We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined with Great Service & Location”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is my first visit to Tokyo and I am here for pleasure. I am a platinum Starwood member and stay about 75-80 nights per year in hotels. This hotel is even better than its reviews. The property has a refined, modern elegance. The rooms are modern with a Japanese flair. Every staff member has been polite and helpful. English is spoken by most staff members. As a platinum member I have access to breakfast either in the Terrace full amazing buffet or the exec floor where there is a great two hour cocktail with appetizers and drinks on the house. The location is right by the Ebisu JR line for easy access to everywhere. This is among the best Westin properties I have stayed in and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DrJohnIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

A heartfelt “arigatogozaimasu (“thank you” in Japanese) for your stay with us and for your words of great encouragement. We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests. Thank for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo experience. We hope to see you very soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I visited Tokyo and stayed at the Westin because of their reputation and we were not disappointed. The hotel was very clean and elegant, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the food breakfast buffet was well appointed and delicious.

It also needs to be mentioned that the hotel proximity to Yebisu Garden Place and the Ebisu Station. Off of the JR line, it is very easy to get around Tokyo's many attractions for very little money. Located in a quiet neighbor hood, the Westin Tokyo in my opinion is the perfect place to stay when visiting. T

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edward p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Westin Tokyo. We feel privileged to have been able to serve you. Thank you for taking much of your valuable time to post a review, of which will surely be shared with all of our associates. We are humbled with your kind words, as it is our genuine joy that we are able to contribute to your Tokyo experience and even more for a Westin Tokyo one. Please hurry back. Until then, do take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a great experience here. The breakfast was excellent. Most hotels in Japan (a large sample of Starwood, Hilton, IHG, etc., as well as local hotels) seem to mess up breakfast. They can't do things like bacon, eggs, french toast, etc., properly. The Westin managed superbly. The Westin Workout was great. This is another thing Japanese hotels often get wrong. First, it had enough cardio equipment. Second, it had enough weights and machines for a halfway decent workout. Third, it was actually open 24 hours. I've stayed at Japanese hotels where the gym didn't open until 9. The executive lounge was great. We took advantage of the appetizers and cocktails whenever possible. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were about twice the size of any I've been in within Japan. And the decor was amazing. I highly recommend the Westin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words and strong vote of confidence for the Westin Tokyo has given us great encouragement and yearning to do more. Your comments about our service and facility such as our breakfast offerings, gym, and executive lounge. It is our utmost joy in providing an experience, extraordinary; excellence that is consistent, and ensuring that each guest’s stay is bespoke. Thank you for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo Experience. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, please take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Ebisu metro, the location is good. There is a small mall with a variety of restaurants and shops (Yebisu Garden Place) between the hotel and the station. There are also nice restaurants and bars surrounding the station, and a great mall that is connected to the station. The rooms are nicely appointed, relatively large, and attractive. The club room is good/average. Breakfast is also good/average.

The service at the hotel is phenomenal. The hotel was sold out for one of the nights in the middle of our trip to Japan. We decided we wanted to stay in Tokyo at the hotel, and the desk attendant in the club lounge not only was able to get us our room, but also allowed us to use points for the night. The concierge was able to help us get tickets to a baseball game, gave us maps to get to the best stops in the fish market, and recommended several stationery stores to me and marked them on a few maps.

My only complaint was the bed. The mattress was very firm, and the pillows were very thin and soft. Perhaps this is according to Japanese taste.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

A heartfelt “arigatogozaimasu (“thank you” in Japanese) for your stay with us and for your words of great encouragement. We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, please take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I’ve been here quite regularly as I like the service and proximity to various places that I need to visit like the office and other companies that I meet with.

But on this visit, one of my colleagues showed me a walkway from level B1 in the hotel underground to the Ebisu JR and Hibiya subway line! When I think of all those occasions when I battled the elements walking across the snow-covered street and Ebisu Garden Place when I could have walked underneath in comfort, I made a resolution to explore any hotel that I visit!

The service in this hotel was excellent as always and was impressed with the service in the executive lounge and The Terrace restaurant on the ground floor, where Yukare Tange and Nakahashi were exceptionally efficient, friendly and helpful!

My room was smaller than on previous visits but nevertheless, looked out towards the Ebisu Garden Place and was very pleasant. I did notice there weren’t as many bathroom amenities in this room though and thought that cotton swabs would be standard fare?

There are many conference rooms on the lower floors and it seems to me that there’s always a wedding in this hotel? Perhaps the Westin Tokyo specialises in this?

The JR Yamanote line is very convenient for getting around Tokyo and it’s about a 10-15 minute meander to the Ebisu station with the Hibiya subway station only a few minutes further.

The sound of the trains passing is noticeable from the room but not loud enough to be annoying.

Again, a great stay and recommended to all!

Room Tip: I was in room 1825 and you can hear the trains form the room but the vista was great overlooking the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Westin Tokyo. We feel privileged to have been able to serve you. Thank you for taking much of your valuable time to post a review, of which will surely be shared with all of our associates, especially Yukari Tange and Nakahashi of the Terrace. We are humbled with your kind words, as it is our genuine joy that we are able to contribute to your Tokyo experience and even more for a Westin Tokyo one. Please hurry back. Until then, do take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wife and I stayed for 8 nights of vacation and were delighted. We lived in Tokyo some years back, and are familiar with several of the city's nice hotels, but this was our first stay at this Starwood property.

The room was bright, smartly appointed and very large. The bed was extremely comfortable and fresh. Every interaction with staff was a pleasure. They could not have been more friendly and helpful. The Executive Lounge was nicely arranged, and a convenient place to rest between outings. The location in Ebisu is ideal: just a few minutes walk from JR's Yamanote line and the Ebisu Metro station. Many shops in the area and they -- and the trains -- can be walked to from the hotel's "B1" level without once passing outside.

This is one superb and very well run hotel. Wonderful experience. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The Executive Rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Herb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

May we sincerely thank you for your stay with us and for your gracious review. We cannot imagine how much of your valuable time and thoughts were put in, a heartfelt thank you. It gives us great encouragement that you found your stay with us a pure delight. Never do we regard “service” as an obligation, but rather embrace it with genuine joy in being able to contribute to our guest’s experiences. Please come and visit us soon again. Your words have been received with much gratitude.Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here as it was well regarded, but we were deceived a bit. The rooms were good, with good views, and the breakfasts were also good, but the beds had a sheet and a duvet in very hot weather which was a pain. Also we wanted the one of the concierges to book two restaurants for us, and she managed to get it so wrong, she couldn't have got it more wrong. She got the restaurant on the wrong day, the wrong time and she didn't even book the other!! Also the hotel was quite far away from the centre. It was about a 15 mins walk to the tube station each day, which was a bit of a pain. And you had to pay for the wifi, it was about £7 per day, which was cheeky for a hotel of this price!!
So wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tobzobba107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Tokyo, From The Westin Tokyo at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to review us. May we apologize for the unpleasant experience for your recent stay.
Your valuable feedback for the concierge and the fee of wifi will be shared by our team. We would take opportunity to review our service standard and try to improve even harder to meet your expectations. We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,421 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 112 in Minato
3,019 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 112 in Minato
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range: £233 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing