The sound of the trains passing is noticeable from the room but not loud enough to be annoying.

Again, a great stay and recommended to all!

Room Tip: I was in room 1825 and you can hear the trains form the room but the vista was great overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Westin Tokyo. We feel privileged to have been able to serve you. Thank you for taking much of your valuable time to post a review, of which will surely be shared with all of our associates, especially Yukari Tange and Nakahashi of the Terrace. We are humbled with your kind words, as it is our genuine joy that we are able to contribute to your Tokyo experience and even more for a Westin Tokyo one. Please hurry back. Until then, do take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wife and I stayed for 8 nights of vacation and were delighted. We lived in Tokyo some years back, and are familiar with several of the city's nice hotels, but this was our first stay at this Starwood property.

The room was bright, smartly appointed and very large. The bed was extremely comfortable and fresh. Every interaction with staff was a pleasure. They could not have been more friendly and helpful. The Executive Lounge was nicely arranged, and a convenient place to rest between outings. The location in Ebisu is ideal: just a few minutes walk from JR's Yamanote line and the Ebisu Metro station. Many shops in the area and they -- and the trains -- can be walked to from the hotel's "B1" level without once passing outside.

This is one superb and very well run hotel. Wonderful experience. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The Executive Rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
May we sincerely thank you for your stay with us and for your gracious review. We cannot imagine how much of your valuable time and thoughts were put in, a heartfelt thank you. It gives us great encouragement that you found your stay with us a pure delight. Never do we regard “service” as an obligation, but rather embrace it with genuine joy in being able to contribute to our guest’s experiences. Please come and visit us soon again. Your words have been received with much gratitude.Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here as it was well regarded, but we were deceived a bit. The rooms were good, with good views, and the breakfasts were also good, but the beds had a sheet and a duvet in very hot weather which was a pain. Also we wanted the one of the concierges to book two restaurants for us, and she managed to get it so wrong, she couldn't have got it more wrong. She got the restaurant on the wrong day, the wrong time and she didn't even book the other!! Also the hotel was quite far away from the centre. It was about a 15 mins walk to the tube station each day, which was a bit of a pain. And you had to pay for the wifi, it was about £7 per day, which was cheeky for a hotel of this price!!
So wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobzobba107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, From The Westin Tokyo at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to review us. May we apologize for the unpleasant experience for your recent stay.
Your valuable feedback for the concierge and the fee of wifi will be shared by our team. We would take opportunity to review our service standard and try to improve even harder to meet your expectations. We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good location--about a 10 min walk from the Ebisu JR station and about 15 from the metro. It is right across the street from a shopping area called Garden Terrace with restaurants as well. The rooms were a good size and everything was comfortable. The décor is a bit dated, but everything was clean. The bar was nice with good food. We stayed on the exec floor so got to have breakfast and drinks in the exec lounge which was a nice way to end the day. We had breakfast at the buffet a few days but the exec lounge has a continental breakfast which was also good. Definitely recommend it as it was a good location and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
May we sincerely thank you for your stay with us and for your gracious review. We cannot imagine how much of your valuable time and thoughts were put in, a heartfelt thank you. It gives us great encouragement that you found your stay with us a pure delight. Never do we regard “service” as an obligation, but rather embrace it with genuine joy in being able to contribute to our guest’s experiences. Please come and visit us soon again. Your words have been received with much gratitude.Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Close to the station however not walking distance if you have luggage as its up hill.
A very comfortable hotel to come home to after a long day exploring the city. Wifi is excellent, shower pressure was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is our utmost pleasure greeting our guests wherever and whenever- after all one can never receive enough smiles! Your words are great encouragement, surly to be passed on to our entire staff. We look forward to your return. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Shinjuku
4,346 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,967 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,140 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Property: The Westin Tokyo
Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing