We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice if you can get a good rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Higashikagura-cho, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good choice if you can get a good rate”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is a short walk from the JR Tamachi train station which is conveniently on the Yamanote circle line. One stop from Hamamatsucho which then connects to the monorail which takes you right into Haneda Airport. Although a fairly old property the rooms are very clean and as others have mentioned the check-in staff are friendly and pretty good at English. The next time I am in Tokyo I will check out this property as if the price is right it is a good option. I paid under $100 for a non-smoking double room. A great deal for Tokyo in late July!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    418
    132
    26
    7
See reviews for
108
111
187
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was able to get a great price (under $100) which included the buffet breakfast which was excellent. The location is a short walk from Tamachi station. Front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful. Had the quietest room (the walls might actually be soundproof) on the highest floor with a nice view of the Tokyo tower. The room was one of the largest I have ever had in Tokyo and well worth the money. Spotless too. If you can a good price for the hotel, I heartily recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel extremely clean. worth the price. room spacious, modern décor. tv, kettle, fridge. service very nice. when asked by a telephone call to Kyoto to another hotel to book for another hotel they tried to get a dozen times because they could not get through August until eventually they succeeded. My wife says that they are also great beauty in the toilet.
Very good location, 10 minutes to the subway, close to the also well-lit bus station, the island of Odaiba and the fish market. I highly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank coachingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night in Hotel JAL City Tamachi, a very lovely hotel with high quality and a wide range of amenities. The room is not big, just 14sqm, but has everything that you might need for a short stay. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant was awesome as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Calleryana
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the JAL City Tamachi Hotel for 9 nights April 25th to May 4th 2014. We loved it. As expected, the room was very small. It was just big enough for a double bed which was pushed against the wall, a desk, and a credenza that held a small refrigerator inside and a 22-inch Sharp Aquos LED TV on top.

Even though I did not expect any channels to be in English, there was CNN. However, the Japanese interpreter was heard over the anchors so you couldn’t watch it. Maybe there was some way to turn it off, but I didn’t know how to do it.

The room was spotlessly clean. The maid cleaned the room daily. A fresh supply of toiletries was left every day. If you wanted your room cleaned, there is a button next to the door to push that says “Please Make Up”.

Our room was on the 9th floor (room 914) and was non-smoking. Some comments I’ve read mentioned cigarette smoke coming into their room, but we never experienced that issue. We did smell a bit of smoke in the lobby, but it wasn’t overpowering.

The staff spot English and were very pleasant and friendly. I asked for directions to the Rainbow bus to Obaiba (just outside the Tamachi train station and ¥210) and a very nice man took out a map to show us. We left the hotel and were about a block away when we noticed the same man was running after us. He had given us the wrong directions and gave us another map with the correct information. That was very nice of him and I wish I could remember his name.

There are many restaurants and convenience stores within the vicinity of the hotel. In fact there are several right across the street. We found two grocery stores just a few blocks away also. The one named Peacock’s is the best in my opinion.

I would stay there again if I were going to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, write near JR line station. Clean rooms, but bathroom very outdated and needs an upgrade. Tv channels need to have more english channels. Reception helpful, local area is ok few 24 hr stores and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AK7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room
Much bigger than ordinary chain hotel - you have space to fit your all shopping bags.
We are lucky to enjoy a view looking over the Tokyo Tower and managed to run for the countdown there in just 20 mins close to year 2014.

Location
It's about 8 mins walk to the nearest Tamachi station (a bit far when you go check in with your luggage) but quite close to residential area so it gives you another expereince close to local community.
It's hard to find shopping mall nearby but i found it good to have new experience other than staying in crowded locations like Shinjuku, Ikebukuro etc.

This is my second stay with JAL City Hotel group (first time was at Okinawa) and overall the service is pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 109 in Minato
710 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
#44 of 109 in Minato
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#10 of 109 in Minato
2,561 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo

Property: Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Address: 3-16-18 Shibaura, Minato 108-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#18 Business Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Tokyo bay waterfront area, Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo is only 5-minute walk from JR Tamachi station and 12-minute walk from Shibaura-Futo station on the Yurikamome line. This hotel provides convenient accommodations for both business and leisure travelers. All luxury guest rooms are decorated with European furnishings. There are Japanese, Western, and Chinese restaurants. Meeting rooms and large and small banquet rooms, which can be used for parties and seminars, are also available. The garden chapel in the atrium and the Shinto shrine are available for marriage ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalcity Tamachi Tokyo Minato
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing